We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the restaurant ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballincar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

It's an ok hotel. But it seems to specialise in the " package market " . So when I went to the restaurant there was a forty five minute delay. The dinner was very poor. The mediteranian veg starter was frozen and straight out of the fridge truly awful.The monkfish was bland and tasteless and covered in a cold sauce. Veg was only brought to the table for one ( two of us were dining ).. The fries we ordered never arrived at all. When we went to the bar it was chaotic. Loads of OAP's and a country singer and guitar. Good Night..

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
4  Thank MrGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus_Preston, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Mr. Galway,

Thank you for choosing to visit us here in Sligo and for taking the time to provide a review of your experience with our hotel.

I am extremely sorry that there was a forty five minute delay before there was a table available in the Classiebawen restaurant. Due to business levels there are times at the hotel whereby it is advisable to book a table in our restaurant, as to avoid delays such as your own experience. I am sorry if our front office team did not offer to make a dinner reservation for you when checking in to the hotel, as this would be part of our receptionists checking in procedure.

It is terribly disappointing to read that your meal was of a poor standard and I can assure you that we receive fantastic feedback regarding the high standard of food here at the hotel on a consistent basis. There was however an obvious lapse in standards on this occasion and I have spoken to our Executive Head Chef Joe Shannon and he too would like to send his apologies for your poor dining experience.

It is unfortunate that you found the Benwisken bar chaotic and during your stay we had a four day conference taking place in the hotel, whereby each evening we provided the delegates with entertainment in the hotel bar.

However, we do have our Memory Harbour lounge which is adjacent to both our bar and lobby and it is the perfect place to relax and have a beverage, while enjoying the fabulous views over Sligo bay and Knocknarea mountain.

Please feel free to contact me directly at seamus.preston@radissonblu.com as I would welcome the opportunity to apologise to you in person and hopefully you might afford me the opportunity to regain your confidence with the hotel at some stage in the future.

Kind regards,

Seamus Preston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,706)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

972 - 978 of 1,706 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

We booked this hotel literally at the last minute. We were in Sligo visiting my dad in the local hospital & were not sure whether we were overnighting or not. We did decide to stay & rung around a few hotels & were impressed with the hotel reception manner. We did a deal, checked in quickly & very impressed with the room we got, everything to the highest standard. We freshened up went to the bar had a couple of drinks & had a nice meal. Breakfast the following morning was busy as there was a conference but the staff were very efficient & friendly & refreshed the food regularly. We checked out at 12 & would have no hesitation in staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank padraigr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed here for a night on way to visit family. Lovely place with lovely staff and a fabulous view of Benbulen. Staff are lovely and rooms were comfortable and spacious and very clean ( well done to accommodation ) . Restaurant is great and food their is delish! Overall had a great stay here and would recommend it :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel over the May bank holiday weekend and it was wonderful. There was 6 of us (3 couples) and everything that we requested of the hotel before we arrived was delivered. We had fantastic views of Benbulben mountain from the hotel rooms. The rooms themselves were large, clean & very comfortable.
The highlight for all of us though were the meals that we had in the main restaurant. The food was superb and very reasonably priced for what we got.
The hotel is approx. 5 minutes drive from Sligo town and a further 5 minutes away from Rosses Point. Treat yourself to a walk on the beach at Rosses Point for THE best views of Benbulben.
None of us tried any of the spa treatments so can't comment on that part of the hotel. For a great family day out I'd highly recommend a trip to Eagles Flying sanctuary. Brilliant day out and only 20 minutes from the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 202, 204 & 206 and had great views.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trinity4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed in the Radisson Blu in early May for a work conference and would rate it as one of the best hotels in the market for hosting conferences. It is a bit outside Sligo and taxis can be costly if you need to get around. But the hotel itself is excellent, great views across the bay and countryside, a big bright and airy reception, big comfortable rooms, great service, good food and a fabulous spa and wellness center. My stay in the hotel was very relaxing, but the facilities available for conference business are excellent, great wifi access throughout the hotel and comfortable rooms for business meetings and conference work. After work the facilities are just as good, a quality restaurant with the highest quality of food and a big and comfortable bar to relax in for a late drink. All in all the Radisson Blu is a hotel, I would highly recommend and one I will return to soon.

Room Tip: Rooms are excellent, with lots of wardrobe space and a big bathrooms.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColmM552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Arrived at the hotel on 7th May for 2 nights as a conference guest.

I just loved this hotel.

Located just outside the lovely town of Sligo and handy for the Knock Airport, although I travelled from Derry about 2 hours drive. Previous reviews talk of view

Room was excellent, plenty space and good access to internet and right next to the bar, a wee result for me. Had an excellent well presented evening meal with other conference guests and enjoyed my buffet breakfasts too. Really impressed by the good humour and friendliness of the staff.

Looking forward to going back on holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Visited here last week for a well deserved break for my wife, after the long drive we checked in painlessly and found ourselves in the junior suite which was perfect. The room had all required, even.an nespresso machine nice touch. We headed to.the bar and had quick attentive service. We had dinner in the restaurant and can't fault it, we received amouse bouche prior to our starter, and a sorbet after. The service was at a slower pace to the bar but that's what you want when you are away. The mains where fab and the banoffie cheesecake went down a treat. Breakfast the next morning was great, a huge selection and again it's great to eat perfectly seasoned food without the need for salt or pepper 10 out 10 for breakfast. We headed down to.the spa where the staff were extremely helpful, friendly and professional they helped us both relax
My wife couldn't fault the level of attention she received and left feeling ten years younger.

A great stay well done to allstaff for creating a destination...


We' ll be back

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballincar
2.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
481 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,102 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
465 reviews
2.0 mi away
Great Southern Hotel Sligo
2.7 mi away
Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo

Address: Ballincar, Rosses Point Road | Sligo, Ballincar, Sligo, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo > Ballincar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballincar
Price Range: £76 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the wild and beautiful countryside of Rosses Point, the Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa in Sligo is an easy 5 minutes drive to Sligo's city centre, business travelers will find Finisklin Business Park just minutes away and the leisure guest will enjoy a round of golf at the renowned County Sligo Golf Club or a trip to the beach at Rosses Point village only 2km's from the hotel. Sligo is a thriving city boasting wonderful shopping, enviable outdoor activities - surfing, golfing, angling to mention a few, and impressive historic and cultural attractions, not to forget a lively cafe and pub culture for an enjoyable night out. This superior 4* hotel boasts 132 luxury bedrooms, a fully equipped gym and leisure centre with an 18-meter indoor heated pool, children's pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Solas Spa and Wellness Centre offers the ultimate relaxation experience, indulge in one of the wonderful Elemis treatments, or unwind in the Thermal suite and relaxation room. The hotel has 132 stylishly furbished deluxe guest rooms including three stunning Executive suites, seven Junior suites, and 11 spacious Business Class rooms. We also offer six rooms designed specifically for guests with disabilities. Business amenities at this 4-star property include a business center, 7 meeting rooms, and the Benbulben ballroom. Dining options at this spa hotel include Benwisken Bar & Classiwbawn restaurant. The staff can arrange wedding services, business services, and limo/town car service. Guest parking is complimentary. The property is a non smoking property. The 132 air-conditioned guestrooms at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo include minibars (stocked upon request) and laptop safes. Televisions are equipped with cable channels and omplimentary TV Internet access. Rooms have dial-up Internet access and WI-Fi. Bathrooms offer handheld showerheads, makeup/shaving mirrors, hair dryers, and complimentary toiletries. Additional amenities include coffee/tea makers and irons/ironing boards. In addition, amenities available on request include in-room massages and wake-up calls. Housekeeping is offered daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel And Spa, Sligo
Radisson Rosses Point
Radisson Blu Hotel Sligo
Radisson Sligo
Sligo Radisson
Radisson Hotel Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing