We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Killeshin Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good short stay”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed here one Saturday night recently. Got a great deal on one night's B&B for my husband and I. Was delighted with the standard and cleanliness of the hotel. The bed was very comfy and the room lovely and spacious. I had stayed here a couple of years ago when the hotel had just reopened after major refurbishment and i was delighted to note that they have kept it as pristine today as it was then. The breakfast was very good with everything you could need and the dining room is very relaxing. Will stay here again and would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 215deirdre1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    205
    88
    47
    30
See reviews for
196
230
16
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Cant fault i really. Probably the friendliest receptionist ever. A treu gem and the hotel should be glad to have her. Should have got her name. Everything else was excellent.Will definitely be back when I am in Portlaoise again.

Room Tip: Doubt there is a bad room but the staff are the real gem here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slatsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thank you for your kind review of your stay with us. We have many genuine, friendly and helpful staff working with us and it makes for a very pleasant working environment. I'm sure our guests can feel this when they stay with us. We are delighted your stay was a pleasant one.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portarlington, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

Management and staff went above and beyond to be helpful to me after an unfortunate incident occured near their hotel. Could not be more greatful to them. Also location near hospital was ideal for me. Could not fault rooms or food. Would highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Triona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
We were pleased to be in a position to assist you and wish you all the very best.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Stayed in this hotel for my 40th.The staff were very friendly on reception especially the night staff.Kevin the manager made a fuss over us all.he didn't treat us all like the nuisances we were but looked after us all till we were all back safe.even after all the questions he still told us the best places to go.he was still there when we got back and enquired about our night.very friendly chap who took the time out for us.will be coming to this hotel again and might even bring the kids next time.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arghh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thank you for your positive review, we look forward to your return to us.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level Contributor
100 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

BedRoom was very pleasant and spacious. The staff were pleasant. Everywhere was quite clean and bright. Breakfast was quite good and wholesome although the fresh fruit could be better. Parking is free.

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank JKLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We look forward to you returning to us again in the future.

Yours sincerely,


John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed in the Kellishin hotel for a one night stay B&B

The hotel itself was generally well presented, outwardly it was clean, well maintained and inviting. We checked in at about 4pm. The Reception are was quite busy and we had to wait a short while but the girl at the desk was quite apologetic. Our booking was handled quick and efficiently and we were ready to go to our room within a few minutes. Assistance with out bags was offered but we declined as we were able to manage easily ourselves. We were informed however that the Bar would only be serving food until 7:00pm. While no explanation was given, we assumed it was due to the fact that it appeared to be communion/confirmation day in the town and that everything was being arranged to suit that eventuality, as we planned to eat in the restaurant anyway it was of little consequence. We hadn't eaten since breakfast so we did go into the Bar and had a small bite between us in advance of dinner and then went to our room to relax before dinner. The Room was spacious and warm, very clean and well stocked. Reception on the TV was poor but not unwatchable.

We had our dinner in the restaurant that evening and the food was excellent, course's came very quickly, almost too quickly, but im not complaining! Despite the room being very busy it was well staffed and there was no issues with the service at all. Portions were more than sufficient and food was well prepared, piping hot and delicious to eat.

After our meal we went to the bar to have a few quiet drinks. We found the bar a little on the cool side as there was definitely a window open somewhere as we could feel the breeze, however we moved to the other side of the bar and it was much warmer. The bar was quiet enough, we expected it to be busier with it being communion day and so many people about earlier in the day, but it was pleasantly calm with only a few others drinking. The bar staff were engaging and friendly and often offered to bring my Guinness down rather than i wait at the bar for it. We stayed there chatting for the night and stayed a little longer than planned. The bar staff changed at closing time to the night staff, but again, very friendly and chatting particularly as the bar got quieter.

Breakfast the following morning was also quite good, good choice of hot and cold foods and plenty of breads tea/coffee etc. Breakfast was a little busier than i like but that was as much our own fault as we had a lie in and only made our way down during the last 45 of the breakfast serving time.

On reflection i couldn't say anything bad about the hotel and the stay was very enjoyable, however, had we wanted some, the fact that the bar food stopped at 7pm would of been a bit disappointing and we would of either been forced to go the restaurant or else leave the hotel and eat elsewhere, and as we like to stay in our hotel during our stays, it would of been inconvenient. That said, if the reason for the early close was in fact because of communion day in the area, its more understandable, but as i said we had always planned for restaurant dinner so it didn't really effect us. But it might be something to check up on if your planning a visit.

We would certainly have no issues in recommending this hotel, and we would like to return to it ourselves sometime in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dfinnerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Thank you for your comments, as the restaurant is extremely busy the bar service is somewhat restricted. However there is food service from 12.30pm daily in the hotel all day, every day. Thank you again for taking the time to review our property.

Yours sincerely,


John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

We recently wanted to head out for a romantic meal together so I looked online to send restaurants and menus to get an idea of what's on offer in portlaoise,
One thing I hate when going to a restaurant is building your dinner, and what I mean by that is that if you order a steak for instance then you have to pay extra for your veg, potatoes,etc etc so your dinner ends up costing much more.

Well this certainly was not the case in The Cedar Rooms Bistro at the Killeshin Hotel.
There was a set 4 course menu no offer for €32
With a choice of about 7 starters, main courses etc with steak, sea bass, chicken, pasta, and other dishes.
My wife and I decide on the steak, same let me tell you when I say it was cooked to perfection.
Accompanied with boiled potatoes, grilled carrots, parsnip, broccoli and cheese sauce,
The steak was topped with mushrooms and sauteed onions ,
Our started also was exquisite.
Our dessert tasty and two good strong coffee's to finish.

Our waiter clearly loved his job and treated us like royalty attending to our every need and was not over bearing as somethings waiters can be.

To me this restaurant is the best in portlaoise and I only wish I had tried it before.

We finished our night with some drinks in the bar,

Well done to the Cedar rooms restaurant

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Forrest G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Thank you for your review and high praise of your restaurant experience. We look forward to your next visit!

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
2.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
1.3 mi away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre
8.2 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
O'Loughlins Hotel
O'Loughlins Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
6.7 mi away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
21.1 mi away
The Keadeen Hotel
The Keadeen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Killeshin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Killeshin Hotel

Property: The Killeshin Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Portlaoise, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Killeshin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Star Killeshin Hotel is a contemporary hotel with roots in the past. We have 87 well appointed bedrooms with a crisp contemporary decor. Superb bar food is served daily from 12.30pm in our Cedar Bar and breakfast is served daily in the Cedar Bistro. Offering full leisure facilities, complimentary secure underground car parking and wifi. The Killeshin Hotel - Where award winning service matters ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Lastminute, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Killeshin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeshin Hotel Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing