We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Killeshin Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
O'Loughlin's Hotel(Portlaoise)(Great Value!)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
HotelQuickly
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$248
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Reviews (749)
Filter reviews
749 results
Traveller rating
319
238
103
55
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
319
238
103
55
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar foodleisure centrelovely hotelbar staffunderground car parkfamily roomdouble roomtop classsteam roomsaturday nightlovely roomenjoyable staycouldn't do enoughsteakresidents barlast weekendfollowing morning
Filter
Updating list...
540 - 545 of 749 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed at the hotel december 30th/31st.Check in was effecient with a very nice receptionist on duty.Were allocated room on 2nd floor which was grand /no noise from road or bar.Room was big enough with double and single and extra one if needed for a fourth person/although i dont think id fancy a night on it.Room also had a work station if needed with the usual tea and coffee provided.Bar is not that big but does has an upstairs which did have to be opened eventually on new years eve due to volume of people in bar.Food is served in bar which is ok.New years eve was fine with music provided/everyone seemed to enjoy themselves.Free champagne was given at midnight/[nice touch].All in all we had a good time.Would we go again.YES.Only thing that may put people off is 20 min walk to town.There is a very nice bar 5 mins down the road[o gormans].

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cabradub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your very kind review of our New Years Eve Offering. It is most gratifying to read comments from people who are happy and I will pass your sentiments onto all the staff.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We booked a New Years package in the Killeshin for €139 per person for 2 nights bed and breakfast, with dinner on one evening and a fireworks/champagne reception to ring in the new year. We booked 3 rooms as we were a party of 6. We arrived an hour before official check in time so didn't expect our rooms to be ready however the receptionist advised that all 3 rooms were. The receptionist was very efficient and friendly.
The rooms themselves (on the 1st floor) were quite large with my only gripes being that both the TV and beds were quite small and there was no mini-bar/fridge.
The gym area is excellent for the size of the hotel. However the changing rooms, swimming pool & jacuzzi/sauna/steam room felt a bit tired and in need of renovation. (Not sure if I was just unimpressed given the last hotel I stayed in was Seafield in Wexford which has stunning facilities)
The breakfast was fine, if poorly stocked (perhaps I was unlucky both mornings) We ate in the restaurant on the second evening and the food was very good.
The visit wasn't without problems though. Fireworks were included as part of our package. These never happened. When we complained, we were told that the residents objected so they were cancelled. To start with, I find it hard to believe residents would object to a free fireworks display to ring in the new year but either way we should have been notified of the cancellation in advance (call/email). We also missed out on the free champagne as the staff didn't make an announcement or distribute it to all tables. When we complained at reception about this, the receptionist was very apologetic and said that we could have a free drink from the bar. When we went to the bar to obtain a free drink, the barman grunted that he knew nothing about a free drink. On the whole, the bar seemed very badly organised/understaffed for the evening. Tables were left dirty for long periods and glasses weren't cleared as quickly as you would expect.
To top off our disappointment, the following afternoon after having lunch we went to the bar to settle our half of the bill (the 2 others in the group at the table paid their portion). The barman, clearly quite stressed, informed us that he was very busy and thus instructed us to leave our money on the counter (which we duly placed on top of our bill on the counter). Later that day, he approached another member of our group and accussed my partner and I of not paying the bill for our lunch. We were absolutely mortified. He then proceeded to balance the cash in the till, later admitting that he thought the money on the counter was a tip. (Who leaves a 50% tip these days!)
The hotel seemed ill prepared for the volume of residents. The service was very hit and miss, at times adequate to good, and other times chaotic. I couldn't really recommend the hotel to friends or family. Having stayed in a number of other 4 star hotels recently, the Killeshin felt like it should be a 3 star.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fletch555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review, I firstly must apologise for the lack of professionalism with both the service on New Years Eve and New Years Day. I have brought your issues to the attention of both the Food & Beverage Manager and the Bar Supervisor and the staff involved will be spoken to. Thank you for your very pleasant comments about reception, the bedrooms and the food service. However, I am at a loss to understand the fireworks as we have never advertised or included fireworks in our packages. Due to our location, the Garda Siochana would not allow us put on a fireworks display. I do not understand why a member of staff would give you an excuse for something we do not provide. Once again my apologies for not fulfilling your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed here from 27th December for 3 nights, and were very comfortable in a larger than average double room. We were impressed with space which allowed for an office desk and table and chairs. Our room was on first floor and was quiet after 11pm. We booked directly and had a better discount than on booking.com

The bed and bedding was new and the room and reception areas were spotless. The service throughout was outstanding. Breakfast was varied with smoked salmon, pancakes and maple syrup, as well as the usual staples. Tea and coffee and toast was served at table and the rest was buffet service. We planned a large group night out, but did not eat in the hotel restaurant as the bar could not host reservations and the restaurant only offered fixed price meal starting at E32 per person.

The hotel had piped music - US carols - which were rather wearing after 3 days, and I sympathise with the reception staff who had to bear them all day.

We didnt try the health centre, which looks good. Will definitely stay again when visiting relatives in Portlaoise.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review, we have binned that Christmas Carol CD and it won't be playing next year!

Thank you again, yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed at the Killeshin hotel on a shopping weekend. Location is good for Dublin or for business meetings but I wouldn't recommend it if you want a scenic weekend away. Our room was really good but definitely caters for business guests. They had a really good powerful hairdryer!! The only complaint would be the bed - cheap or needed to replaced.

Staff were very friendly and efficient. The restaurant is fabulous! The food was 5 star and I would recommend that you visit. Good quality produce and staff were so attentive.

Gym was good and the swimming pool was nice a quiet.I would definitely recommend this hotel for business meetings if your company has a few locations.

You can get some really good deals but unfortunately we booked through a comparison website when would have been cheaper to book direct .

Room Tip: You can get some really good deals but unfortunately we booked through a comparison website when would have been cheaper to book direct .
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorkSudee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your constructive and thoughtful review. Your overall positive experience whilst staying with us is encouraging to the whole team. I have brought to the housekeepers attention, your specific issue relating to the quality of the bed in your room.

Once again thank you for your comments,

John Flannery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Overall we had a lovely weekend. The food in the bar was really delicious. We did not eat in the restaurant on either night we stayed. As far as we were aware the restaurant was not open to hotel guests only christmas parties this weekend. Which I was a bit disappointed with. The leisure facitlies were lovely and thoroughly enjoyed the jacuzzi! One bad point about the hotel was our room. The room was quite cold all weekend there seemed to be a draft coming in from the window even though it was closed also you could hear all the traffic going past at all time of the day and night. There was also an awful smell of stagnant water in the bathroom.
The staff throughout the hotel were lovely and friendly. Altogether we had a lovely weekend but I dont think I would stay again. I would definitely eat here again though.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DublinMelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your positive comments on the food and service in the hotel. In relation to the observations about the noise in the bedroom, there is an air vent in the window which we should have informed you of on check-in, if this is not closed, you can hear traffic noise. I have highlighted your comments about the bathroom to housekeeping and they are investigating it. It is only possible to improve our product with frank reviews and feedback.

Yours sincerely,


John Flannery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews