We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castle Leslie Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glaslough
Certificate of Excellence
louth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed 31 August 2009

we stayed here for our first wedding anniversary,i cant begin to describe how fantastic it was. we stayed in the lodge, it was beautiful, we were there on a rainy saturday, but that made no difference at all. the room was beautiful, very big, clean and comfortable. we found the staff to be very friendly, and the food was very good value, and pleasent. overall the room package was great value, i cant wait to go back, to explore more

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouthTbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,121
    193
    60
    39
    22
See reviews for
242
792
20
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, N.Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

We had been told by a friend of a great last minute deal at castle leslie and decided to try it out. I had eaten in the lodge a few years ago for my mum’s 70th so looked forward to trying out the rooms.
We stayed in a superior room in the hunting lodge. The rooms are large. You don’t get all the mod-cons but for comfort and quiet it was wonderful. Special mention goes to the bathroom with the roll-top bath and the huge separate walk in shower.
We ate in the hunting lodge bar both nights and the food was delicious. The breakfast was excellent. A great range of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, fruit coulis and pastries and a great fried breakfast to order.
We had a walk around the estate one morning. One thing to note, the paths are in most cases bridleways so walking boots or wellies are required. When we got back to the hotel with muddy shoes, we asked if there was somewhere we could clean them so not to tramp mud through the place. We were surprised when we were shown to the ‘Boot Room’ with a big Belfast sink to clean the shoes. We were told we could borrow wellies if we wanted to go back out again. This is one of the perks of staying in a country house with stables attached. The place was so peaceful at night and we could see the stars on a stroll in the grounds after dinner.
We didn’t make it to up to the castle for a look around. We had planned to look around after we checked-out but the workmen were filling in potholes in the driveway.
It was a wonderful place to stay and very romantic being in a country house and not having the hustle and bustle of a city hotel. We are definitely planning to stay again and will keep our eyes out for another great deal, and maybe stay in the castle itself the next time.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KC-belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

My girl-friend & I visited Castle Leslie for one week at the start of August. We stayed in one of their self-catering cottages.

When you reach Castle Leslie you'll meet the Lodge. This was an old hunting lodge and is now basically a hotel with a restaurant and bar. The food here is not the best but far from the worse.

From the lodge you'll reach the Castle. If you are staying in Castle Leslie you really should stay in the Castle if you can afford it.

The Mews (cottages) are about a ten / fifteen minute walk from here. Now this is a bit unfortunate, the walk does not have lighting and is only really a rough heavy gravel track (a lot better than a dirt track - but a lady will not traverse this in heals or pretty shoes). The Mews are really, really, really nice and highly recommended for a family. As a couple our better off in the Castle or the Lodge.

The grounds of the Estate are stunning. If you like horse riding you'll love this place. They have a large equestrian centre and lots of lessons available. I have just one complaint about the grounds of the Estate, they are not all accessible via foot. There are a fair few places that are 'out of bounds'. Some of these can be reached on horse-back.

Castle Leslie has the best internet connection I have ever encountered in a hotel.

I highly recommend this venue, if you need to relax, have a romantic getaway with your partner or want a family holiday with your children.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MunsterCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2009

We are a family of four and we recently booked a last minute 3 night stay, in the self catering property in the Castle Leslie estate called the Old Stable Mews.

The accommodation is approx a 3 minute drive from the main castle and is situated in a quiet part of the estate. I have to say, we were all delighted with the accommodation and it certainly justifies its 4 star rating. We had a lovely open plan sitting room/dining/kitchen area with two sets of patio doors out into a garden area. The kitchen was very well equipped with a fridge/freezer, cooker, microwave and washer dryer - mind you, the pots and pans had seen better days. There is a downstairs bathroom with shower. Upstairs there are two delightful bedrooms, one with ensuite - both rooms had lovely brass reproduction beds and lovely bed linen. There is also a 3rd bathroom with a roll top bath. The condition of the house was excellent and felt very fresh. There is only one improvement that we as a family of four would like to see............a 2nd TV ! after a lovely day out horseriding etc it was nice to relax in the evening but the kids wanted to watch a DVD and poor old dad would loved to have just sat in front of Sky news !

We did 4 days of horseriding - a mixture of Hacks and Cross Country , and we loved every minute of it. Everybody was lovely down in the stables, but there is one person who stands out like a shining star, and that was one of the instructors called Janet ! we had to do a bit of rearranging of some of the bookings as one of our family was more experienced and was able to do faster rides - but nothing was too much trouble to her and when she had us out on a ride she was informative but also had the most wicked sense of humour with the most infectious laugh and we just adored riding out with her.

We mainly self catered because we had the children with us, but we did enjoy some lunches in Conor's Bar in the Hunting lodge, which was lovely.

So, all in all, as a self catering horseriding break, it was lovely for us and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spookIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2009

Adjacent to to Castle Leslie, the Hunting Lodge at Castle Leslie will meet any tourist's expectations in the hospitality industry. We stayed at the Hunting Lodge July 18th 09, had expected to stay in the Castle but it was fully booked.
We arrived in the Lodge and was received by Jennifer Fortune, at the reception. She accompanied us to the lift to the rooms. In the rooms we were amazed by the size and facilities. It is worth mentioning the beds and bathrooms that stood out as eye catching! We enjoyed the evening in the bar-setting like a pub- after our sight seeing in Monaghan Town. We were only here for a day, so had to squeeze our time to enjoy the lodge's natural surrounding as well. Had plenty of walking to the lake and finished with a tour of the castle; and left time for our child to ejoy the horses on the back of the lodge.
The Lodge has a very relaxed atmosphere, in particular the lobby, ideal for enjoying a drink after outdoor activities. We did not have dinner in the Lodge as we'd decided to eat in town, after sight seeing, but on our next visit dinner will be a must.
We had a wonderful breakfast- variety of food cold and hot and were ready to check out.; we were met by one of the hotel Managers, Emma. She checked with us to ensure we enjoyed our stay. For couple/family looking for somewhere peaceful and quiet, this is home in the hotel, a place to be.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ojukwu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, N.Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

Just returned from a midweek break at the Hunting Lodge to celebrate my wifes birthday. Without doubt one of the best hotel experiences ever. Room was fantastic, all food in Snaffles was of the highest standard. Staff were just superb and could not do enough for us. Afternoon tea in the Castle is perfection. A wonderful trip from start to finish. Thanks to all at Castle Leslie!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StewC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Stayed at the Hunting Lodge and everything was beyond expectation. The setting is stunning, nestled in between fields and Glaslough lake - although the castle accomodation appreciates these views more. Food was lovely and not too pricey (about what you expect to pay at a hotel), I really liked the bar area and outdoor seating in a courtyard.

The rooms were very comfortable and the bathrooms well designed and appointed. Room overlooked the stables which was a nice surprise. Only downside to room was that it was a little dark with only a double door opening on to a juliette balcony for light - but it really wasn't a problem.

Breakfast was gorgeous and staff were very friendly and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSM2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glaslough
5.7 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
5.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
5.9 mi away
Westenra Arms Hotel
Westenra Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Monaghan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Corick House
Corick House
#1 of 1 in Clogher
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#4 of 4 in Monaghan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
9.8 mi away
Armagh City Hotel
Armagh City Hotel
#1 of 1 in Armagh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Leslie Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Leslie Estate

Property: Castle Leslie Estate
Address: Castle Leslie Castle Leslie Glaslough Village | County Monaghan, Glaslough, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Monaghan > Glaslough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glaslough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Castle Leslie Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Leslie Estate, nestled on 1,000 acres of undulating Irish countryside, dotted with ancient woodland and glittering lakes, is one of the last great Irish Castle estates still in the hands of its founding family. Castle Estate is waiting to be discovered. Located in Co. Monaghan, Ireland, the Estate is only 80 minutes from Dublin. The Castle (20 individual guestroom), at the heart of the Estate, offers authentic original interiors and old-style hospitality and is a complete respite from the world. The Lodge (29 guestrooms) is the social hub of the Estate and brings locals and guests together in an atmosphere of conviviality and comfort. The Old Stable Mews and Village Cottages are the perfect spot for families and groups that want the convenience of hotel living combined with private luxury home rental. The Estate offers an idyllic setting for outdoor activity and adventure. It's the perfect place to discover the thrill of exploring the countryside on horseback or foot. You can spend a few hours fishing on one of Ireland's best-preserved lakes. Alternatively, you might prefer to enjoy a massage in the Victorian Treatment Rooms at the end of an activity packed day or relax with a book in one of our many beautiful rooms. Other activities include hot air balloon rides,falconry, kayaking, clay pigeon shooting, boating and picnics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Castle Leslie Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Leslie Estate Hotel Glaslough
Castle Leslie Estate Ireland/Glaslough, County Monaghan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing