We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mid-week break in a rural paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castle Leslie Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glaslough
Certificate of Excellence
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mid-week break in a rural paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our mid-week break in Castle Leslie .We were blessed with excellent weather which encouraged us to explore the walks on the estate after an excellent breakfast. The staff in the Lodge were very friendly both in reception and in the bar. Over-all we had an excellent break in this rural paradise and hope to re-visit in the Autumn.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lagangreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,100
    191
    60
    38
    22
See reviews for
239
779
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

The Estate lies in acres of rural land next to the small town of Glaslough, It's well off the beaten track and even the Sat Nav struggled. (more likely due to operator error) We stayed in the Red Room in the castle. You really felt you were stepping back in time. The bathroom has the biggest bath I have ever seen and one of the quirkiest toilets you can imagine and has had plenty of famous butts making use of it.
We brought our dog with us. He stayed stayed for free and lodged in the stable. This would be adequate for a large dog in the warmer weather. There are several walks through the grounds and you are close to Rossmore Country Park with a lot of dog friendly walks.
We had a wonderful meal at Snaffles the first night and eat in the bar the second night. The restaurant is Michelin and is exceptional.
The staff are simply wonderful. There was a real friendly atmosphere to the place and nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: If the wallet allows take the castle rooms and see if you get the Red Room. Check out the special d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Down
Level Contributor
285 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed one night in master bed room The Maeve suite. We had very high expectations as it is a favorite of our daughter and a work colleague - both with similar taste to us. Room was very nice but bed dreadful mattress too soft and lumpy and didn't sleep at all. Throne toilet very novel but smelt of urine all through the night. We had a meal in Lodge restaurant. On arrival were looked after by very friendly girl dressed in what looked liked a tartan school uniform. There were two others dressed more formally in black. We had no greeting from them. We were sat at a round table for two which was too big so we moved to a smaller table beside it. We were the only guests in the restaurant. Suddenly the two in black swooped in and striped the table and with much huffing and puffing reset it. We had not touched anything! Still nothing said to us. The girl in tartan was very pleasant taking our order. The food was OK and indeed when passing though the downstairs bar which was very busy the food looked better. There was no shower in our room only a bath which was fine. There was a jug for washing your hair but it was badly rusted! We had asked for tea tray in the room and were made to feel that this was an inconvenience for them. There was also no breakfast room service. We did ask twice but it was made clear we would have to go down to the restaurant. My wife prefers breakfast in the room. Breakfast was perhaps the highlight of the stay. We sat at a window table and both food and service were excellent. Overall an OK stay but some important details let what could be an excellent hotel down.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthernerCoDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We have just come back from two nights here on a Groupon deal and stayed in the Lodge. From the moment we arrived we were made so welcome by all of the staff, they are the friendliest and most helpful people we have ever met. There is certainly no snobbish attitude at Castle Leslie, even our fellow guests were all so lovely. The food at Conor's Bar is great and the prices are very reasonable for a hotel of this quality.
We were lucky enough to meet Sir Jack and overheard an interview he was giving about his life over dinner in Conor's, what a treat that was. He is such an interesting gentleman and very approachable. There is an exhibition on at the Monaghan museum about the Leslie family that we thoroughly enjoyed, it was very informative and entertaining, well worth seeing indeed if you are interested in the family's history.
Can't wait to return, we just loved everything about it!

Room Tip: We stayed in "Barrister" overlooking the stables.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ballyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
273 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

This place ranks with other high end bespoke hotels like Gleneagles. Each room is unique, I had one called Tiffany in the stables, it can only be described as delightful. Roll top bath and a huge shower, lovely bed. The food here is high end and we had an all inclusive offer B&B with a 5 course evening meal, this was excellent. Not overpriced for the quality and surroundings, visit the pub in the village nearby called the coach house, that is a trip down memory lane. The Castle Leslie Estate though really is one to try if your in this area.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Reeferman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed in the Mauve Room in the castle which is one of the master rooms with stunning views and we loved it. The castle is so relaxing, there are no televisions or a busy reception or bar. It is honestly like being in an episode of Downton Abbey!! If you do like mod cons you might be better staying in the Lodge because the Castle is very traditional. We had lunch in Connors bar and dinner in Snaffles and both meals were lovely. I am saving up for my return visit.

Room Tip: The master rooms in the Castle are worth the extra money, they are gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Looby36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Most Awesome Castle (manor) of our whole trip!! Not the biggest or grandest, but a beautiful and the most inviting, warmest and unpretentious castle we've visited. If we'd been here first, others would have ranked a notch lower.

Breakfast was the best ever, EVER!!! My eggs Benedict were better than all the previous (including a 5 star restaurant). I ate all of the black pudding too, the best yet!!

Totally fabulous to end our trip on such a high note as this. Castle Leslie came highly recommended from good friends and in an unpretentious way, I fully agree, best stop of our trip.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EAJ2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glaslough
5.7 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
5.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
5.9 mi away
Westenra Arms Hotel
Westenra Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Monaghan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Corick House
Corick House
#1 of 1 in Clogher
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#4 of 4 in Monaghan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
9.8 mi away
Armagh City Hotel
Armagh City Hotel
#1 of 1 in Armagh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Leslie Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Leslie Estate

Property: Castle Leslie Estate
Address: Castle Leslie Castle Leslie Glaslough Village | County Monaghan, Glaslough, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Monaghan > Glaslough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glaslough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Leslie Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Leslie Estate, nestled on 1,000 acres of undulating Irish countryside, dotted with ancient woodland and glittering lakes, is one of the last great Irish Castle estates still in the hands of its founding family. Castle Estate is waiting to be discovered. Located in Co. Monaghan, Ireland, the Estate is only 80 minutes from Dublin. The Castle (20 individual guestroom), at the heart of the Estate, offers authentic original interiors and old-style hospitality and is a complete respite from the world. The Lodge (29 guestrooms) is the social hub of the Estate and brings locals and guests together in an atmosphere of conviviality and comfort. The Old Stable Mews and Village Cottages are the perfect spot for families and groups that want the convenience of hotel living combined with private luxury home rental. The Estate offers an idyllic setting for outdoor activity and adventure. It's the perfect place to discover the thrill of exploring the countryside on horseback or foot. You can spend a few hours fishing on one of Ireland's best-preserved lakes. Alternatively, you might prefer to enjoy a massage in the Victorian Treatment Rooms at the end of an activity packed day or relax with a book in one of our many beautiful rooms. Other activities include hot air balloon rides,falconry, kayaking, clay pigeon shooting, boating and picnics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Leslie Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Leslie Estate Hotel Glaslough
Castle Leslie Estate Ireland/Glaslough, County Monaghan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing