We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Value for a Modern Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Killeshin Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Naas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Super Value for a Modern Paradise”
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Couldn't say enough about this hotel. Everything went well from the friendly greeting on arrival to the clean and modern bedroom. After we checked in we went to the bar where we had a scrumptous pasta dish washed down with nice glass of red. The girl who served us couldn't do enough for us, nothing was a problem - I can see why they won a customer service award.
If I was to be picky I'd say that they could do with bigger cups for tea making in room. I will definatley be back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moneyfornothing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    217
    95
    51
    31
See reviews for
210
237
16
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Stayed here on a great deal, €79pps for 2 nights B+B plus 1 evening meal.

The Good:
Staff are all incredibly friendly/helpful, from reception to bar to restaurant to cleaners.

Rooms are very modern and have excellent fittings/furniture and very nice bathrooms, great hot water pressure etc.

Breakfast buffet selection is excellent for any taste. Full Irish selection of the usual, plus loads of cereals, fruit, pastries, etc.

Swimming pool and jacuzzi area is nice and clean and situated inside the hotel.

Dinner food portions are massive (I would say a bit too big/wasteful!) and the food was pretty good.

The Bad:
Specifically asked for a quiet room as I know hotels make their money on weddings and they can be loud. However got a room in earshot of the band and just above what I presume was an outdoor smoking area which had noisy conversation. I would suggest that anyone looking for a quiet room is given one at the FRONT of the hotel!

Dinner service was very very busy, and our main course took a ridiculous amount of time to arrive, and when it did arrive my steak was like the sole of a shoe even though I asked for it medium. No quibble taking it back and a juicy medium steak arrived 5 minutes later. We also got a pair of complimentary drinks for the inconvenience even though we didn't complain, a very nice touch.

Big sign outside the hotel on arrival saying "Bar Food All Day", but we arrived late evening on the Friday and by the time we went down to the bar at 9.45 the bar food had stopped, even though the sign was still outside! Room service costs 5 euro per person just for delivery, so a pair of sandwiches would have cost us 20 euro to have to our room because there was no food available anywhere else. Ended up walking to the local Texaco for food from their fridge. Suggest either extend the bar food hours a bit longer, or drop the ridiculous 5 euro per person room service fee.

Swimming pool changing room area had no toilet paper in any of the male toilets, and had no soap in any of the shower soap dispensers. A bit shoddy and easily fixed.

Overall I would say an 8/10. Our stay was far from ruined by any of the negatives which were really just minor annoyances. If you're a light sleeper either specifically ask for a room at the front of the hotel, or bring ear plugs with you.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThaDayTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We will endeavour to access all the points you made in your review. Leaving constructive comments such as your own allows us to continue to strive to improve on every aspect of our visitors stay. We hope you will return to us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

This hotel is fairly new and in a good location only a short walk from the town, but and a big but was the bar staff member on duty the night we called 26th june 10, having arrived at 6.45 we sat down only to be totally ignored by the staff, the reason! the bar food finished at 7pm,and they wanted to clean up, after waiting at a table for over ten minutesand being totally ignored in spite of beckoning service, i eventually went to the bar to ask for a menu only to be told its closed, this bar man was the worst person to be dealing with members of the public, he was quiet ignorent and confrontational to my wife and myself, its such a pity a member of staff can ruin a stay in an otherwise good hotel, management take note..would visit again but not if this guy was on duty..

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seabirdfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2010
Thank you for your comments. The incidents you mentioned in your review will be discussed at our weekly meeting and positive action will be taken to ensure such problems do not occur in the future. We pride ourselves on our customer service and welcome all feedback to continue to improve the guest experience at the Killeshin. Once again thank for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2010

We stayed at the Killeshin as a central point between Dublin and Waterford. As you can imagine, there are not alot of choice of hotels in Portlaoise. The Killeshin was listed as a 4-star hotel and in some regards, it might be. It is modern, but the carpets especially in the common areas are dirty and worn. The food was good, not great. Staff at the hotel were very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mscCaveCreek_Arizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2010

We went to stay at the Kileshin for a weekend break. We got a good deal and were looking forward to it. Over all it was an ok trip BUT for two reasons. Firstly the receptionist was quite rude and dismissive with us at the check in. She didn't seem to know what she was talking about rearding the locality, venues, etc. But she got nicer when we corrected her. We already knew a liitle about the locality but thought she could offer some insights into the local amenities as she actually works there!! It was clear she was not knowledable at all.
However, the second reason really made our trip uncomfortable. The gym and pool opened up at 10.00 am on Sat & Sund. We knew there was a gym there when we booked but we thought we could go to the gym/pool from 7.00am like other hotels. We of course never thought to ask beforehand. It ruined our weekend as we rise early, go to the gym and then do the other relaxing stuff. On Saturday ee had to have our breakfast first and then wait for the gym to open. On Sunday we had to pack first, go for breakfast and go the the gym. All backwards as we hhad to bout of our rooms by 12.00md. Crazt stuff! And we got no where with the uninformed receptionist when we brought it to her attention.
We will not go to the Killeshin again because of these times. We'll get over Miss Uninformed but not the lack of access to the leisure facilities. Thats what we paid for. Why when we could go to some where that actually caters for us a customers. Sorry Killeshin Managers, you've lost our custom.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chamuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenister region Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

Stayed here for one night with friends - 3 ladies- booked the one night BBD package really good value. The set dinner was excellent with plenty of choice included steak with no additional cost. The staff we the hotels best assesst they were friendly polite and unintrustive. The tap water courtesy of Co. Laois county council tasted AWFUL and when the waiter was asked for bottle water ther was no problem and it wa without charge. The breakfast was very well presented, two special requests for breakfast were done without fuss. It was a pleasure. Couldn't say enough for the hotel staff.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avewk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2010

Our stay here got off to a bad start when we were told that our booking that we had done over the phone didn't exist. Luckily they had rooms and gave us a very good deal due to the mistake. This hotel have the nicest staff that we have ever come across in a hotel, from the front desk staff to the restaurant staff to the staff who delivered to our room. I would recommend it for that reason alone. Our only complaint was the heat in the hotel, even turning off the radiator in our room made no difference. We couldn't leave the window open at night because noise from the road was too loud. Even the restaurant was unbearably warm. But other than that, the hotel was spotlesly clean, spacious and modern. The restaurant was also lovely.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACC10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
1.3 mi away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
2.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
690 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
O'Loughlin's Hotel
O'Loughlin's Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
179 reviews
9.8 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
180 reviews
13.3 mi away
Clanard Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Killeshin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Killeshin Hotel

Property: The Killeshin Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Portlaoise, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Killeshin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Star Killeshin Hotel is a contemporary hotel with roots in the past. We have 87 well appointed bedrooms with a crisp contemporary decor. Superb bar food is served daily from 12.30pm in our Cedar Bar and breakfast is served daily in the Cedar Bistro. Offering full leisure facilities, complimentary secure underground car parking and wifi. The Killeshin Hotel - Where award winning service matters ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Killeshin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeshin Hotel Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing