We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Marriott I have ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ashbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2010

It's not often I'm wowed by a hotel anymore but this one was great. It has a free shuttle to and from DUB about a 15-20 min ride. The check in was fast, efficient and friendly. The bar staff stayed open to accommodate my order even though I arrived at the hotel after closing time. I was upgraded to a junior suite, well worth the extra money in my opinion.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fsview11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,472 - 1,478 of 1,581 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2010

We reserved this hotel because it was billed as providing an airport shuttle. However, the shuttle service ended at 11:00 PM, after our plane had landed, and was unavailable until 7:30 AM, which was almost too late for us to make our plane in the morning.

As a result of this dismal gap in the shuttle service, we had to take a cab to this hotel, which cost over 40 euros. This hotel is absolutely nowhere near the airport, and the shuttle service is a joke. Many planes leave early in the morning and arrive late at night. Cutting off guests during these times, when they are exhausted and just want to put their bags down, is absolutely horrible.

The staff was completely unable to correct these issues. Because the hotel is located out in the middle of nowhere, by the time we got there, we no longer had the option of going to another hotel nearer the airport. The hotel staff was pressuring us to check in and give them our credit card, telling us it was the only option, and the only way to get more cash for the next cab ride.

The staff was absolutely unsympathetic to our being victims to a plane that came in late at night. They couldn't have been less helpful, and would not help with the cab ride or offer any kind of help with the shuttle.

We were extremely worried we wouldn't get to our morning plane in time, and the staff assured us we would have plenty of time. We barely got there in time, arriving within 20 minutes of the gate closing, after squeezing in with 2 other families in the morning.

We stayed at this place because it was supposedly an airport hotel. This is not an airport hotel, no matter what anyone says.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjp8q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

Stayed there overnight. Flew into Dublin at 9pm and got the bus. Then left the next morning early and got airport bus again. Was efficient and staff helped with the stay. Thanks!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cmonroe55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

We booked this hotel on the basis of an ad in Dublin Airport, hoping to use their shuttle to get a morning flight home. After returning the rental car, we searched for the shuttle stop,only to find that the bus (a seven-passenger van) was available on request, and that the trip was 20 minutes each way. Also, there is only one van, and we could not book it for the time we wanted in the morning, since it was already booked. Management seemed pretty helpless, except to offer us a trip 45 minutes before we wanted to go. Otherwise a nice hotel, very quiet, probably because it had so few guests.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deSelby1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

Wow what a Fantastic Hotel to stay especially if your are exploring Dublin City and the surrounding area. The Family room was Fantastic. The fitness Gym and Swimming Pool are Fantastic as are all the facilities as you would expect from a Five Star Hotel In fact that is what this Hotel should be even though it was only Four Star.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
Thank tristravensdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Stayed here for 5 nights and had a great experience. The hotel and staff are both wonderful, we would definately stay again. The staff was very friendly and helpful (this was our 1st trip to Ireland, so we had a lot of questions every day, the staff always went out of their way to assist us). We made day trips in to Dublin on the Eireann bus line, you catch the bus on the main road outside the hotel (R135 I believe), it's just a couple minutes walk from the hotel. The bus is a little pricey (6.80 per person round trip to Dublin) but I didn't want to drive in the city, so it was either the bus or a cab. We had a rental car and also made day trips to Bru na Boine and the Wicklow Mountains (both reasonable drives from Ashbourne). There are a couple of gas stations nearby that sell groceries, maps, wine, etc., and you can walk to Ashbourne (about a 20 minute walk) for some shopping and dining. If I had one complaint it would be that they do not offer free shuttle service in to Ashbourne, they only offer the shuttle service to and from the Airport.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rd35nm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

This was just a one night stay but the facilities were excellent. Yes it has a unconventional entrance but on a beautiful day like yesterday and the sun setting it works. The room was fantastic. The double bed ginormous! The pool was excellent and steam room etc. Dinner was great and a brillaint choice at breakfast. Wifi ...free excellent!
So no hidden extras. Staff very chilled and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelfastDeeDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashbourne
1.3 mi away
Ashbourne Court Hotel
Ashbourne Court Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ashbourne
273 reviews
8.0 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
1.3 mi away
Ashbourne House Hotel
Ashbourne House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
19.3 mi away
The Johnstown Estate Hotel
9.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dublin - Blanchardstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pillo Hotel Ashbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pillo Hotel Ashbourne

Address: The Rath, Ashbourne, Ireland (Formerly Ashbourne Marriott Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Ashbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ashbourne
Price Range: £83 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pillo Hotel Ashbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel combines contemporary chic with 4 star luxury, perfectly located between Dublin City centre and Meath the heritage capital of Ireland so you can enjoy the best of both worlds. With 148 bedrooms decorated to the highest standard The Pillo Hotel Ashbourne is the only choice when staying for business or pleasure.The Pillo Hotel Ashbourne is ideal for a family getaway, with interconnecting and spacious family rooms available, a fantastic 16 metre swimming pool, children’s play room on site and with Ireland’s newest attraction Tayto Park just five minutes away the children will be entertained for hours. Other attractions within the area include The National Aquatic Centre, Dublin Zoo and Funtasia.Or if you’re staying for business, enjoy our high speed complimentary internet access or work in the comfort of our business centre. Relax and unwind in our Fitness centre, Jacuzzi, steam room or sauna.The Pillo Hotel Ashbourne is located on the N2 and is only 11 minutes from the M50, which makes the hotel the perfect location for conferences and events partnered with over 9000 square feet of meeting space over 7 meeting rooms and on site exhibition space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pillo Hotel Ashbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ashbourne
Ashbourne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing