We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go riding and kayaking! Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castle Leslie Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glaslough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Our Superior room at the Lodge, Castle Leslie was beautiful; seating, desk, dressing table, a bathroom with a lovely roll bath and a large wet-room type shower. Also a wonderful large balcony with the best view of the stables, as requested. Even we overlooked the stables from a level above, throughout stay all that we were aware of was a warm oaty and pleasant horse/leather smell. The stables were amazingly clean!
Tasty cooked breakfast buffet, though we didn't have time to wait for an order of eggs benedict which took too long. My 2 hr horse ride was magnificent and tailored to my requirements due to a pre-arrival questionnaire.
We booked kayaking on lake that afternoon - Dave was a wonderful instructor (our first time!) Lake to ourselves and felt free when Dave encouraged us to choose our own route. Dave also took excellent photos which he emailed to us straight away. Enjoyed our complimentary hot whiskey in the Castle drawing room afterwards!
We not only shocked ourselves by how much activity we had achieved in one day. Chatting to the passing Housekeeper - she arrived 1 minute later with a new box of Radox (muscle soak!) including a quick relax in the outdoor hot-tub - it worked!!
Our six course meal was delicious! Choice and standard was superb. (And the gin promotion was spot on!)
Breakfast smoked salmon and scrambled eggs made up for missing the Benedict previously.
Staff at the spa were so caring, they make you feel relaxed before you even book! I loved my seaweed bath - my muscles still needed it!
Congratulations to every individual member of staff at Castle Leslie because it was clear that they are the root of the whole experience. Throughout, all of the staff at Castle Leslie were outstanding in their professionalism and friendliness.
We'll be back! Again and again! B&I

Room Tip: We booked a Superior room with balcony overlooking stables. We weren't disappointed. Stables wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedRedWin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

997 - 1,003 of 1,542 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

A genuine country house and estate set in beautiful grounds in the north of County Monaghan. The Castle was booked out so we stayed in The Lodge instead (a converted Victorian building). The Lodge has about 20 very comfortable bedrooms, a spa, an excellent restaurant and a bar. The stables are next door. There are plenty of walks around the 1000 acre estate too, some with stunning views of the lake.

Afternoon Tea in the Castle is a treat.

Room Tip: Staying in The Castle is more expensive but is a more authenttic experience. However The Lodge is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VarFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Just back from a very relaxing stay in the Stable Mews with 3 friends. The accomodation was excellent, everything you could ask for. We were there on a girls getaway, and the amount of goodies that were in the fridge was more than we expected. Plenty beer and wine, and the pizzas were ample.There was also enough breakfast items for 2 mornings. There were a couple of minor hiccups with our spa treatment, but as soon as the manageress was aware of these, she quickly rectified them. The mews is about 15 walk from the lodge, and we were able to make use of the estate car for travelling up and down, which was great.The evening meal on the Sat night in the main restaurant was superb.
Castle Leslie is such a lovely location,and very peaceful.

Room Tip: The stable mews are excellent accomodation for a group of 4, have 3 bathrooms, so no queuing for sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsgregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We spent 2 nights here for a weekend wedding and it was enchanting!! The grounds were perfectly groomed and so extensive one could get lost without crossing the property line!
Our room was spotless and spacious and the staff were friendly and helpful.
I actually enjoyed not really having a good internet connection as it let us disconnect just a bit more. It was a perfect getaway.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Just returned from a two night Getaway On Horseback Break, staying at the Lodge at Castle Leslie.

Our room was well appointed, spacious, spotlessly clean, with large very comfortable bed. Ensuite bathroom, with luxurious bath and large separate shower. Room had a balcony overlooking the stable yard.

First night we ate in Conor's Bar, the food was excellent, good choice and great value. Staff were friendly and efficient. Second night we dined in Snaffles Restaurant, this five course meal was included in the price of our break, and was excellent.

The highlight of our break was a two hour beginners hack around the 1000 acre estate. As a couple of novices, we were slightly apprehensive. The equestrian staff were friendly, professional and soon made us feel at ease and soon on board our horses Murray and Fernando. All the staff were helpful, patient and friendly, especially Mary Ann our instructor and we would thoroughly recommend this to horse lovers of all abilities, the facilities are excellent.

As there was no function booked at the Castle, we were able to explore the public areas. All very impressive and staff welcoming. As it was Halloween the rooms were decorated accordingly and this was very atmospheric, from the lit church candles in the bar area and the carved pumpkins etc. library, reading room also impressive, yet cosy for sitting and relaxing.

Would thoroughly recommend for a luxurious relaxing break, for horse lovers, for fabulous food, or just for pampering in the Victorian Treatment Rooms, there is something for everyone.

Room Tip: Room with balcony overlooking the stables, for horse lovers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I am a little late to the review game here when it comes to our ireland trip, but this castle was amazing! We stayed in the Asian Suite which they have sense updated ( I might follow them on facebook) They knew we were going to be engaged and they went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. They told us sites to see and just let us do our own relaxed thing. The grounds and the village surrounding it are beautiful. We booked a year in advance and because of that and the special occasion our room got bumped up to a suite in the main house. There are no televisions just total and utter relaxation. The breakfast the next day was above and beyond. Everything was so yummy and fresh made. I intend to come back again and just relax and recoup.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure recently of spending three days at Castle Leslie. We had a room at the castle (they serve great breakfasts!!), which was very comfortable and included a nicely appointed/modern bathroom with a claw foot bathtub which came in very handy after riding. Which brings me to the main reason for this entry.....the equestrian facility.
As a bit of background, we are a middle aged couple. My wife is a very accomplished rider so no troubles there, me........not so much, to say the least ! To be totally truthful, my riding "career" was comprised of one hour on horseback over 30 years ago and 3 indoor lessons during the 2 weeks just before our Ireland trip. So I was a little apprehensive about our 3 day "Happy Hacker" package of horse riding along trails throughout the property. I had little to worry about as it turned out. Upon arrival they size you up by having you complete a questionnaire and watch you ride to evaluate your ability. They pair you with an appropriate horse and off to their excellent indoor arena for an initial lesson with Jen who is a superb instructor. She very easily tutored a number of riders of various abilities in the same session providing helpful instruction to each of us. All the while in a fun manner which made learning that much easier. During the afternoons we went riding on the trails of the estate.

Jen is also the equestrian centre's operations manager who oversees a smooth running operation and the friendly staff who care for the horses. They were never idle and always had a smile for us as they went about their jobs. Each day our healthy and well conditioned horses were saddled and waiting as we arrived for our outings. The trails were well groomed, through wooded areas, open fields and take you past three lakes.

We will stay at the lodge on our next visit, nothing negative to say about the castle, it's just that the lodge overlooks the stable area making it very convenient. You literally walk out the back door and you are in the stable courtyard. Food wise, O'Connor's bar located in the lodge was very good and all of the staff were excellent.

As a final note on the equestrian centre staff, they are all truly beautiful people and this made for a very enjoyable environment for a riding vacation. We will return on another trip as a direct result of all their efforts.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glaslough
5.7 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
5.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
5.9 mi away
Westenra Arms Hotel
Westenra Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Monaghan
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Armagh City Hotel
Armagh City Hotel
#1 of 2 in Armagh
623 reviews
11.8 mi away
Charlemont House
Charlemont House
#2 of 6 in Dungannon
32 reviews
15.0 mi away
The Glencarn Hotel
The Glencarn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castleblayney
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Leslie Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Leslie Estate

Address: Castle Leslie Castle Leslie Castle Leslie Glaslough Village | County Monaghan, Glaslough H18 RX05, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Monaghan > Glaslough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glaslough
Price Range: £134 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Castle Leslie Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Leslie Estate, nestled on 1,000 acres of undulating Irish countryside, dotted with ancient woodland and glittering lakes, is one of the last great Irish Castle estates still in the hands of its founding family. Castle Estate is waiting to be discovered. Located in Co. Monaghan, Ireland, the Estate is only 80 minutes from Dublin and 60 minutes from Belfast. The Castle (20 individual guestroom), at the heart of the Estate, offers authentic original interiors and old-style hospitality and is a complete respite from the world. The Lodge (29 guestrooms) is the social hub of the Estate and brings locals and guests together in an atmosphere of conviviality and comfort. The two bedroom Old Stable Mews and four and five bedroom Village Cottages are the perfect spot for families and groups that want the convenience of hotel living combined with private luxury home rental. Whether your idea of a holiday is a romantic retreat, a relaxing break or an action-packed adventure, there is something for everyone at Castle Leslie Estate. A host of activities are on offer including pike fishing for the nature enthusiast, a private cinema for movie buffs, exceptional walking trails for those who want to breathe in fresh country air, kayaking and clay pigeon shooting for the more adventurous, hot air balloon rides for those looking for exhilaration, falconry for those to experience nature up close, a fabulous spa for rejuvenation and of course the famous world-class equestrian centre which offers memorable horse riding holiday experiences for riding enthusiasts of all levels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castle Leslie Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Leslie Estate Hotel Glaslough
Castle Leslie Estate Ireland/Glaslough, County Monaghan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing