We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Killeshin Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“weekend break”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

just spent 2 nights in this great hotel ,our room was a great surprise really big and very comfortable staff from the reception to dining room could not have been more helpful ,i asked the staff that do the bedrooms if i could have a showercap and these were left in our room right awaywe could not have had better service ,thefood was great and really fast and good service, would stay here again best hotel we have stayed at in the south of ireland for a long time

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annfflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Thank you for comments, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    206
    90
    48
    30
See reviews for
197
230
16
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We arrived at the hotel very late and very tired but the receptionist was very welcoming.

The bar was great and opened late into the night.

Room was quite big and the bed was really comfortable and large.
Location is a bit odd as next door to 2 prisons and a hotel but that doesn't take away from the good service we had.

Parking was also free which is a nice plus!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Thank you for your comments, I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We used the conferencing facilities over a 3 month period in 2012. We had 150 delegates attend the training in that time, all requiring accommodation. The service excellent in all areas of the hotel. Staff simply could not do enough for us. The training facilities are excellent, as are the bedrooms, restaurant and gym. The hotel has plenty of complimentary parking. The location is ideal where delegates are travelling from different part of the country. All in all I would highly recommend the Killeshin when staying in Portlaoise..

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Thank you for your comments, we enjoyed having you with us over the past number of months and will endeavour to look after you going forward. As a result of your IT requirements we have invested in upgrading our wifi to much faster system. Hence improving the overall conference facilities. We value customer feedback.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Unfortunatley, I am forced to write this review because I emailed the hotel and got no reply.

I stayed at the Killeshin Hotel in March. When we arrived at the hotel we were very impressed by the welcome we received from the receptionist. The overall decor of the hotel was beautiful.

We ate on the bar Friday night. We found the service to be very poor. The bar staff were shouting comments from one end of the room to the other.
There was one female bar-person and she turned out to be very friendly, however the overall attitude of some of the bar staff was appalling for a 4-star hotel. A waiter slammed our food on the table & before I could ask for dip to accompany my meal he was gone like the wind. I think his name was Martin. He took off his nametag halfway through service so I found it hard to see. Everyone could hear/see the staff slagging each other, the males pinching the female waitress etc. I understand that it was lighthearted fun, but that should carry-on should be left for lunch breaks. I would expect this in a grungy bar, but not a well-established hotel.

When we went up the the bedroom at approx 9.30pm, I called "room service" to ask for extra bedclothes. I think I had been put through to the bar but the person who answered assured me that they would get somebody to send up the bedclothes. They never arrived. I placed towels on the bed to keep warm.

In the morning, when I was getting up, I noticed that the cover of the duvet had moved up (no buttons/clasps). I was horrified to see a huge dirty brown stain on the duvet. I was disgusted!
I have attached a photograph of this.

I was also very disappointed to see that the leisure centre didn't open until 9am. I would love to have gone for a workout before breakfast.

I feel that the service that was provided to us was disgraceful in parts.
There were some ups of course - delicious food, clean hotel and very friendly receptionist.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mob888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Thank you for your comments, I was very disappointed to see that you didn't enjoy your stay. We will endeavour to investigate all of your issues and make the appropriate improvements. Thank you once again for bringing this to our attention.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed here enroute from Dublin to Kerry great welcome large clean room great bathrooom
we had an excellent meal in the bar at night and a lovely Irish breakfast that set us up for the day

Would recommend

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julieramsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Thank you for your comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coseley, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

A nice and friendly hotel, which appeared to be heavily frequented by the locals at lunch times for food and for meetings. Staff were friendly and helpful. Wifi only available in the public areas at present and the in-room wired networking was not working in 2 out of 3 rooms tried and the last one it was intermittent.

Food in the bar was excellent and would recommend both the fish and the burger.

Room Tip: As for a room on the back as the front can be overly noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Thank you for your comments, we look forward to welcoming you back to us again in the future.

Kind regards,

John Flannery
The General Manager
The Killeshin Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

The room was larger than expected and very clean and well maintained......except for the fact that there was poor lighting. There was a lamp beside the tv (unnecessary) but none near the two reading chairs. The bed was comfortable but we didnt like the smoking smell in the bathroom! That was not pleasant at all. We mentioned it on check out and were told there were ony four smoking rooms......so.....were we given one???? The smell seemed to come from the vents. We used the business lounge as wifi was not available in the room, but was also available in public areas. Bar meal was fine and service friendly. It was definitely a good spot to stop on a long drive as there was also a pool if you felt like a real break.

Room Tip: If you are a non smoker check you are getting a non smoking room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilhem_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate all feedback we get from our clients.

Unfortunately wifi is only available in public areas and broadband is free in the bedrooms - we hope to have free wifi in the bedrooms later this year. However, we have increased our bandwidth to become up to 5 times faster than it was to allow faster download and upload speeds.

With regards to the smell of smoking in the bathroom, I just wish to say that not all guests will adhere to the non-smoking rooms and will smoke anyway. In most cases this is done in the bathrooms so the fire alarms aren't set off. This is a constant battle we are trying new ways to tackle but I must apologise if it inconvenienced you during your stay with us.

Thank you once again for taking the time to bring these comments to our attention.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
The General Manager
The Killeshin Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
1.3 mi away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
2.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
676 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
O'Loughlins Hotel
O'Loughlins Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
176 reviews
6.7 mi away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
256 reviews
9.8 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Killeshin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Killeshin Hotel

Property: The Killeshin Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Portlaoise, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Killeshin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Star Killeshin Hotel is a contemporary hotel with roots in the past. We have 87 well appointed bedrooms with a crisp contemporary decor. Superb bar food is served daily from 12.30pm in our Cedar Bar and breakfast is served daily in the Cedar Bistro. Offering full leisure facilities, complimentary secure underground car parking and wifi. The Killeshin Hotel - Where award winning service matters ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Lastminute, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Killeshin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeshin Hotel Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing