We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many positives but rooms need modernising”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballincar
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
158 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Many positives but rooms need modernising”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

I have really enjoyed my trip to the Radisson outside of Sligo. The gripe first, the rooms are small and need upgrading including flat screen televisions, more modern bathrooms, etc. After that I really really like this place, the food has been exceptional, for breakfast, lunch and dinner, the food has been exceptional, fresh, great combinations and really good value. It has a really smart and value wine list also. The jewel in the crown is the service which is attentive but unobtrusive, we had Ivana look after us last night for dinner and she was great - friendly but not getting in the way.

Room Tip: Book a family room with a sea view. Eat here, the food is great and very reasonably priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanIelDMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    523
    229
    104
    44
See reviews for
344
693
52
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
917 reviews
199 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Watch for the bus trips breakfast arrival at @8am meeting.
Hotel should warn guests the previous night or at check in !!!!
Problems with the cleanliness of the first room, had loose long hairs all over the crept and bathroom.
Help in changing my luggage to the new room
Non existent!!!

Bar foods ok and they've got Sky sports

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dkkeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

The views from the front - Sligo Bay, Knocknarea & the Ox mountains, and to the rear - the spectacular Benbulben range are superb. The rooms are generously sized, the staf very helpful, the all-day provision of good food from the bar, and a decent quality restaurant make our stays here always very enjoyable & relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyJohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Loved our stay here last week. Room was spacious for 3. Air conditioning excellent. Breakfast, bar food and dinner in restaurant all very good. Hotel was busy but pool quiet and lovely. No problem making appointment for spa. A great location, loved the patio area looking out to bay. Thoroughly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Contact hotel direct to request room with sea/mountain view. We were on ground floor called floor le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareLaois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

 Came here for a wedding in Sept 2012 and this place is absolutely gorgeous!!!evrtgh was wonderful. The food was also delicious.I definitely wouldn't mind coming back here for another event soon and may even have one of my own here!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catrziona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed here for three nights, although there was a mix up with the rooms when we arrived, it was resolved very quickly.
There are better views from the third floor rooms, and if you can, try and book one of the three rooms with a balcony if the view is important to you; the balcony rooms look over the bay.

Facilities were very good and we enjoyed our stay. The super buffer was just delicious; the staff regularly topped up the food, so it was always hot, fresh & delicious.
The bar food was very good and reasonably priced so we usually ate there on the evenings.
Overall it was a lovely stay, the air conditioning in the rooms was spot on, but some of the rooms on the second floor do look out to a car park, which is a shame, and something just to check when you book and make a note of the receptionist you speak to so there are no mix ups on arrival. Otherwise, a good base to explore all that Sligo has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClanNaGaelige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner recently stayed in the hotel for a wedding function and we found the hotel to be a mixed bag. The service was moderate and the bag I had brought was quite heavy and was asked for help even though the lady in desk could see I was struggling. The room was very very basic the kettle was hid in the drawer, the tv which was from the early 90s was broken and the remote didn't half work. The fridge wasn't switched on or was it even working!! The beds were two single beds put together so me and my partner when lying down where over 3foot apart. The function itself was 2nd to none but the awful smell when walking out the function door to go for a smoke nearly made my partner sick. The breakfast was the most amazing part of the whole experience and I felt spoilt for choice. I think next time I will may think again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrhassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballincar
2.1 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
2.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
4.6 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
2.0 mi away
Great Southern Hotel Sligo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Address: Ballincar, Rosses Point Road | Sligo, Ballincar, Sligo, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo > Ballincar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballincar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the wild and beautiful countryside of Rosses Point, the Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa in Sligo is an easy 5 minutes drive to Sligo's city centre, business travelers will find Finisklin Business Park just minutes away and the leisure guest will enjoy a round of golf at the renowned County Sligo Golf Club or a trip to the beach at Rosses Point village only 2km's from the hotel. Sligo is a thriving city boasting wonderful shopping, enviable outdoor activities - surfing, golfing, angling to mention a few, and impressive historic and cultural attractions, not to forget a lively cafe and pub culture for an enjoyable night out. This superior 4* hotel boasts 132 luxury bedrooms, a fully equipped gym and leisure centre with an 18-meter indoor heated pool, children's pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Solas Spa and Wellness Centre offers the ultimate relaxation experience, indulge in one of the wonderful Elemis treatments, or unwind in the Thermal suite and relaxation room. The hotel has 132 stylishly furbished deluxe guest rooms including three stunning Executive suites, seven Junior suites, and 11 spacious Business Class rooms. We also offer six rooms designed specifically for guests with disabilities. Business amenities at this 4-star property include a business center, 7 meeting rooms, and the Benbulben ballroom. Dining options at this spa hotel include Benwisken Bar & Classiwbawn restaurant. The staff can arrange wedding services, business services, and limo/town car service. Guest parking is complimentary. The property is a non smoking property. The 132 air-conditioned guestrooms at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo include minibars (stocked upon request) and laptop safes. Televisions are equipped with cable channels and omplimentary TV Internet access. Rooms have dial-up Internet access and WI-Fi. Bathrooms offer handheld showerheads, makeup/shaving mirrors, hair dryers, and complimentary toiletries. Additional amenities include coffee/tea makers and irons/ironing boards. In addition, amenities available on request include in-room massages and wake-up calls. Housekeeping is offered daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel And Spa, Sligo
Radisson Rosses Point
Radisson Blu Hotel Sligo
Radisson Sligo
Sligo Radisson
Radisson Hotel Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing