We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Killeshin Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We booked this hotel through the todayfm breaks, Excellent value, we had dinner, B&B. The dinner was a set menu 2 courses, limited choice but absolutely delicious. The breakfast was the usual cereal juices and irish breakfast, no fault there.

The staff were great, everyone was very pleasant. The double room was spacious, clean and comfortable.

Didn't use leisure facilities.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluemeadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of our property, I look foward to having you back with us again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    205
    88
    47
    30
See reviews for
196
230
16
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

We obviously arrived at a bad time...... we had a family wedding here recentky. The service was dreadful & so slow, so much so, that the entire top table forgot they were due to yet be served dessert, & left. The length of time between courses was painstakingly slow, food arrived cold and not everyone served at our table at the same time. Some tables didn't get food at all. There just wasn't enough staff on duty and those who were struggled. Breakfast wast not much better with the waitress complaining about the "awful mess" the kids made. Called into the bar after breakfast as we were advised it was the only place we could get bottled water & Management were seated at the bar & could be overheard calling staff to "please come in". My brother missed breakfast and could not be accommodated in any way, not even via room service. Won't be going back!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TurasNua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest,
I am extremely disappointed with the comments expressed in your review of our hotel. If they were correct I would hang my head in shame but I would have strenuously object and disagree to your sweeping and inaccurate statements and as such there is little point in discussing your review.

Signed,

John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel is really fab! We checked in before the check-in time and our room was already waiting for us! The room was so big and comfortable! Little extras like hot chocolate,tea,coffee and biscuits in our room was such a lovely touch! The leisure centre is great, big pool, steam room, sauna, jacquizi and kids pool! Its also very clean! There is loads of parking at this hotel...FREE! The only downside was the location, its a good bit outside the town so you'd have to get a taxi! The bar was also great, loads of people in it and the staff were lovely, so friendly and professional!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thedancingbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with you family. We hope you will be back with us again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Had lunch with friends who travelled from Co Limerick we travelled from Dublin. The restaurant was busy but found a table free in the bar. The starter was good..root soup lovely..main course was ok for hotel food just lacking a little flavour and the parsnips were hard. We all ordered dessert...apple pie was plain not really warm..but the sticky toffee pudding was presented and it was no more than a square slice of coffee cake..nothing sticky about it...think the chef/cook need to Google what real sticky toffee pudding should look/taste like......

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raymondmccaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your critique, we will discuss your comments in relation to the cuisine and in particular the stickey toffee pudding with the head chef. As always we endeavour to provide the best service and food. It is unfortunate when our offering does not come up to our guests expectations. Once again thank you for your comments.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Had sunday lunch at this restaurant sunday and as always it was just perfect.there was 4 of us family together and not one of us had any complaints.The presentation is superb as is the choice.Their veg are to die for,great flavour.the Beef was really tender as was the lamb my husband had.Also the staff were very nice and really helpful.i would definately recommend this restaurant for lunch.keep up the good work.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrelandHerbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your excellent genuine review, we look forward to having you back again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
992 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Stayed here last weekend. The hotel seemed very busy but the reception staff were very friendly and efficient. The rooms are very big and comfortable but starting to look a little worn in places. We had a bite to eat in the bar and it was very tasty and reasoanably priced. The bar staff were friendly but didn't seem too bothered checking if everything was ok, they spent a lot of time chatting behind the bar. Breakfast was very tasty the next morning but it was very busy at about 9.30/10 and we had to wait in reception for about 5 minutes before they could get a table and we weren't the only ones waiting. If it gets that busy every weekend, they should maybe consider extending the breakfast hours beyond 10.30am. Overall a nice stay and I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beanie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review, we will discuss all aspects of your critique with our management team. We have already amended our breakfast times for busy weekend commencing last weekend. Our customers reiews are very important to us and we try to work out any issues arising from said reviews. Thank you once again for you comments.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Our family spent 1 night in the hotel on the 17th August we were travelling to our own small "gathering" in Athy from the west of Cork where we had been holidaying . We couldn't praise the staff enough they are helpful and extremely pleasant and friendly despite being very busy (Weddings and tours etc) all staff took time to ensure we were happy with our accommadation and food. The rooms are very comfortable with plenty of room to relax. The food is really excellent if you either eat in the bar or restaurant there is something for everyone. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to all.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to review your experience. It is particularly testing to ensure all our team are committed to customer satisfaction when the hotel is extremely busy. However, we aim to deliver the best service possible even when it is difficult. We hope you and your family will visit us again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
2.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
1.3 mi away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre
8.2 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
O'Loughlins Hotel
O'Loughlins Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
6.7 mi away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
21.1 mi away
The Keadeen Hotel
The Keadeen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Killeshin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Killeshin Hotel

Property: The Killeshin Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Portlaoise, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Killeshin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Star Killeshin Hotel is a contemporary hotel with roots in the past. We have 87 well appointed bedrooms with a crisp contemporary decor. Superb bar food is served daily from 12.30pm in our Cedar Bar and breakfast is served daily in the Cedar Bistro. Offering full leisure facilities, complimentary secure underground car parking and wifi. The Killeshin Hotel - Where award winning service matters ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Lastminute, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Killeshin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeshin Hotel Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing