We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castle Leslie Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glaslough
Certificate of Excellence
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed here for a week in one of the elf catering lodges on the estate. Lodges are immaculate with plenty of space. Ideal for a relaxing holiday or if like me travelling on business somewhere to chill at night, with fantastic restaurant and bar on site if needed. Will stay again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,124
    193
    60
    39
    22
See reviews for
243
793
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crossgar
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The village of Glaslough on the drive to the castle was the perfect start to our stay at Castle Leslie. The village is beautiful in bloom with hanging baskets and window boxes definitely worth a visit.
On arrival at reception we were warmly welcomed and taken to our room in the lodge 'Fantast'. The room was beautiful and had both a bath and a shower. A bottle of champagne was brought to our room and chocolates accompanied it.
We went for a walk in the magnificent grounds and had a walk round the castle.
I had a table booked for 7.00pm in Snaffles restaurant and the food was amazing and the service the highest standard I've ever experienced in a restaurant.
Breakfast was not a disappointment with anything you wanted cooked to order.
I had a spa experience which I was extremely impressed with.
Really didn't want to leave and after checkout went for a walk and had coffee before departure.
Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatherineAnnCrossgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Recently stayed in the Lodges of this magnificent estate. The sole purpose of the break was for my family to enjoy the recommended equestrian centre and tracks. The whole experience was beyond words. The staff did everything to enhance our stay and yes I will be back. My daughters have named the place Equestrian Heaven.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dermot H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

If you can't relax in Castle Leslie then you have a problem. That's what I said to someone last year about the hotel and back we returned this year. If you want stately and serene, de-stressing and to let go, there's no where better. You have to go with the flow and just take it easy. The receptionists were so kind and helpful. The rooms are each decorated beautifully, like a stately lived-in house, not like a hotel with many relaxing rooms,sitting rooms, a library, a conservatory to relax in. My favourite place is the little tables to the left and right of the door leading into the garden, to sit out there on a warm afternoon - heaven!! The waiter is floating around discretely and will come to take your order or some one will get him for you.
The bedrooms are all different and we stayed in the Strong Room, before we statues in the Mauve Room. Each room has it's own history and they are all individually decorated.
We ate both in the restaurant and in the bar - and the food is superb. The fish platter in the bar into die for, you can have either a starter or a main course. The restaurant staff were ever so professional and helpful.

The recent programme on TV called "Irish Castles" gave a fascinating history on the castle.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed in the stable mews under a five day family break. Firstly I have to say the package was fantastic value. There is a huge variety of things to do on the estate both for those who love horses and anyone who just enjoys being outdoors. We played tennis, rode horses, did kayaking and also falconry. Myself and my husband had spa treatments which were excellent. We ate bth in snaffles and Conor's bar and the food (and local brew) were excellent. There are loads of places to walk and because we stayed in the stable mews we were able to bring our dogs which was great. There is a really well equipped games room so if it's raining there is still entertainment for the kids. Only negatives was the main bed which is a little short for very tall people (my husband is 6 4") and the wifi is a little intermittent away from the main hotel. Staff are lovely and equestrian centre and horses are superb. The outdoor hacks are exhilarating both for the experienced riders and people like me who are only riding a year.

There is lots of other things to do close by and we really enjoyed the busy bee ceramics and the Armagh observatory (part of the package).

All in all a thoroughly excellent holiday.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Highly recommended....amazing property that will exceed all expectations.
Gorgeous manicured grounds, pristine presentation everywhere.
The original estate buildings are in superb condition and the decor fastidiously maintained.
All food excellent.
Staff very well trained to the highest standard.
Nothing will disappoint.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I have never written a review before but I felt I needed to, hope it helps you before you book and be disappointed.

Booked a groupon deal for 12th of August 2014. Decided to book the day before to extend the trip as it was my partners birthday. The groupon deal was £125 and this included breakfast , bubbly and chocolates in the roomand €50 estate credit. The night before was the castle experience (€280) to include breakfast and dinner staying in the castle.

We arrived at the castle just before 3, as check-in was at 3 o'clock. One lady worked on reception and was tied up with another customer. We sat for 15 min and then we were dealt with. The key for our room was missing but the lady at reception booked us in and showed us to the Sir John room on the lower floor. We were met by the smell of a fusty room, no shower , no TV, no coffee in room, no milk in room and faux pained walls and ceilings. In fairness the room was big enough but severely lacking in any comforts or luxury.

We had dinner include in the overnight package . The dinner was in the lodge , which is a 5 minute walk away which is ok if it's not raining. Apparently you can get a lift but as no one was at reception as we left the hotel we were left to fend for ourself. The castle is grimy , and old. We asked for a drink - a waiter arrived after ten minutes got our drink and left it on the wobbly table with no beer mats. We never saw him again so didn't know how to pay. The hotel is very quiet so we were afraid to talk!!! Dinner in snaffles restaurant was lovely, really nice. We walked back to the Castle and were the only ones in the main public areas , which were dark and uninviting so we
went to our room where we looked at downloaded programmes on our ipad.

Breakfast the next morning was in the hotel which was ok.
We then checked out of the hotel and attempted to book into the lodge. We had to sit about for three hours waiting for our room.
Customer service in both the lodge and Castle are terrible . If you like sitting around for 30 minutes waiting for tea, food or drinks this is the place for you. It was nice to have a shower in the lodge, the rooms are big and very nicely decorated. No coffee or milk in the room, but a lady did arrived at 7pm and refilled the coffee and UhT milk. No mini bars in either the castle or lodge .
Dinner in the lodge bar was fine, ok. Service was terrible except for one guy who tried his best. Will never come back. Never. The spa was ok but seriously overpriced. The out door tub is fine if you like fishing flies out before you have a dip.

Honestly don't waste your money go somewhere nice where you don't wait a life time for a drink and don't feel a burden to the staff.
Oh...as I said it was my partners birthday so I asked the waitress in snaffles restaurant to put a sparkler or similar in his dessert - didn't happen.
I'm leaving tomorrow and if I hadn't prepaid on a groupon deal I would have left and demanded my money back.

We had afternoon tea in the Castle for €25 pp. service here was good - food was awful. Salmon and mayonnaise sandwiches, cucumber and mayonnaise sandwiches were slimy. Just awful and not worth the money. We drove down to the local shop and bought king crisps, slimline milk and coffee to take back to our room.
Disappointed from start to finish. Don't waste your money or time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glaslough
5.7 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
5.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
5.9 mi away
Westenra Arms Hotel
Westenra Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Monaghan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Corick House
Corick House
#1 of 1 in Clogher
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#4 of 4 in Monaghan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
9.8 mi away
Armagh City Hotel
Armagh City Hotel
#1 of 1 in Armagh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Leslie Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Leslie Estate

Property: Castle Leslie Estate
Address: Castle Leslie Castle Leslie Glaslough Village | County Monaghan, Glaslough, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Monaghan > Glaslough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glaslough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Castle Leslie Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Leslie Estate, nestled on 1,000 acres of undulating Irish countryside, dotted with ancient woodland and glittering lakes, is one of the last great Irish Castle estates still in the hands of its founding family. Castle Estate is waiting to be discovered. Located in Co. Monaghan, Ireland, the Estate is only 80 minutes from Dublin. The Castle (20 individual guestroom), at the heart of the Estate, offers authentic original interiors and old-style hospitality and is a complete respite from the world. The Lodge (29 guestrooms) is the social hub of the Estate and brings locals and guests together in an atmosphere of conviviality and comfort. The Old Stable Mews and Village Cottages are the perfect spot for families and groups that want the convenience of hotel living combined with private luxury home rental. The Estate offers an idyllic setting for outdoor activity and adventure. It's the perfect place to discover the thrill of exploring the countryside on horseback or foot. You can spend a few hours fishing on one of Ireland's best-preserved lakes. Alternatively, you might prefer to enjoy a massage in the Victorian Treatment Rooms at the end of an activity packed day or relax with a book in one of our many beautiful rooms. Other activities include hot air balloon rides,falconry, kayaking, clay pigeon shooting, boating and picnics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Castle Leslie Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Leslie Estate Hotel Glaslough
Castle Leslie Estate Ireland/Glaslough, County Monaghan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing