We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very restful and exciting holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castle Leslie Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glaslough
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A very restful and exciting holiday!”
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We booked a 5 night stay at Castle Leslie just 2 weeks before the departure date after reading about an offer in a free local newspaper. The package was for 2 adults and 2 children and included horseriding for the children, dinner on one night in the hotel's bar, a beauty treatment from each of the adults and a carriage ride around the estate. We were not disappointed. The village house, part of the Castle Leslie estate, was luxurious - 4 double bedrooms, 2 of which ensuite and a separate bathroom for family use. There was also a large washroom on the ground floor. The decor was contemporary and every room co-ordinated with the next and the furnishing were very comfortable and attractive. There were 2 living rooms and a huge kitchen with seating for up to 8 people around the table. The welcome pack was very generous - chocolates, wine, beer, popcorn, crisps, dips, butter, milk, bread - and there was a great selection of dvds for the kids.

Location was great - the children's play area across the street was well kept and included the usual swings, slides, climbing equipment plus a tennis and basketball court and football nets. It was also within handy staggering distance of the pubs and small grocery shop.

Staff couldn't have been friendlier and more helpful. Even our noisy children weren't a bother to them!

The kids loved the pony club, which included stable management sessions and a hack around the estate. When we came to collect them after their two hour sessions, their little faces were lit up after a thoroughly enjoyable morning.

For only €980, we thought this holiday was worth every single cent and we plan to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,123
    193
    60
    39
    22
See reviews for
242
793
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Oh how we loved this little piece of bygone Ireland, no tv, no noise, just peace and a lovely view from the nursery room where we overlooked the lake. Sir John (Jack) took breakfast in his red dressing gown with guests each morning. I shall be back again, anyone who likes noise and being in the hub can stay at the gatehouse close by. Be warned there is no lift to the top floor but the exercise did me good.

Room Tip: The Red room is where Sir Paul McCartney stayed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1summerholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

My granddaughter and I spent two nights in "The Nursery" at Castle Leslie. The beds were great and the stay was wonderful. I was made to feel very welcome and immediately felt very comfortable there. The staff was very sweet and helpful. The grounds were beautiful. We had a family wedding rehearsal dinner and reception there. It was magnificent.

I will return to Castle Leslie. It is my new favorite destination.

Room Tip: Contact Castle Leslie regarding your requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank histepper1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2011

My husband and I attended a family wedding in the Castle, though we stayed in the Lodge which is just at the entrance to this beautiful Estate. It was our first visit to Ireland and we were totally blown away by the experience. The Castle is a unique venue for a wedding, the setting is amazing, the food was excellent and it was a memorable day.
Our experience in the Lodge was exceptional! The staff are a credit to the Estate and management. We have to mention Dwanye our waiter in the bar where we had a snack at lunchtime. In the Victorian Spa we met Sinead and Edel both ladies were professional, friendly, we left relaxed and refreshed after our treatments. We dined that evening in Snaffles Restaurant, what an experience! from the moment we arrived upstairs we were treated like kings! The staff (Kevin, Mary and Niall) were wonderful, friendly, attentive, professional yet not intrusive. It was obvious they were a well oiled team who enjoyed their work. Breakfast was amazing, we loved the rustic buffet display! Tara our waitress both days was lovely!
We also have to thank Louise on reception, and Agnes.
We loved our visit to the Estate, and the Lodge staff made it extra special, it was the highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cal86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
183 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We stayed in the "Desmond Room" which was a big spacious room & we had a nice view across the field looking towards the lake.The castle is lovely,staff were nice & friendly & there was a good choice on the breakfast menu....the banana bread was beautful.The view out the window from the breakfast room was fab on this suuny morning .We really enjoyed our overnight break in this quirky old castle.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank procus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We visited Castle Leslie again this year and went on two cross country rides with Dermot & co. My daughter is now 13 and we just had the greatest time. Jumping out of the lake was our favorite.

We also though that the food in Snaffle and the Bar was better than ever. The Lodge/Hotel and surrounding, of course, was as stunning as ever! We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I visited Castle Leslie for a family wedding I was attending and I was completely blown away by the place. My husband and I stayed in The Lodge, the room was spotless and beautifully decorated with its own balcony.

We headed up to The Castle for the wedding and it is absolutely stunning, the grounds are amazing.

The food at the wedding was superb, and the next morning at breakfast, the choice was great too, I'm a vegetarian, so normally breakfast choices in hotels are limited for me, but they offer a vegetarian Irish fry, french toast or crepes, delicious.

I honestly cannot recommend Castle Leslie enough, it is exceptional, also just a mention about the staff, they are superb, so helpful and friendly, they can't do enough to help. My experience of Castle Leslie has left my with a huge smile on my face and some very happy memories, I cannot wait to return to, it is outstanding. Also anyone considering having a wedding here, do not hesitate.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J012345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glaslough
5.7 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
5.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
5.9 mi away
Westenra Arms Hotel
Westenra Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Monaghan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Corick House
Corick House
#1 of 1 in Clogher
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#4 of 4 in Monaghan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
9.8 mi away
Armagh City Hotel
Armagh City Hotel
#1 of 1 in Armagh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Leslie Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Leslie Estate

Property: Castle Leslie Estate
Address: Castle Leslie Castle Leslie Glaslough Village | County Monaghan, Glaslough, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Monaghan > Glaslough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glaslough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Castle Leslie Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Leslie Estate, nestled on 1,000 acres of undulating Irish countryside, dotted with ancient woodland and glittering lakes, is one of the last great Irish Castle estates still in the hands of its founding family. Castle Estate is waiting to be discovered. Located in Co. Monaghan, Ireland, the Estate is only 80 minutes from Dublin. The Castle (20 individual guestroom), at the heart of the Estate, offers authentic original interiors and old-style hospitality and is a complete respite from the world. The Lodge (29 guestrooms) is the social hub of the Estate and brings locals and guests together in an atmosphere of conviviality and comfort. The Old Stable Mews and Village Cottages are the perfect spot for families and groups that want the convenience of hotel living combined with private luxury home rental. The Estate offers an idyllic setting for outdoor activity and adventure. It's the perfect place to discover the thrill of exploring the countryside on horseback or foot. You can spend a few hours fishing on one of Ireland's best-preserved lakes. Alternatively, you might prefer to enjoy a massage in the Victorian Treatment Rooms at the end of an activity packed day or relax with a book in one of our many beautiful rooms. Other activities include hot air balloon rides,falconry, kayaking, clay pigeon shooting, boating and picnics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Castle Leslie Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Leslie Estate Hotel Glaslough
Castle Leslie Estate Ireland/Glaslough, County Monaghan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing