We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle Leslie Estate
Nearby Hotels
US$134
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westenra Arms Hotel(Monaghan)(Great Value!)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$143
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Charlemont House(Dungannon)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Glencarn Hotel(Castleblayney)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ashleigh House(Monaghan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grange Lodge(Dungannon)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,605)
Filter reviews
1,605 results
Traveller rating
1,260
209
66
44
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,260
209
66
44
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorse ridingcastle lesliesnaffles restaurantafternoon teahunting lodgeequestrian centrecross countryroll top bathtreatment roomsstable mewssuperior roomold worldself cateringconnors barcourse mealgrounds are beautifulbirthday treat
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,527 - 1,532 of 1,605 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2009

We are a family of four and we recently booked a last minute 3 night stay, in the self catering property in the Castle Leslie estate called the Old Stable Mews.

The accommodation is approx a 3 minute drive from the main castle and is situated in a quiet part of the estate. I have to say, we were all delighted with the accommodation and it certainly justifies its 4 star rating. We had a lovely open plan sitting room/dining/kitchen area with two sets of patio doors out into a garden area. The kitchen was very well equipped with a fridge/freezer, cooker, microwave and washer dryer - mind you, the pots and pans had seen better days. There is a downstairs bathroom with shower. Upstairs there are two delightful bedrooms, one with ensuite - both rooms had lovely brass reproduction beds and lovely bed linen. There is also a 3rd bathroom with a roll top bath. The condition of the house was excellent and felt very fresh. There is only one improvement that we as a family of four would like to see............a 2nd TV ! after a lovely day out horseriding etc it was nice to relax in the evening but the kids wanted to watch a DVD and poor old dad would loved to have just sat in front of Sky news !

We did 4 days of horseriding - a mixture of Hacks and Cross Country , and we loved every minute of it. Everybody was lovely down in the stables, but there is one person who stands out like a shining star, and that was one of the instructors called Janet ! we had to do a bit of rearranging of some of the bookings as one of our family was more experienced and was able to do faster rides - but nothing was too much trouble to her and when she had us out on a ride she was informative but also had the most wicked sense of humour with the most infectious laugh and we just adored riding out with her.

We mainly self catered because we had the children with us, but we did enjoy some lunches in Conor's Bar in the Hunting lodge, which was lovely.

So, all in all, as a self catering horseriding break, it was lovely for us and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spookIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2009

Adjacent to to Castle Leslie, the Hunting Lodge at Castle Leslie will meet any tourist's expectations in the hospitality industry. We stayed at the Hunting Lodge July 18th 09, had expected to stay in the Castle but it was fully booked.
We arrived in the Lodge and was received by Jennifer Fortune, at the reception. She accompanied us to the lift to the rooms. In the rooms we were amazed by the size and facilities. It is worth mentioning the beds and bathrooms that stood out as eye catching! We enjoyed the evening in the bar-setting like a pub- after our sight seeing in Monaghan Town. We were only here for a day, so had to squeeze our time to enjoy the lodge's natural surrounding as well. Had plenty of walking to the lake and finished with a tour of the castle; and left time for our child to ejoy the horses on the back of the lodge.
The Lodge has a very relaxed atmosphere, in particular the lobby, ideal for enjoying a drink after outdoor activities. We did not have dinner in the Lodge as we'd decided to eat in town, after sight seeing, but on our next visit dinner will be a must.
We had a wonderful breakfast- variety of food cold and hot and were ready to check out.; we were met by one of the hotel Managers, Emma. She checked with us to ensure we enjoyed our stay. For couple/family looking for somewhere peaceful and quiet, this is home in the hotel, a place to be.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ojukwu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

Just returned from a midweek break at the Hunting Lodge to celebrate my wifes birthday. Without doubt one of the best hotel experiences ever. Room was fantastic, all food in Snaffles was of the highest standard. Staff were just superb and could not do enough for us. Afternoon tea in the Castle is perfection. A wonderful trip from start to finish. Thanks to all at Castle Leslie!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StewC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Stayed at the Hunting Lodge and everything was beyond expectation. The setting is stunning, nestled in between fields and Glaslough lake - although the castle accomodation appreciates these views more. Food was lovely and not too pricey (about what you expect to pay at a hotel), I really liked the bar area and outdoor seating in a courtyard.

The rooms were very comfortable and the bathrooms well designed and appointed. Room overlooked the stables which was a nice surprise. Only downside to room was that it was a little dark with only a double door opening on to a juliette balcony for light - but it really wasn't a problem.

Breakfast was gorgeous and staff were very friendly and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSM2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

Stayed in the main "castle" (actually a 19th century Manor house) as a surprise birthday present. All the rooms are individual and were the bedrooms of the original owners/staff. Our room was the "Eagle's Nest" in the top tower with its own balcony overlooking the lake. The room was large, airy and with a great bed and huge copper bath. Don't expect any mod cons like a TV though!

The staff were wonderful, incredibly helpful and friendly and dinner was superb. Sir John Leslie, the colourful octogenarian owner (still goes clubbing at 85) was at dinner and made us feel very welcome.

Definitely recommended for a relaxing weekend break in a beautiful part of the world (about two hours from Dublin).

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dpevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews