We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chaos at Castle Leslie”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castle Leslie Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glaslough
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chaos at Castle Leslie”
Reviewed 18 August 2008

As part of a large family on holiday, I arrived at Castle Leslie with high expectations. We were impressed with the amenities and activities listed on the website and it seemed like a great place for groups.

Upon checking in, the accommodations were comfortable, rooms were large enough and clean.

Unfortunately, that's where the positives end. The staff seemed overwhelmed at all times They were incapable of offering details or guidance on the activities listed in the Castle website/brochure and service in general was far from prompt or courteous. Everything was extremely disorganized, and several times we were given conflicting information by different staff members. The checkout process was a nightmare.

The pub/restaurant in the hunting lodge was also disappointing. The food was fine, but we went nearly an hour after ordering to receive it. Service was rude; almost as if our presence was a huge inconvenience.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — Awful service
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bstntravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,160
    199
    62
    40
    23
See reviews for
253
816
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2008

Castle Leslie does not live up to its image. My boyfriend and I have just returned from a stay at the Hunting Lodge in Castle Leslie and was not quite the experience I was expecting. The service here from start to finish is appaling, it is particularly bad in the restaurant. We had to ask for everything several times. The food is not great either.

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — Service and Food
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmpurcell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DublinDeeG, Marketing Operations Executive at Castle Leslie Estate, responded to this review, 14 August 2008
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate people taking the time to leave honest feedback about their stay.We them as opportunities to take a look at the service we provide and allow us to ensure that no one else has the same experience. Thank-you for bringing this to our attention - we will look into the issues which you have raised.

I hope you accept our apology and hope you will revisit the Estate in the future

Kind Regards
Joanne Reel
Marketing Operations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2008

my boyfriend and i decided to book a nights stay here as a last minute decision on July 13th. On arrival we were taken up to our room in the hunting lodge whgich was not yet ready (approx 4pm). we were then basically abandoned and were not advised as to what time our room would be ready or indeed if anyone would let us know. Therefore we had to keep going upstairs ourselves to check on progress and eventually at about 5pm they had started cleaning it we just left our bags in and went for a drive.

we were booked in for dinner and although neither of us liked the sound of the menu we gave it a go anyway. Ordered the prawns for starter and it came with an extra helping of dead wasp in the middle of it- lovely!! Sent it back and told the girl i didnt want another but she brought me one out anyway which i refused. this completely put me off my main course so ended up eating mash. not once did the restaurant manager come over to apologise or to check if everything was ok.

i didnt go for breakfast the next morning as was still put off by my experience the night before. My boyfriend complained as we were checking out and they took my main course of the bill but i didnt feel this was enough for what was a stressful and expensive night

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank loulou7766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DublinDeeG, Marketing Operations Executive at Castle Leslie Estate, responded to this review, 14 August 2008
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on Trip advisor. We appreciate people taking the time to leave honest feedback as we strive to deliver high levels of customer satisfaction at all times.

I would like to apologise about your experience and would stress that this is not a good representation of how we normally operate. With regards to the wasp, this was a very unfortunate and an isolated incident which we would like to apologise again for.

Kind Regards
Joanne Reel
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2008

We sent more food back to the kitchen than we ate it seemed. The first night at dinner we sent back three orders of prawns that arrived to the table raw; these orders were served a long time after the rest of the group had received their food. We were told that the restaurant "stole" the prawns and that new orders had to be prepared. Received an apology with wine. Next day at lunch sent back a scone that was burnt on the top and hard in the middle (assume this was from microwaving). Two orders of soup went back because they had a burnt smell and taste. My facial at the spa was underwhelming, and overall it was not a relaxing experience; very little personal attention and no-one made an effort to make the place feel like a calm oasis which is what I expect when going to these places.

A big disappointment, won't ever go to Castle Leslie again.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Food, busy atmosphere and service.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 021810a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DublinDeeG, Marketing Executive at Castle Leslie Estate, responded to this review, 29 July 2008
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on Trip advisor. Honest feedback is much appreciated as we constantly strive to maintain and improve our standards.

We are sorry to hear about your poor experience with regards to the food in The Hunting Lodge. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we will be looking into the shortcomings that you have raised.

I once again hope you accept our apology and hope that you will revisit the Estate in the future

Kind Regards
Joanne Reel
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2008

I had booked castle leslie for my birthday and at 400 euro per peron per night I had high expectations. It was terrible the food was awful the castle leslie estate venison was as tough as old boots and the wine like vinegar. we had arrived for dinner at 7 and it wasnt seved until 9.30! When we complained I was told no one else had a problem! there were only 2 other people staying in the castle and I had heard them complaining about the wine. I have since found out that the head chef had left taking most of the kitchen staff with him. I was offered a free night but have declined the offer never again!!!

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margaret305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DublinDeeG, Marketing Executive at Castle Leslie Estate, responded to this review, 29 July 2008
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We always appreciate feedback as we strive to deliver high levels of customer satisfaction at all times.

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal in The Castle, and as explained at the time of our correspondence, all other guests thoroughly enjoyed the Venison. We also now do have a much wider selection of wines in The Castle, which we hope will suit all tastes.

Thank you and we hope that you may reconsider returning to The Castle on another occasion.

Kind Regards
Joanne Reel
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2008

I stayed in Castle Leslie in May 2008 and we stayed in Shanes Room. It is the most amazing experience i have ever had. It is as if you stepped back in time...the staff were lovely and very accommodating and nothing was too much trouble. We had dinner with Sir John Leslie and he told us stories from when he was a POW in the second World War. A visit to this Castle is one of those things you have to experience at least once in your life. I fell in love with it.

  • Liked — Its luxury
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PurdyAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2008

We stayed in the hunting lodge last weekend. The room was very nice, with large bathroom and separate shower.

The horse riding was very enjoyable, as was our experience of the spa and the whole stabling setup is very good but where this place falls down is the food and noisy atmosphere - it most certainly is not a relaxing or 'away from it all' experience.

Our room overlooked the courtyard and for both nights of our stay at least one of the many hen parties staying there kept us awake with their rowdiness, and we didn't exactly go to bed early. The food was hit and miss - dinner was not bad, although again the brasserie was very noisy on the Saturday night (hen parties enjoying themselves), but breakfast poor (food under/overcooked, no orange juice, staff poor).

We've had much worse weekends away but overall the feeling was that Castle Leslie could be so much better with a bit more effort and direction and certainly doesn't do what it says on the tin.

  • Liked — Equestiran facilities
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Galeota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DublinDeeG, Marketing Executive at Castle Leslie Estate, responded to this review, 9 July 2008
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on Trip advisor. We really appreciate people taking the time to give honest feedback as we constantly strive to maintain and improve our standards.

I would like to apologise that the presence of hen nights disrupted your stay. We are currently reviewing our policy on hen nights in a bid to reduce and if possible eliminate the number we receive.

We take great pride in maintaining a reputation for excellence, and were sorry to hear that your experience was affected. Please be assured that we will do everything in our power to ensure this does not happen again.

I once again hope you accept our apology and hope that you will revisit the Estate in the future

Kind Regards
Joanne Reel
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glaslough
5.7 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
5.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
9.8 mi away
Armagh City Hotel
Armagh City Hotel
#1 of 1 in Armagh
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Westenra Arms Hotel
Westenra Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Monaghan
223 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#4 of 4 in Monaghan
72 reviews
11.8 mi away
Charlemont House
Charlemont House
#2 of 6 in Dungannon
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Leslie Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Leslie Estate

Property: Castle Leslie Estate
Address: Castle Leslie Castle Leslie Glaslough Village | County Monaghan, Glaslough, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Monaghan > Glaslough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glaslough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Castle Leslie Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Leslie Estate, nestled on 1,000 acres of undulating Irish countryside, dotted with ancient woodland and glittering lakes, is one of the last great Irish Castle estates still in the hands of its founding family. Castle Estate is waiting to be discovered. Located in Co. Monaghan, Ireland, the Estate is only 80 minutes from Dublin and 60 minutes from Belfast. The Castle (20 individual guestroom), at the heart of the Estate, offers authentic original interiors and old-style hospitality and is a complete respite from the world. The Lodge (29 guestrooms) is the social hub of the Estate and brings locals and guests together in an atmosphere of conviviality and comfort. The two bedroom Old Stable Mews and four and five bedroom Village Cottages are the perfect spot for families and groups that want the convenience of hotel living combined with private luxury home rental. Whether your idea of a holiday is a romantic retreat, a relaxing break or an action-packed adventure, there is something for everyone at Castle Leslie Estate. A host of activities are on offer including pike fishing for the nature enthusiast, a private cinema for movie buffs, exceptional walking trails for those who want to breathe in fresh country air, kayaking and clay pigeon shooting for the more adventurous, hot air balloon rides for those looking for exhilaration, falconry for those to experience nature up close, a fabulous spa for rejuvenation and of course the famous world-class equestrian centre which offers memorable horse riding holiday experiences for riding enthusiasts of all levels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Castle Leslie Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Leslie Estate Hotel Glaslough
Castle Leslie Estate Ireland/Glaslough, County Monaghan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing