We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Killeshin Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Nottingham
Level Contributor
140 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed here mid week on a business trip. Got exactly what I needed. A nice welcome a big room with lots of workspace, and good internet (via a cable, but they are upgrading soon) usual nice tea tray and a comfy bed. Had a meal in the bar and watched the football with other guests. All friendly staff, very efficient and a decent meal. Clean, comfortable friendly and decent food, what more could I ask for on a night away on business.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to receive a glowing review from such a senior reviewer. Thank you again and we hope you will be back with us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    206
    90
    48
    30
See reviews for
197
230
16
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I stayed in the Killeshin Hotel with my family for New Years 2013. I was very impressed with the standard of the hotel. I am a clean freak and the rooms were kept to a very high standard. They are very spacious, the beds are very comfortable and the shower facilities are excellent. On New Years eve we had a meal in the main bar area and the food was fantastic. I had the fish and chips but I tried a bit of everyone else's, as you do, and I couldn't fault it.

The leisure facilities in this hotel are great. The gym and the pool area have everything you need to get a good work out in before a good feeding.

The only thing that let this experience down was the one man band that rang in the New Year. He had absolutely no personality and he didn't engage the crowd at all. This is not a reflection of the quality of this hotel, it was simply one negative out of two nights of positives.

I have plenty of family in Portlaoise and I will definitely be using this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aisling K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review, the team here at the Killeshin are always delighted to received such a frank and honest review of a guests stay. We note your comments regarding the music and will review our music line up for the next event.

We hope you will return us in the future and make yourself known to reception or the sales department as we love to make a fuss over return guests.

Yours sincerely,


John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

On a overnight last minute business stay. Got a great price for B&B in a superior room. Room was spacious and clean. Loads of desk space and free wired internet access. Check in staff pleasant and welcoming. Restaurant staff next morning the same. Great buffet breakfast with everything you could want. My only gripe would be with the Orange juice. It was the concentrate type, fresh juice would have been nicer. But cant complain with the price paid. Would recommend the hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dejmurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Yours sincerely

John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2014

as the mother of the bride at the wedding on the 8th of march 2014 , i was very pleased with the welcome to all our guests on the day and the food was of the highest standard ,a big thank you to all the staff and pauline for an outstanding day to remember

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 346har
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed the wedding you attended with us. We hope you will visit it us again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Well maintained hotel - from the onset I could see evidence of freshly painted hallways and newly covered furniture. Its great to see that some hotels continue to keep up their standards. Staff are happy and the atmosphere reflects this. A pleasure to stay here, I will be back!

Only down side, broadband in the room, although its free I'd prefer WIFI.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope when you are back in the country that you will stop by again.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Attended a family wedding here on Saturday 8/3/2014 and booked a room for the night we recived a warm welcome and a lovely room the wedding was one of the best I have been to the room the wedding was in was outstanding beautihully,well laid out and and decorated the food was beautifull and everthing was hot, the serves was very good. staff were very friendly and helpfull ,fantastic night .then off to a cosy bed and a lovely room got up to a lovely breakfast everthing you could want hugh selection I have already recommened this holel to a couple who are getting married .I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMENED THIS HOTEL

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsyread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted you enjoyed the wedding here at the weekend. Thank you for your kind review and we hope you will come back again to us in the future.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We were having a short trip to Ireland looking for horses no accommodation booked and booked into the hotel at the last minute. Lovely room, lovely evening food and great breakfast. Would certainly visit again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lordy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will be back again with us soon.

Regards,

John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
1.3 mi away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
2.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
676 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
O'Loughlins Hotel
O'Loughlins Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
176 reviews
6.7 mi away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
256 reviews
9.8 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Killeshin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Killeshin Hotel

Property: The Killeshin Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Portlaoise, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Killeshin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Star Killeshin Hotel is a contemporary hotel with roots in the past. We have 87 well appointed bedrooms with a crisp contemporary decor. Superb bar food is served daily from 12.30pm in our Cedar Bar and breakfast is served daily in the Cedar Bistro. Offering full leisure facilities, complimentary secure underground car parking and wifi. The Killeshin Hotel - Where award winning service matters ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Killeshin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeshin Hotel Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing