We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Killeshin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Killeshin Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Certificate of Excellence
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
303 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I just returned from a 2 night stay at the Killeshin hotel. we had got a great deal for 2 nights with cocktails on arrival and breakfast on both mornings. The hotel looked impressive upon arrival. very clean around the outside. it has it's own carpark which can be busy as there is a gym attached to the hotel but ample underground parking is provided right beside the hotel which is free and has lifts going up to the lobby.

The receptionist was very friendly. We were very early as check in wasnt until 3pm but our room was ready within 20 minutes. Rooms are spacious with relaxed decor and had a lovely ambience. The only gripe I have with the room was the amount of hair in the bath plug hole. Don't like that very much!
There was coffee, tea , biscuits and hot chocolate provided in the room which was a lovely touch.

We ate at the bar on a few occasions and found food to be so fresh and tasty. bar staff were lovely too. Toasted sabdwiches were divine!
The breakfast buffet was fantastic with a massive choice including pancakes, cereals, fruits, hot food etc. coffee was really nice too.

hotel is about 5 minute drive from the portlaoise town centre which has lovely shops. i would recommend this hotel and my partner had a great time too.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lucyyeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the very positive review of your stay at the Killeshin Hotel. I have noted your housekeeping issue and I will be taking this up with management team. Thank you for taking photographs of you food and beverages throughout your stay as it reinforces your positive experience.

We look forward to having you back with us in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    197
    85
    45
    27
See reviews for
186
221
14
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

The Killeshin Hotel is far from 4 Star standard. Reception service is excellent and a good greeting is given on arrival. The rooms are large, bright and airy and well equipped. However, that is all that is good to report. Our room was to the front of the building which faces onto the main Dublin/Portlaoise road and is noisy with traffic through the night. Closing the window helps but without air conditioning it then gets stuffy and too hot.

No restaurant service was available for evening meal and the bar had limited space. You had to find a table yourself and practically had to jump up and down to get some attention for food service. The two waitresses on duty seemed pleasant but tired and totally disinterested in dealing with us. Our food took a long time to come and then was somewhat fired onto the table and before we could ask for condiments the girls had rushed off. As for the food, it was tasteless rubbish. None of the meals were finished and our table was not cleared off, nor were we asked if we wanted desserts. As we were sitting at a high table on high stools, we spotted a booth which had become free. We moved there but the table was not cleared from the previous guests. We had to push their bottles and glasses to one side. We entered that booth at 9pm and left at 1am. There were 5 of us and we had 5 rounds of drinks. At no time was our table cleaned or cleared of the mounting bottles and glasses. At 1am the bar man came over and started to clean up indicating to us that it getting time to finish up.

In the morning the restaurant was open for breakfast was pleasant but average. We indicated to the girl on reception that we were waiting on the rest of our party and gave their room numbers. We saw them entering and giving their room number and she just told them to take a seat anywhere causing us to stand up and shout across the busy restaurant.

After breakfast we had a further swim and sauna. The leisure centre attached to the hotel is spotless and very well equipped, however, I could not open my eyes for the rest of the day as they were hurting so badly from the chemicals in the pool.

All in all, this hotel offers a basic but only basic service. It is clean, has friendly reception staff and basic clean, comfortable rooms. More suitable for business stopovers than pleasure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the rear of the building as the hotel is on the main road entering the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank feeog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. It is important for us to get honest and constructive reviews even when you highlight shortfallings in our offering. I have had a detailed conversation with both the Food & Beverage Manager and Bar Supervisor about the shortfall in the service and hopefully an improvement will be seen. It is unfortunate the restaurant staff did not catch your friends as they entered for breakfast. I have reviewed the chemical log for the pool for the last month and at no stage were the levels off normal. Once again thank you for your review.
Yours Sincerely
John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed here Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday nights with my wife and 3 children in two a joining rooms. Great value, nice friendly staff, very nice breakfast and nice leisure centre. The rooms Large and comfortably. We used it as a base to visit Dublin Zoo and Tayto park. Only down side was no Internet in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paddy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. In relation to the internet, there is in fact broadband in the bedrooms and wifi in all public areas. We are also in the process of having wifi added to all bedrooms but this has not been completed as yet.

Thank you once again for your review.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

'It was a pleasure' was the staff mantra in this modern, well situated and well run hotel. It was a last minute decision 2 overnite in this hotel and it won't be my last. The staff, in particular Robbie, went above and beyond to make our stay one to remember. Excellent room and wonderful breakfast, I will reccommend and return to this hotel. Many thanks.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IreneCostello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank for your kind review of your recent stay with us and I am delighted you had such a positive experience. We look forward to having you back with us again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

After 2 nights of listening to heavy traffic-all hours day and night, including buses, trucks, young lads performing dougnuts(1 of the nights) & cars pass by not far from our room, window shut or not shut(supposedly a quite room no. 233) we eventually realized that all to many times listening to trip advisor comments from previous guests was the best thing we could have done prior to taking a chance and booking this hotel for our 3 night stay. We also rang the hotel 1st to express our concerns of comments from tip-advisor members.

We checked out early after our 2nd night of our 3 night stay. My wife & myself both felt 'that' stressed out, that returning home was a better solution than trying in desperation to enjoy our 3rd night stay. By no means were either of us expecting total extravagance.

I will not blame the all of the staff at this hotel - they were great, helpful throughout our shortened stay.

Our Room. Bed/ mattress quite noisey. Big gap below door entrance. Window handle loose in room. Dirty (sweat or other) white splotches on room furniture. cheap Amstrad TV with inadequate selection of channels. No non-slip bath mat for bath/ shower, my wife slipped twice getting in/ out. Carpet in room could do with a steam clean. No air-con. No wifi.

Food at the hotel restaurant was superb, very rich & filling but still enjoyed on our 1st night's dining.

However, And a very big however, The 2nd night we ate in the hotel bar, boy did the standard drop a class or 2, I firstly took the chicken wings - barely edible trollop, bones broken which is a sign they had been sitting a while - 2nd course, Fresh fish served in thin portions of fish with a chewy hard to separate batter - noted down as Fresh Cod, but 110% not cod, super salty & a little sickening on every bite/swallow - served up with chunky chips which really were again inedible, starchy. After the main course, i could never have trusted a dessert would be any better so I left it. My wife went with what she thought would be a 'safe' bet of a Caesar salad, from her 1st fork load, she immediately had a moderate taste of raw fish from her food, she consequently left half the dish behind.

Hotel Leisure Facilities - Immediate up sell attempt at the pool check-in of €2.50 for a swim cap a little OTT even if it is policy- you should buy in 50 & lend them to guests of the hotel. Girl heavily involved with her mobile phone at pool check-in. A lot left to be desired, pool & jacuzzi heavily saturated in chlorine. Unsightly tattooed males hanging in the pool-no matter where we went changing rooms, jacuzzi, made the best of it, had a brief swim, again attempted to chill out, this leisure facility did not make us feel comfortable or relaxed. Decor not modern, nor clean. Changing room floors not clean, scum/ hair on floor.

Overall, I have to give this hotel a 2/10 for overall performance and from a managerial/ ownership perspective I really would suggest taking a really long hard look at improvements, such as external noise reduction solutions etc.(check out acoustical surfaces inc.as an example - your local co. co. should be paying for it) that could be made at the hotel to better promote it's image and experience. I also suspect that this hotel has not had an overhaul on its star rating in the last few years.

From our experience, it barely gets to a 2* Hotel rating and thoroughly disappointed hence our early check out. We would not recommend this hotel to friends without hearing of major necessary changes.

Room Tip: From discussions with hotel reception, this hotel does not have any 1 good room. No room isolated fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mickdubswitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your detailed review of the hotel. Personally may I apologise on behalf of the hotel for the short comings you highlighted and would be delighted if you would contact me directly in the hotel (057 8631200) or email me on jflannery@thekilleshin.com. I will discuss your critique in detail.
Yours Sincerely
John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athy
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Antonio was so polite and professional. I was a small bit cheeky asking for an envelope but he relied no problem and asked would I like tea or coffee ? Of course I said. !!! What a service for a random pass by.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kieran42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you found your treatment by one of our senior managers to be exceptional. The team endeavours to ensure our guests are treated well and we hope this will encourage you to stop by again.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here for its reasonable prices and close proximity (15 min drive) from Kildare Village and Newbridge Whitewater. The great restaurant food and lovely pool is great to come back to after being dragged around shops all day.

I have to particularly point out that the staff were all excellent, particularly a girl on reception on our checkin (Friday 1st August late afternoon) and one of the bar staff on all that weekend, I wish I had gotten his name so we could point him out specifically. In general we were made to feel more welcome than any hotel we ever stayed in, anywhere. This is how staff should act in hospitality!

Only negative comment to make was on housekeeping - our bedsheets were not changed, noticeable since my partner had spilled coffee on the duvet cover and it remained there for two nights. That said the rest of the room was spotless and made up perfectly.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room near the function room side of the hotel, if there's something on the nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ProxyGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are always delighted to get constructive feedback from our customers. I have taken note of your issues with the laundry and have discussed in detail with my Housekeeping Manager. We hope you will return to us again in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
2.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
1.3 mi away
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
O'Loughlins Hotel
O'Loughlins Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
21.1 mi away
The Keadeen Hotel
The Keadeen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
9.8 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Killeshin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Killeshin Hotel

Property: The Killeshin Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Portlaoise, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Killeshin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Star Killeshin Hotel is a contemporary hotel with roots in the past. We have 87 well appointed bedrooms with a crisp contemporary decor. Superb bar food is served daily from 12.30pm in our Cedar Bar and breakfast is served daily in the Cedar Bistro. Offering full leisure facilities, complimentary secure underground car parking and wifi. The Killeshin Hotel - Where award winning service matters ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Lastminute and Agoda so you can book your The Killeshin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeshin Hotel Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing