We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Killeshin Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Certificate of Excellence
Offaly, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

I was over in Portlaoise with my mother and as we have a family wedding coming and the reception is being held in the Killeshin we thought we would have a look.

If the food and staff are anything to go by we are in for a great day out. The waitress Catarina was very friendly and efficient and our meal was delicious. Well worth a visit for lunch if you are in the area.

As we did not stay overnight in the hotel I have not commented on the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teresabrown3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We hope you will be back to us again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    202
    87
    46
    30
See reviews for
191
225
14
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

My husband and I had a 2 day b and b and 1 evening meal package on July12 2013,we were attending a relatives wedding.The room was spotless,the food was just superb, the attention to detail, the quality etc etc.I will certainly recommend this hotel to all my friends and will go back if only for the good food and drink..Well done, The Killeshin.

Room Tip: all rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carmenharra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your outstanding review of your stay with us, we are delighted you enjoyed the food, service and ambiance here at the Killeshin Hotel. We hope you will be back with us again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Excellent service, friendly and helpfull staff. Clean rooms, though wi-fi can be a bit slow to connect. Good selection of bar food and breakfast. Good location and easy access. Swimming pool could be a bit cleaner.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTobin68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will indeed be back with us again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorey, Ireland
Level Contributor
647 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Seven of us had a very enjoyable lunch here, even during a Lions Rugy Match! Asta was a very friendly, yet professional hostess and allowed us join tables together away from the 'madding crowd' and we spent an enjoyable two hours. The Ceasar salad was really tasty. Soup was delicious. We would recommend this place for a meal anyday. Prices were typical of Ireland- one has to get used to the slightly over-priced food! Thank you for a lovely family gathering. We were not rushed out the door, which was well worth that little extra payment! See you again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy_Luv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your meal with us in the Cedar Bar. We have won best Hotel bar in the locality for a number of years so hopefully this goes to prove its fully deserved. I'm delighted you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to having you back again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel. Quite central. Meals very good service excellent. Rooms very comfortable and spacious. We went on a lidil break for one night with friends. Excellent value and we were able to check in at 14.00pm. The swimming pool sauna steam room were first class. The only thing was you could here the music up in your room late Saturday night. That's why I gave the overall a 4 and not a 5. We would go back to the killeshin hotel and would definitely recommend it

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alila60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, I'm delighted you had an enjoyable experience but I'm sorry to hear that you had some loud guests nearby. If requested, we do our best to located guests who are not attending weddings or functions away from the noise if at all possible. On your return to us be sure to mention this request. Thank you again.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times and always had a good experience. It has a nice pool and the food is very good. We took a last minute break away with our 2 1/2 son. As he is a light sleeper, we asked for a quiet room away from any reception area in advance. We were located directly above the entrance to the hotel and with the result none of us slept between 1.30-3.30am with the noise of guests exiting a reception. We twice called the duty manager to complain...which we never do but the voices were so loud. It was a warm night and the drunken voices sounded like they were coming from our room with the window marginally open. It was a shame and really detracted from what was otherwise a nice break.
I don't think we will back - especially for a weekend break. A toddler who doesnt' get their sleep isn't the making of a good break away for anyone!

Room Tip: Be adament about a quiet room for a good holiday. We learnt the hard way :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments, may I firstly apologise for the incorrect room allocation on the night and your disturbed nights sleep. I see that you've stayed in the hotel on several occasions and would be delighted to discuss the possibility of returning as a guest with us. If you would like to contact the hotel directly I would be delighted to talk with you.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We didn't get to stay long at The Killeshin Hotel but we did like it!
I booked via Expedia but then telephoned reception to explain that we'd like to check in early (around 10am). The receptionist who asnwered was really pleasant and assured me there was no problem with us arriving early, which there wasn't when we did show up (a little later than we'd have liked after our flight was delayed) and needed to change quickly in order to go straight out again.
The room was fine; clean, nice toiletries provided, light (not cast into gloom by energy saving bulbs!) and there were mirrors usefully placed. The bed was comfortable and there was a desk to work at, TV (if we'd had time to switch it on!) - basically this was a nice hotel we wish we'd had a little more time to enjoy this visit and we'll definitely use again in the future.
I'd actually chosen The Killeshin over another hotel because of the car parking but all the staff we encountered were marvellous and so helpful that we wouldn't consider anywhere else now. They lent us an umbrella when we weren't sure that it wouldn't rain on us and offered to print boarding passes for us. There was free wi-fi in the lobby (we didn't try it in the room) and there was a nice atmosphere about the place with delegates to various functions around and other guests enjoying coffee together.
We'd recommend The Killeshin Hotel and look forward to being able to go there again ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJS15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review, both myself and the team here really appreciate it when our customers go to the trouble of reporting the positive things they find throughout their stay. It is a heartening thing to behold and gives our team a great boost. Thank you again and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Yours sincerely,

John Flanagan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
2.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
1.3 mi away
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
8.2 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
O'Loughlins Hotel
O'Loughlins Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
6.7 mi away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
21.1 mi away
The Keadeen Hotel
The Keadeen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Killeshin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Killeshin Hotel

Property: The Killeshin Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Portlaoise, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Killeshin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Star Killeshin Hotel is a contemporary hotel with roots in the past. We have 87 well appointed bedrooms with a crisp contemporary decor. Superb bar food is served daily from 12.30pm in our Cedar Bar and breakfast is served daily in the Cedar Bistro. Offering full leisure facilities, complimentary secure underground car parking and wifi. The Killeshin Hotel - Where award winning service matters ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Lastminute, Expedia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Killeshin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeshin Hotel Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing