We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem”

Sheeran's The Village Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Nightlife in Portlaoise
Attraction details
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

My wife and I hosted our international wedding reception dinner here and it was spectacular! Everyone raved. The music, food, and drink was grand. This ain't the Ritz, and I'm damn glad it's not. It is exactly what it needs to be...fantastic!

Don't miss this gem. A lifetime of memories in a single night. Something is always shaking on Shakedown St., just gotta poke around!

Bravo! Five stars!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Blaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

1 - 5 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Nice pub with food service and decoration. Because it's a pub in small village people tend to stare if you're not local. My wife is Spanish and we took her family there and lots of the regulars just stared at us throughout and seemed amused by Spanish being spoken. One man kept harassing my wife and her mother every time they went to the bathroom. That's not the pub's fault though…

Date of experience: August 2016
4  Thank tomnelligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2016

Old family pub restaurant with nice ambiance, good food, good service and atmosphere, and a very ample parking lot! Once you've eaten there, you will return.

Date of experience: September 2015
3  Thank pride0fp0land
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2016

Nestled at the foot of the Sliabh Bloom Mountains, home to the legendary young Fionn MacCumhaill, well worth the visit. Open fires, friendly faces, pints of the black stuff and ceoil and cainte.

Date of experience: August 2015
3  Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2015

Had a wonderful Tuesday evening in Sheeran's, never experienced such a warm welcome before, possibly the best evening of my life and spurred me to write this my first Trip Advisor review. The Landlord is a real gent and the locals are so friendly. Word fail to describe the evening, music and singing around the log fire. Happy memories!!!

Date of experience: July 2015
3  Thank Chloe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sheeran's The Village Inn also viewed

Portlaoise, County Laois
Portlaoise, County Laois
 
Portlaoise, County Laois
 

Been to Sheeran's The Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing