We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Killeshin Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$155
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise(Portlaoise)(Great Value!)
US$122
US$112
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
O'Loughlin's Hotel(Portlaoise)(Great Value!)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$206
US$200
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roundwood House(Mountrath)
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$248
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Internet
Reviews (743)
Filter reviews
743 results
Traveller rating
316
236
102
55
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
316
236
102
55
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar foodleisure centrelovely hotelbar staffunderground car parkfamily roomdouble roomtop classsteam roomsaturday nightlovely roomenjoyable staycouldn't do enoughsteakresidents barlast weekendfollowing morning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
537 - 542 of 743 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed here from 27th December for 3 nights, and were very comfortable in a larger than average double room. We were impressed with space which allowed for an office desk and table and chairs. Our room was on first floor and was quiet after 11pm. We booked directly and had a better discount than on booking.com

The bed and bedding was new and the room and reception areas were spotless. The service throughout was outstanding. Breakfast was varied with smoked salmon, pancakes and maple syrup, as well as the usual staples. Tea and coffee and toast was served at table and the rest was buffet service. We planned a large group night out, but did not eat in the hotel restaurant as the bar could not host reservations and the restaurant only offered fixed price meal starting at E32 per person.

The hotel had piped music - US carols - which were rather wearing after 3 days, and I sympathise with the reception staff who had to bear them all day.

We didnt try the health centre, which looks good. Will definitely stay again when visiting relatives in Portlaoise.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review, we have binned that Christmas Carol CD and it won't be playing next year!

Thank you again, yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed at the Killeshin hotel on a shopping weekend. Location is good for Dublin or for business meetings but I wouldn't recommend it if you want a scenic weekend away. Our room was really good but definitely caters for business guests. They had a really good powerful hairdryer!! The only complaint would be the bed - cheap or needed to replaced.

Staff were very friendly and efficient. The restaurant is fabulous! The food was 5 star and I would recommend that you visit. Good quality produce and staff were so attentive.

Gym was good and the swimming pool was nice a quiet.I would definitely recommend this hotel for business meetings if your company has a few locations.

You can get some really good deals but unfortunately we booked through a comparison website when would have been cheaper to book direct .

Room Tip: You can get some really good deals but unfortunately we booked through a comparison website when would have been cheaper to book direct .
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorkSudee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your constructive and thoughtful review. Your overall positive experience whilst staying with us is encouraging to the whole team. I have brought to the housekeepers attention, your specific issue relating to the quality of the bed in your room.

Once again thank you for your comments,

John Flannery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Overall we had a lovely weekend. The food in the bar was really delicious. We did not eat in the restaurant on either night we stayed. As far as we were aware the restaurant was not open to hotel guests only christmas parties this weekend. Which I was a bit disappointed with. The leisure facitlies were lovely and thoroughly enjoyed the jacuzzi! One bad point about the hotel was our room. The room was quite cold all weekend there seemed to be a draft coming in from the window even though it was closed also you could hear all the traffic going past at all time of the day and night. There was also an awful smell of stagnant water in the bathroom.
The staff throughout the hotel were lovely and friendly. Altogether we had a lovely weekend but I dont think I would stay again. I would definitely eat here again though.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DublinMelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your positive comments on the food and service in the hotel. In relation to the observations about the noise in the bedroom, there is an air vent in the window which we should have informed you of on check-in, if this is not closed, you can hear traffic noise. I have highlighted your comments about the bathroom to housekeeping and they are investigating it. It is only possible to improve our product with frank reviews and feedback.

Yours sincerely,


John Flannery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Was traveling to tralee late at night with newborn and weather started to get bad outside so we went onto trip advisor app to see what was available at a great price and found this little gem. Booked it through app at 10:45pm and arrived at 11:15pm and all was sorted. Was givin a triple room for the space cause we had a buggy at no extra cost. Reception staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was abit too warm but one word at reception and it was sorted. Has good swimming pool in hotel also. Be carefull of your belongings in changing rooms as when I was there 2 guys looked like they were trying to break into lockers. Other than that I have no problem recommending this hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Andetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review, we are delighted you found it so seemless to book online on your app and check in not long afterwards. Our staff are out greatest asset and we are always delighted when we get positive feedback for the team. We hope you will stay with us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Lovely friendly, clean hotel with large rooms. Any questions or issues dealt with quickly and very professionally. Bar food reasonably priced and very good quality. Staff great. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oy-bell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your time with us here in the Killeshin Hotel. We hope you will be back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews