We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Killeshin Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Certificate of Excellence
kerry
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, ”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed as a couple with a young child, the hotel is very child friendly which is a great bonus and the staff are amazing.Lovely pool with great kiddies pool and lovely staff.
We ate in the bar, food was amazing, great service and huge portions, excellent value for money, breakfast was also fab.
Room was lovely, very clean but the walls and carpet needs some TLC but overall we had a lovely relaxing stay and would without hesitation recommend this hotel and again credit where's it's due to the lovely staff who make the hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KerryMinnie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review of the hotel. The hotel is currently under going a renovation, a number of bedrooms have been painted and we hope to have this finished by the end of the Autumn.
Yours Sincerely
John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    205
    88
    47
    30
See reviews for
196
230
16
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My boyfriend & I arrived on Sat 19th July.. Found the hotel to be lovely.. very clean.. lovely decor. Our room was not ready upon our arrival so we went to the bar and had cocktails and a pint.. We also had some lunch.. Just Sandwiches but they were lovely. Very tasty and good value for money for a hotel!
Whilst having lunch there was groups of people outside the bar, in smoking area, drinking, loud-not what we expected from a 4* hotel

We had planned on having dinner that evening but we were put off by the gang of men, standing around drinking pints, some messing and the bar been a bit small we felt very crowded and uncomfortable. We headed into town.. Not alot of choice in town to be honest so we just got a chinese take away and went back up to the room.

The bedroom we were in was lovely! spacious, decor was uptodate, beds were comfortable although our TV kept freezing as did the WIFI..

The staff that we dealt with were professional and helpful. Breakfast was good. Good choice of:
Sausage, Bacon, Beans, Black& White pudding, Hash Browns, Mushrooms, Tomatoes, Eggs.. Toast.. aray of juices, cereals, fresh fruit platter.. I was bit disappointed that there was no Croissant's or Danish's..

My boyfriend was put off by the gangs. It didn't look good for the hotel in our opinion... But overall it was a good stay and I would recommend it to a friend. Good Value

Room Tip: We had room 114..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcdub2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your very positive review of the hotel product. As you may understand we are not in a position to address your comments on other guests appearance. We did not have any problems with unruly or anti-social behaviour with the guests you highlighted.
Yours Sincerely
John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel for a treat for our wedding anniversary although the hotels reception area is pleasant and the receptionist was very friendly the hotels location has alot to be desired, its very close to the main road leaving the bedrooms on the front of the hotel affected by the noise of all the passing traffic. Our room was located above the smoking area which also was a haven for noisy drunks who clearly like to hear themselves then to add to all this noise we had to listen to the guests in the neighbouring room & their bedroom antics which wasnt pleasant! The food in the restaurant was lovely & cooked very well but potato portions were very small but the waiter addressed this with more for us. Breakfast was just ok. Room was clean but tv was very small. Drinks in bar are dear & no carlsberg available? We got one night b+b at a good rate but I wouldnt pay top rate for the very bad nights sleep we had. We got what we paid for!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank snakeysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at the hotel. I can only apologise for both the group of people outside the hotel and the people next door. Thank you again for bringing this to my attention.
Yours Sincerely
John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed at the hotel along with members of our family including two young children. We were made very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Rooms are spacious and well equipped although slightly worn, as is some of the decor. Although this in no way detracted form enjoying our stay. The staff were very pleasant, helpful and efficient. Meals in the bar and restaurant were good quality and value.
The hotel is on the side of the road on the edge of town and is well situated to use as a stopping off point if travelling south or returning fro the dublin ferries. It is well equipped with bars, seating areas and function rooms and there is a large, free car par under the hotel. Would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room, just in case there is a wedding or function in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinniesDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, I note your comments regarding the decor, the hotel is constantly undergoing renovation and the majority of the bedrooms have been recently renovated also. Thank you for your constructive review and we will be sure to alert maintenance to your observations. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Had a fabulous one night stay, the staff especially the management were amazing! Antonio (I think) gave the warmest of welcomes! Lovely hotel off the Dublin road with great access to Kildare village & Newbridges museum of style icons.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayleighAlanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your pleasant review, indeed we all enjoy visiting those places too. Portlaoise is quite central for touring. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The lobby doesn't have the presence of what you would expect for 4 star. Can't complain though as it was a pleasant stay. Staff were very nice. Gym was decent. Underground parking with plenty of space. Price of drinks in bar were expensive.

Overall, very good hotel

Room Tip: stayed floor 2, was nice and quiet. Got a bit hot however and pillows were very large, had to sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southeastguywat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to us, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. The team are always delighted to be commended on their customer service. We usually endeavour to warm up the lobby at night with plenty of candles and lanterns lit to create an atmosphere of elegance and tranquility.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Restaurant closes at 14:30 of Sunday. The bar area serves good food, but small seating area which results in no seating, or waiting around for a seat and loud match on tv.
When busy staff seem to try persuade you to try other restaurants in the town?
Not four star service for me.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review, but I feel it a was bit harsh as you were not accommodated as a walk in diner. We were fully booked in the restaurant and very busy in the bar. It is our policy to suggest alternative restaurants in the town if we can not accommodate guests without reservations.

Yours Sincerely
John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
2.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
1.3 mi away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
8.2 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
O'Loughlins Hotel
O'Loughlins Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
6.7 mi away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
21.1 mi away
The Keadeen Hotel
The Keadeen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Killeshin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Killeshin Hotel

Property: The Killeshin Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Portlaoise, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Killeshin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Star Killeshin Hotel is a contemporary hotel with roots in the past. We have 87 well appointed bedrooms with a crisp contemporary decor. Superb bar food is served daily from 12.30pm in our Cedar Bar and breakfast is served daily in the Cedar Bistro. Offering full leisure facilities, complimentary secure underground car parking and wifi. The Killeshin Hotel - Where award winning service matters ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Killeshin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeshin Hotel Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing