We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballincar
Certificate of Excellence
Bray Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

We have just returned from a 3 day mid-week stay at the Radisson Rosses Point. We were exhausted with all the Christmas nonsense and needed to get away from it all. This is the second time we have stayed and we will be back ! The staff are the friendliest we have met in Ireland. We travel abroad 4 or 5 times a year and had almost given up on home holidays. The food is wonderful. Breakfasts would put some of the more expensive hotels to shame. We recently stayed in a famous 4 star hotel in Dubin whose breakfast menu was a disgrace. The Radisson had everything, freshly baked bread, tempting crossants, full cooked breakfast, selection of jogurts, cereals, cold meats, smoked salmon, salami and lovely cheeses. We ate 4 course meal in the dining room on our 1st nite. I had cod - beautifully cooked and presented like a picture on the plate, himself had steak which I tasted and was delicious. We used the leisure centre, we had bar food both at lunch time and in the evening. Although there was a wedding on the 2nd day of our stay, and the bar was full, the quality of the food was still excellent. By the way the beds are pure heaven - the hotel could do with a little t.l.c. but its recessionary times and one cannot have everything.

Room Tip: We had a lovely room on the 3rd floor (room 323) it had a lovely side view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DolBrayIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    704
    523
    229
    104
    44
See reviews for
344
694
52
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

So decided to treat myself and the hubby to a two night deal in the faddists on blu hotel, we had stayed there before and remembered it as being quite nice, well never again!
On arrival we were met by a lovely girl, all smiles and we were excited about escaping the kids for a couple of nights! However, once we got to the room we found it was just filthy, marks on the walls, big stain on the quilt on the bed, toilet with the remnants of the previous guests, ahem, carpet was just unbelievably dirty looking and big brown marks all over the chair. The husband decided to ask for another room it was that bad as we are seriously not the type to complain. While he was doing that I then to my absolute horror spotted mouse droppings!!!!! After hot footing it out to reception and informing the receptionist who pretty much ignored my slightly increasingly hysterical findings we were given another room just across from the other room.....same dirt but without the mouse droppings. It was just so awful and we were just so disappointed that the husband yet again asked if we could have a nicer room, we were offered a suite for an extra 80 quid! My husband, tired and pretty unamused with the hotel at this stage accepted. But I just felt that the whole experience was just so disappointing and was crushed that our lovely weekend away was tarnished already! I rang the manager on duty to actually make my first complaint ever and he was just so rude, he told me that there was no way it was mouse dropping, that it must have been a piece of bark (seriously, I know mouse poo when I see it, my husband also verified it even though he didn't believe me till he saw it for himself!) and that although I should be happy that we got a suite at this time of night he would reduce the extra payment to 40 quid! Hmmm, the suite was just a bigger but just as filthy version of the original room! He also told me that I should be very grateful as we were getting free tv and movies......?.! Em , porn or some movie from 2005 or something !
I ended up in tears while I just got brushed off and treated like a piece of poo, rude, filthy and just an absolute waste of money to stay there, never again. I

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
8 Thank Sas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

Excellent hotel with superb views around Sligo. Friendly service at the reception, bar and restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanH294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
151 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 768 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

With a huge, comfortable bedroom, big bathroom, very good staff, great breakfast, good dinner & lively bar, it would be fair to say that this hotel is one of the best I've stayed in.
Parking was no problem (& free) in the very big outdoor carpark. Linda at reception ensured that check in was super smooth, friendly & effortless. My non smoking room on the 2nd floor was a jaw dropper. Really, really big & roomy & with an earthy colour scheme & maple furniture that made it feel modern, bright & fresh. The room was so big that even with it's huge bed, 2 tvs, 2 workdesks, luggage rack, bedside lockers & lamps,sofa, coffee table & more than adaquate wardrobe space, there was still plenty of room left to swing numerous cats. Throw in the safe, minibar, iron, ironing board & trouser press, air con, tea/coffee/hot chocolate & biscuits & the room had all the comforts needed for a pleasant stay. It also had a smoke alarm, small recycle bin, nice bright lighting, was a perfect temperature & was well soundproofed from noise from either inside or outside of the hotel. Nothing but positives.
The bathroom was equally impressive. Big & bright with fully tiled walls & floors, bath, shower screen, shower head (very good pressure) on a riser bar with 2 mt hose, mirror, hairdryer, toiletries, dual voltage shaving socket, extraction vent, double sided shaving/makeup mirror, retractable clothes line, wall mounted phone & loads of towels.
As the reason for my stay was to go to a very well attended function, it's hard to comment on dinner other than to say it was well cooked, tasty & was served quickly & efficiently by the friendly & attentive staff. The bar was nicely decorated, had comfortable seating & a good, friendly, lively atmosphere but the drinks were a little bit on the expensive side.
Breakfast was very good with cereals, yoghurts, fruit slices, fresh fruits, smoked salmon, cold meats, salamis, cheese, full fry, fruit juices, tea/coffee.
The hotel had good signage on all floors giving directions to the restaurant, reception etc. There were ice machines & shoe buffing machines at the lifts & complimentary national newspapers at reception. If something quiet & relaxed was needed, there was good seating in the foyer area & a nice spacious room/lounge, just off the foyer.
Checking out was as effortless & friendly as checking in had been
I can sum it all up by saying that I hope that next year's work Christmas party is again held in this hotel.It was that good.

Room Tip: Ask for room 254
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gaildorfblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

very nice hotel,clean and cosy and staff very welcoming.
Breakfast was very nice and alot to choose from,always pipeing hot!
Spa area was nice and very clean and spacious.
Bedrooms were a nice size,slightly on the cold side as heating wasnt very powerful, we requested a double bed but were given 2 singles pushed together,but the gap wasnt visable.
Overall very nice hotel,close to Sligo and other nearby attractions, golf, beaches, seaweed baths.
Would return in the future!!

Room Tip: do not order room service in the evening, we waited over an hour for a sandwich! which was given to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SargeantMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

This place feels far more luxurious than the price tag, the rooms, the decor, service and the best steak I've ever had. Although it was a business trip, it was well worth the drive up from Dublin. The staff made me feel really welcome, and after a busy day, it's a tremendous place to unwind. Highly recommended for both business or pleasure.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RocketRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

The hotel is in a nice quiet area, just slightly out of Sligo town itself, and has a beautiful view of Sligo Bay. The room was clean, comfortable, and very good size. The bed was particularly comfortable, however, like many hotels in the UK and Ireland, they don't provide top sheets. The rooms tend to be on the warm side and the comforter may be too warm for some like me who would prefer just a sheet as covering. The bathroom amenities appeared reduced from prior levels - a single combination shampoo/body wash and lotion - good thing I brought my own conditioner. Having said that, the room price was reasonable and the they do have free wifi and a very nice breakfast buffet included in my rate, so the overall value is very good. I wish I had time to avail of the extensive spa services - maybe next time!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CelticWandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballincar
2.1 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
2.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
4.6 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
2.0 mi away
Great Southern Hotel Sligo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Address: Ballincar, Rosses Point Road | Sligo, Ballincar, Sligo, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo > Ballincar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballincar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the wild and beautiful countryside of Rosses Point, the Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa in Sligo is an easy 5 minutes drive to Sligo's city centre, business travelers will find Finisklin Business Park just minutes away and the leisure guest will enjoy a round of golf at the renowned County Sligo Golf Club or a trip to the beach at Rosses Point village only 2km's from the hotel. Sligo is a thriving city boasting wonderful shopping, enviable outdoor activities - surfing, golfing, angling to mention a few, and impressive historic and cultural attractions, not to forget a lively cafe and pub culture for an enjoyable night out. This superior 4* hotel boasts 132 luxury bedrooms, a fully equipped gym and leisure centre with an 18-meter indoor heated pool, children's pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Solas Spa and Wellness Centre offers the ultimate relaxation experience, indulge in one of the wonderful Elemis treatments, or unwind in the Thermal suite and relaxation room. The hotel has 132 stylishly furbished deluxe guest rooms including three stunning Executive suites, seven Junior suites, and 11 spacious Business Class rooms. We also offer six rooms designed specifically for guests with disabilities. Business amenities at this 4-star property include a business center, 7 meeting rooms, and the Benbulben ballroom. Dining options at this spa hotel include Benwisken Bar & Classiwbawn restaurant. The staff can arrange wedding services, business services, and limo/town car service. Guest parking is complimentary. The property is a non smoking property. The 132 air-conditioned guestrooms at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo include minibars (stocked upon request) and laptop safes. Televisions are equipped with cable channels and omplimentary TV Internet access. Rooms have dial-up Internet access and WI-Fi. Bathrooms offer handheld showerheads, makeup/shaving mirrors, hair dryers, and complimentary toiletries. Additional amenities include coffee/tea makers and irons/ironing boards. In addition, amenities available on request include in-room massages and wake-up calls. Housekeeping is offered daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel And Spa, Sligo
Radisson Rosses Point
Radisson Blu Hotel Sligo
Radisson Sligo
Sligo Radisson
Radisson Hotel Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing