We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castle Leslie Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glaslough
Certificate of Excellence
County Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Relaxation”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My girlfriend and I recently stayed in the castle on the 27th of March. On arrival the first impression of the castle is WOW! When we entered the castle we were greated by the lady at the front desk. She was very kind and made us feel very welcome. We stayed in Shane's room. She walked us to the room and asked if everything was ok in the room temperature, lighting etc. the room was amazing with a beautiful bath in the room as well. We had a cool view of the lake also. We went for a walk around the grounds and we were provided with wellies. We seen lots of deer and got lost , but was all fun. We had dinner in Connors bar and was very reasonable. We also went horse riding the following morning. Overall was a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gav8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,123
    193
    60
    39
    22
See reviews for
242
793
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Myself and himself stayed one night on a cold February night but the welcome, ambience and the rooms were extremely warm. It's like walking into a portal of relaxation & calm. Our castle room was wonderfully presented & breakfast was a treat. We had massages in the spa which left us in great form for our seven course meal! Couldn't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Upkil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Fabulous three night stay at the Lodge from 4th to 7th March. Not much to do except take a walk through the grounds and follow the mapped walk. This was very muddy in places so a good pair of boots or wellies are a must. The bedroom in the Lodge was extremely comfortable and very quiet yet the Lodge was quite busy. Breakfast is served to 11am so very relaxed and not rushed. If you go for the full Irish forget about eating again till the evening. Really good freshly cooked food served by very helpful, well informed and pleasant waitresses. The six course dinner in Snaffles Restaurant is again the finest freshly cooked fare available and is well worth having on one evening.The highlight of the evening was when Sir John Leslie played the piano after his evening meal. Just fantastic! Conor's bar serves good food in a more informal setting and is a nice place to sit and enjoy a pre or after dinner drink served by Karl who has a great personality. The Castle is well worth a visit to look through the rooms available and read some of the history of the Castle and estate. All the staff are friendly and helpful and seem to enjoy their work. A really relaxing and very enjoyable break.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed here for a second time in March 2014. All rooms in the castle are individual and have their own unique design and history, something the staff are only too happy to give you the detail on upon arrival.
The castle itself contains a long bar and reading room ideal for having a drink and unwinding after a long day on some of the castles activities such as boating, fishing, clay pigeon shooting or just enjoying some of the walks around the grounds.
The stables further up near the entrance to the estate is also home to a beautifully designed and authenic old fashioned Irish pub where you can enjoy a good quality Guinness whilst relaxing in front of one of the open fires.
Snaffles restaurant upstairs was pretty busy on the night we were there (an a little warm) with both house guests and non guests alike,
We had the six course meal and enjoyed a menu all locally sourced from around surrounding counties. Nothing was too much trouble for the very helpful and friendly staff who were excellent throughout andvery attentive.
Top class relaxation and perfect for a weekend of spoiling yourselves.

Room Tip: Try the Blue Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

My husband have just had our second visit to the lodge at castle Leslie. We had a wonderful time found all the staff welcoming and thought the service was great. We had a lovely room schnitzel in the older part of the lodge which was large roomy and very comfortable. We enjoyed a good dinner in conor s bar first night and had dinner in snaffles the second night when we had six course tasting menu it. Was delicious. Breakfasts were good and we were impressed with all the lovely local produce used. We had a great walk around the groubgs walking boots were useful. It is a very relaxing spot would highly recommend for a visit.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmcDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I love this place, when I can afford to live it up I will be here. The setting is as good as you are going to get, a beautiful estate with its own parish church, gorgeous gardens and stately home steeped in history.This is not a particularly cheap place to eat or stay, but if it was you would never get a room, it is that good. Food in the restaurant spoiled us for anywhere else, we are still talking about it and have got a voucher to go again soon. Service is great throughout, the staff will engage you and soon you are on first name terms. In the bar area the food is very affordable and you still avail of the beautiful surroundings. Outside on a sunny day you can eat and sit with a cool beer in the beautiful garden area. If you own a hotel or restaurant in my mind..this is how you do it.
On our visit we got to see 'Jack' the estate owner now at a very ripe old age quite stately himself and extremely affable. He signed his book for us and we had a great souvenir to take away from our visit.

Room Tip: Any room with the name of a horse on it…I had prince..it was beautiful!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Food good , dinner good but expensive, the chicken I had seemed very salty, my husband had steak and it was good . Overall we felt dinner was very expensive @e65pp. Although all the staff were very helpful. Nice place to visit

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glaslough
5.7 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
5.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
5.9 mi away
Westenra Arms Hotel
Westenra Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Monaghan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Corick House
Corick House
#1 of 1 in Clogher
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#4 of 4 in Monaghan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
9.8 mi away
Armagh City Hotel
Armagh City Hotel
#1 of 1 in Armagh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Leslie Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Leslie Estate

Property: Castle Leslie Estate
Address: Castle Leslie Castle Leslie Glaslough Village | County Monaghan, Glaslough, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Monaghan > Glaslough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glaslough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Castle Leslie Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Leslie Estate, nestled on 1,000 acres of undulating Irish countryside, dotted with ancient woodland and glittering lakes, is one of the last great Irish Castle estates still in the hands of its founding family. Castle Estate is waiting to be discovered. Located in Co. Monaghan, Ireland, the Estate is only 80 minutes from Dublin. The Castle (20 individual guestroom), at the heart of the Estate, offers authentic original interiors and old-style hospitality and is a complete respite from the world. The Lodge (29 guestrooms) is the social hub of the Estate and brings locals and guests together in an atmosphere of conviviality and comfort. The Old Stable Mews and Village Cottages are the perfect spot for families and groups that want the convenience of hotel living combined with private luxury home rental. The Estate offers an idyllic setting for outdoor activity and adventure. It's the perfect place to discover the thrill of exploring the countryside on horseback or foot. You can spend a few hours fishing on one of Ireland's best-preserved lakes. Alternatively, you might prefer to enjoy a massage in the Victorian Treatment Rooms at the end of an activity packed day or relax with a book in one of our many beautiful rooms. Other activities include hot air balloon rides,falconry, kayaking, clay pigeon shooting, boating and picnics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Castle Leslie Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Leslie Estate Hotel Glaslough
Castle Leslie Estate Ireland/Glaslough, County Monaghan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing