We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Killeshin Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Overall we had a lovely weekend. The food in the bar was really delicious. We did not eat in the restaurant on either night we stayed. As far as we were aware the restaurant was not open to hotel guests only christmas parties this weekend. Which I was a bit disappointed with. The leisure facitlies were lovely and thoroughly enjoyed the jacuzzi! One bad point about the hotel was our room. The room was quite cold all weekend there seemed to be a draft coming in from the window even though it was closed also you could hear all the traffic going past at all time of the day and night. There was also an awful smell of stagnant water in the bathroom.
The staff throughout the hotel were lovely and friendly. Altogether we had a lovely weekend but I dont think I would stay again. I would definitely eat here again though.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DublinMelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your positive comments on the food and service in the hotel. In relation to the observations about the noise in the bedroom, there is an air vent in the window which we should have informed you of on check-in, if this is not closed, you can hear traffic noise. I have highlighted your comments about the bathroom to housekeeping and they are investigating it. It is only possible to improve our product with frank reviews and feedback.

Yours sincerely,


John Flannery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

525 - 531 of 728 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Was traveling to tralee late at night with newborn and weather started to get bad outside so we went onto trip advisor app to see what was available at a great price and found this little gem. Booked it through app at 10:45pm and arrived at 11:15pm and all was sorted. Was givin a triple room for the space cause we had a buggy at no extra cost. Reception staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was abit too warm but one word at reception and it was sorted. Has good swimming pool in hotel also. Be carefull of your belongings in changing rooms as when I was there 2 guys looked like they were trying to break into lockers. Other than that I have no problem recommending this hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Andetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review, we are delighted you found it so seemless to book online on your app and check in not long afterwards. Our staff are out greatest asset and we are always delighted when we get positive feedback for the team. We hope you will stay with us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Lovely friendly, clean hotel with large rooms. Any questions or issues dealt with quickly and very professionally. Bar food reasonably priced and very good quality. Staff great. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oy-bell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your time with us here in the Killeshin Hotel. We hope you will be back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

As one of a party of nineteen who had lunch in the Cedarooms recently, I found that the choice of menu was extensive (for Lunch), reasonably priced and the food was excellent. The staff were friendly, helpful, courteous and efficient.

Room Tip: Only used the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, we are pleased you enjoyed your meal with us. We look forward to having you back in the Cedar Rooms again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We just stayed in the Killeshin for the first time this weekend. Very impressed with the hotel good food friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is clean and comfortable.A bit of a hidden gem I will definitely be coming back. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BAJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your glowing review, we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come back to us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Excellent room. Spacious, warm and comfortable bed. But no wi-fi in bedroom. Very clean. Swimming pool very nice. Staff at pool not very friendly. Staff at reception were excellent. Very helpful and polite. Very good breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irelandabu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding the WIFI in the bedrooms, this is in the process of being upgraded. Currently there is free high speed broadband in the bedrooms and free high speed WIFI in public areas. The pool will also be renovated early in the new year. Your comments will be reviewed and appropriate action taken where necessary.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

HI,
Having booked this hotel for our civil cermony wedding in September on the advice from friends who married there a year previous, it really was plain sailing from there on in.
The night before the wedding i stayed over and was met by friends staying there, they were all complimentry of the rooms and food, a good start i said to myself.
The wedding day the room was lovely, the food was lovely, the staff were lovely, the service was lovely, all in all We would recommend the Killeshin hotel for any celebration, The whole staff there are so pleasent, and warm. We attended a wedding on the 2nd, of November, who had some of the guests we had, and they were all still talking about our wedding, and the whole day. That in itself sums it all up for us.
Thank You all in the Killeshin.. Seamus & Bridget.

Room Tip: just ask when booking what You require
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seamus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review, we are delighted your wedding was a success and that you will remember it with fondness. It is of supreme importance to us that our bride and grooms have a positive experience with us.

We look forward to having your back with us for your first wedding anniversary.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
1.3 mi away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
2.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
728 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
O'Loughlin's Hotel
O'Loughlin's Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
189 reviews
17.1 mi away
Kildare House Hotel
Kildare House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kildare
231 reviews
19.2 mi away
Talbot Hotel Carlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Killeshin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Killeshin Hotel

Address: Dublin Road, Portlaoise, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range: £58 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Killeshin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Star Killeshin Hotel is a contemporary hotel with roots in the past. We have 87 well appointed bedrooms with a crisp contemporary decor. Superb bar food is served daily from 12.30pm in our Cedar Bar and breakfast is served daily in the Cedar Bistro. Offering full leisure facilities, complimentary secure underground car parking and wifi. The Killeshin Hotel - Where award winning service matters ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Killeshin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeshin Hotel Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing