We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Killeshin Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel. Quite central. Meals very good service excellent. Rooms very comfortable and spacious. We went on a lidil break for one night with friends. Excellent value and we were able to check in at 14.00pm. The swimming pool sauna steam room were first class. The only thing was you could here the music up in your room late Saturday night. That's why I gave the overall a 4 and not a 5. We would go back to the killeshin hotel and would definitely recommend it

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alila60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, I'm delighted you had an enjoyable experience but I'm sorry to hear that you had some loud guests nearby. If requested, we do our best to located guests who are not attending weddings or functions away from the noise if at all possible. On your return to us be sure to mention this request. Thank you again.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    202
    87
    46
    30
See reviews for
191
227
14
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times and always had a good experience. It has a nice pool and the food is very good. We took a last minute break away with our 2 1/2 son. As he is a light sleeper, we asked for a quiet room away from any reception area in advance. We were located directly above the entrance to the hotel and with the result none of us slept between 1.30-3.30am with the noise of guests exiting a reception. We twice called the duty manager to complain...which we never do but the voices were so loud. It was a warm night and the drunken voices sounded like they were coming from our room with the window marginally open. It was a shame and really detracted from what was otherwise a nice break.
I don't think we will back - especially for a weekend break. A toddler who doesnt' get their sleep isn't the making of a good break away for anyone!

Room Tip: Be adament about a quiet room for a good holiday. We learnt the hard way :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments, may I firstly apologise for the incorrect room allocation on the night and your disturbed nights sleep. I see that you've stayed in the hotel on several occasions and would be delighted to discuss the possibility of returning as a guest with us. If you would like to contact the hotel directly I would be delighted to talk with you.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We didn't get to stay long at The Killeshin Hotel but we did like it!
I booked via Expedia but then telephoned reception to explain that we'd like to check in early (around 10am). The receptionist who asnwered was really pleasant and assured me there was no problem with us arriving early, which there wasn't when we did show up (a little later than we'd have liked after our flight was delayed) and needed to change quickly in order to go straight out again.
The room was fine; clean, nice toiletries provided, light (not cast into gloom by energy saving bulbs!) and there were mirrors usefully placed. The bed was comfortable and there was a desk to work at, TV (if we'd had time to switch it on!) - basically this was a nice hotel we wish we'd had a little more time to enjoy this visit and we'll definitely use again in the future.
I'd actually chosen The Killeshin over another hotel because of the car parking but all the staff we encountered were marvellous and so helpful that we wouldn't consider anywhere else now. They lent us an umbrella when we weren't sure that it wouldn't rain on us and offered to print boarding passes for us. There was free wi-fi in the lobby (we didn't try it in the room) and there was a nice atmosphere about the place with delegates to various functions around and other guests enjoying coffee together.
We'd recommend The Killeshin Hotel and look forward to being able to go there again ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJS15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review, both myself and the team here really appreciate it when our customers go to the trouble of reporting the positive things they find throughout their stay. It is a heartening thing to behold and gives our team a great boost. Thank you again and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Yours sincerely,

John Flanagan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Nice clean hotel. Very friendly staff. The food is lovely would recommend a stop if even passing by. The rooms are spacious. This hotel is looked after very well.the receptionist was extremely helpful in advising where to go in Town and organising transport into town.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel and we are delighted that your found both the hotel and the team here to be of a high standard. We hope you will stop in with us again when you are in Portlaoise.

Yours sincerely

John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

we stayed here for a family advent and we saw this on the internet and said we would stay here as I always travel with a high standard I expected this 4 star to be nice.so after a long day of travelling to get here for a wedding we quickly checked in and changed for wedding and left again as we were late from our flights. upon arrival woman at check in was nice went to rooms and it was a family room but very small. it was messy and looked thrown together. my brother was sleeping on the roll in bed and he noticed the matress was very very thin so he lifted it up and half the wood under the matress holding the bed together was broken so he ended up sharing a bed as he couldn't sleep on it or he would have fell through the bed. the quilt and throw also had stains on them on the single bed. we then went to the pool but upon arrival the dressing rooms were very dirty and pool was NOTHING like picture on website so we decided it wasn't to standard and left without even changing. the breakfast was alrght. over all this is said to be a 4 star but it didn't look like it to me.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saraho371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, I was sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the accommodation offered. A family room is for 2 adults and 2 children under 12, this comprises of a double bed, a single bed and a camp bed. Guests are advised of this room type upon booking, all online descriptions also carry this information. Our rooms are certainly never thrown together, there is uniformity and a high standard throughout. I fail to understand the problem with the pool photo as it is exactly as per the photograph. The leisure centre undergoes a strict daily cleaning regime but if there were many guests availing of the pool in a short time frame the staff may not get to it immediately. Again I wish to apologise if your stay was not as anticipated but I hope you will return to us again when you are next in the area.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Room clean, food excellent value for money, staff very helpful. However after a long drive and wanting a good sleep the music is coming through the floor and we are on the second floor. As a matter of courtesy they should inform guests there is a wedding function. the music is belting out. Dread to think what's going to happen when the function is over !!!!!! Hope they allow a late checkout !!!

Room Tip: you will be lucky !!!! have they an underground bunker
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franchesca413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments about the hotel, we especially appreciate your generous praise of our food and staff. My apologies for the broken nights sleep caused by the wedding. We are disappointed that you were allocated a room above the wedding as it is standard procedure in the hotel to allocate those rooms to guests of the wedding. Once again, my apologies for the inconvenience .

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Ireland UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed for two nights 26 and 27 may 2013. It's a very average hotel, not what I would class as a four star. Had dinner on the first night and it was ok. The service was not great in the bar and the chap who serviced dinner need a change of uniform. The pull out bed had bits missing, we never got are room made up. The pool is ok, buti had to buy swim caps at €2.50 each. Over all it's more like a three star hotel. When I told reception about the room not been made up, it was ok I will tell house keeping!!! And the next morning I got the same. The hotel is 50 miles outside dublin and in a nice town. Unless you need to stay in this area I would go to a different hotel. I make it sound really bad, we had a nice time with the kids and the kids had great fun.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank krgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thank you for your review, we are delighted your enjoyed your stay with us. Staff uniforms were purchased last year and will be replaced later this year. Unfortunately when a do not disturb sign is left on the door the housekeeping staff will not service the room. Swim caps are required in all good swimming pools in Ireland as a matter of health and safety. Thank you again for taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
2.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
1.3 mi away
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
8.2 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
O'Loughlins Hotel
O'Loughlins Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
6.7 mi away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
21.1 mi away
The Keadeen Hotel
The Keadeen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Killeshin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Killeshin Hotel

Property: The Killeshin Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Portlaoise, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Killeshin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Star Killeshin Hotel is a contemporary hotel with roots in the past. We have 87 well appointed bedrooms with a crisp contemporary decor. Superb bar food is served daily from 12.30pm in our Cedar Bar and breakfast is served daily in the Cedar Bistro. Offering full leisure facilities, complimentary secure underground car parking and wifi. The Killeshin Hotel - Where award winning service matters ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Killeshin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeshin Hotel Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing