We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballincar
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed in another Radisson hotel recently which we loved and wrongly assumed the high standard was maintained across the chain. We also chose this hotel in Sligo for the location which is about its only good point. We go for long weekends in Sligo regularly and really wanted to find a hotel which we would use for these trips but unfortunately we are still searching.

On arriving at the hotel on a Saturday afternoon there were no parking spaces, the gardener was trimming the hedges right at the front door and blasting the cuttings all over the entrance...not a good start. Once inside children were running riot whilst we waited to check in, not the hotel's fault but still not a great first impression. During check in we were told it was hotel policy to add €50 to the price as a credit for us to use during our stay, however we explained we didn't need that as dinner was prepaid and we didn't intend on adding any more money to our bill.

We were told by the receptionist we had a "lovely room" on the second floor - the room was mediocre with stained carpet and lampshades. It was also just two beds pushed together will ill fitting sheets which revealed the dirty mattress below.

We dined in the restaurant that night as it was included in our package but we would recommend eating elsewhere in Sligo as we were not impressed at all. Starter of crayfish and salmon was okay, my main of chicken was poor (the waitress apologised to me for how it looked and assured me it looked better leaving the kitchen?!) and my partner's duck had some tin foil still stuck to it. We had desserts simply because we had paid for it but neither of us were able to take more than two bites, both the cheesecake and coconut tart were dry and tasteless. We had got a side of chips with our meal and when leaving the restaurant we were asked for the €3.50 to cover it, we had no loose change on us and asked for it to be charged to the room - this had to be checked with reception first - all this over €3.50!!!

Before we got to go for breakfast the cleaner asked could she come in at 9:45am to service our room?! Breakfast was okay - fair enough selection - parts of the cooked breakfast were cold. The waiter also forgot about our tea order, altogether it was just a bit drab. We stayed for two nights but didn't eat in the hotel on the second night.

There is still hope for this hotel; on checking out we were greeted by the most pleasant member of staff we had encountered - Anne - please get more people like Anne!!! She could not apologise enough for our poor meal and deducted the price of the side order of chips and €20 from our balance. Altogether a poor stay but a little cheer from Anne at the end went a long way to lifting our spirits!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMG186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus_Preston, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear CMG 186470,

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Sligo. I am extremely sorry that there were so many aspects of your stay which you did not enjoy.

It is disappointing that you found parking difficult on the day you checked into the hotel we did have our annual Bridge Congress and a number of private lunches taking place in the hotel. However, we are very lucky that we have over 350 car parking spaces which caters for the majority of our car parking needs. I certainly agree with you that it was not the ideal time to be trimming our box hedging at the front of the hotel, and in the future such work will be carried out a more suitable time.

It is the hotels procedure that if a resident of the hotel would like to charge services to their room account, that we would require a cash deposit or a credit card as a security deposit. This procedure is common practice in the hotel industry in Ireland and I am sorry if this policy was not explained to you on checking in to the hotel.

I would like to apologise to you that you did not enjoy your dining experiences in our restaurant. I am today meeting with our executive chef and food and beverage manager, and we will be reviewing your feedback in detail. I would hope that you will see a marked improvement in this area on your return following the training and standards we will have put in place to ensure consistency in achieving the levels of quality which draw so much positive feedback from our guests.

I am encouraged to read that Ann our front office manager spoke to you before your departure and she was able to apologise to you about the areas where we did not meet your expectations.

Thank you for taking the time to provide such comprehensive feedback and for giving us the opportunity to improve our service. I would be most appreciative if you had time to discuss this further with me, my number here at the hotel is 0719140008 or my email is seamus.preston@radissonblu.com.

I am genuinely sorry for your experience and would appreciate if you could pass on my apologies to your travelling companion.

Kind regards,

Seamus Preston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    715
    527
    230
    106
    44
See reviews for
346
705
52
174
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
KILTIMAGH, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hotel deserves the highest praise for its value for money, location, friendliness, cleanliness, excellent food & bar staff, beautifull pool, steam, sauna & gym. Parking is very adjacent to hotel entrance and adequate.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Don & Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Okay, so Radisson Blu...you expect the best.
Checked in, no offer of help with luggage (two ladies...Imagine the luggage??)

My room was very comfortable, nice large bed. Clean and spacious.
Loo roll was cheap and hairdryer had no nozzle (not good).
But.. It was fine, busy hotel, lots of conferences, nobody's perfect.

Then the disaster that was dinner commenced.
My friend ordered noodle shrimp salad and I ordered scallops and prawn.

What arrived was not what was expected. The huge pile of noodles could have been tied to a dogs collar and safely taken him for a walk. We asked the server (I think his name was simon) if they were in fact cooked, he popped one in his mouth and said " Yes, they are always like that" (obviously, he had done this before)
Some of my very minute scallops seemed undercooked.

My Main was the duck two ways (I passed on the foie gras ) with vegetables. The duck was as tough as old boots and the veg was smothered in butter.

I asked the lady server if I could have a plate of veg with no butter (dairy intolerant). She arrived back with a large plate of peeled baby potatoes (the frozen kind) and nothing else ??
When I asked 'Simon' if I could speak to the manager, he said he was on a night off and offered no compensation.

Later that night, I spoke to the gentleman on reception, he was very surprised at my tale. He said that Simon was in fact the duty manager on the night and should have dealt with my issues. The aforementioned gentleman did give my friend and I a drink on the house.

At breakfast the next morning, I requested poached egg and bacon with gluten free toast.
My poached egg arrived on a bed of regular toast and the gluten free toast came on a separate plate. If I was a coeliac I would have ended up with a BIG problem.
The bacon was so salty, it was inedible.

On check out the next morning, our dinner had been charged in full. But then, Simon had no authority did he? Despite the fact he was the duty manager??

The Radisson Blue is a lovely Hotel with a lovely Spa, but they need a new chef and a proper restaurant manager.Stay there for the ambiance, but eat elsewhere.

These 'Ladies who lunch' will not be returning to the one in Sligo

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regina3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
298 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our stay in the Radisson Blu was only overnight, but this was a clean, roomy, well-appointed hotel. The staff was superb, deftly handling a large group of tourists with speed and efficiency, and keeping a smile on their faces! The buffet breakfast was more than adequate, and the dining room staff very pleasant. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallysue1279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derry
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stay in different hotels on a weekly basis due to my work, I have only taken the time to comment on 3 hotels in 8 years that have really impressed and radisson blu in Sligo tops them all, the staff, the rooms, the hotel in general all out of this world. It would be wrong of me to single out any one member of staff as they were all fantastic. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, Thank you for a lovely week. Charlie,

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derrycharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Good size rooms which are clean, Bit out of town but views make up for it,
Saff all good this was my second trip,
Breakfast is amazing all you could want and more, Bar food also good, lots of free parking

Room Tip: Smile when booking in !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJI3775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

When we arrived we found that they had some 200+ staying that night we thought that the hotel would struggle to cope especially at breakfast and check out. There were no delays and no problems at all. The rooms are ample and well appointed and the buffet style breakfast is fine. Staff at the front desk were helpful to 3 very wet golfers and helped find a place somewhere safe in the hotel to dry our clubs and bags. Probably the boiler room. From what we could see later in the evening the bar areas were totally full of guests on coach tours. They had some good music entertainment in the main bar area. Overall reasonable value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballincar
2.1 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
2.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
4.5 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
2.0 mi away
Great Southern Hotel Sligo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Address: Ballincar, Rosses Point Road | Sligo, Ballincar, Sligo, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo > Ballincar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballincar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the wild and beautiful countryside of Rosses Point, the Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa in Sligo is an easy 5 minutes drive to Sligo's city centre, business travelers will find Finisklin Business Park just minutes away and the leisure guest will enjoy a round of golf at the renowned County Sligo Golf Club or a trip to the beach at Rosses Point village only 2km's from the hotel. Sligo is a thriving city boasting wonderful shopping, enviable outdoor activities - surfing, golfing, angling to mention a few, and impressive historic and cultural attractions, not to forget a lively cafe and pub culture for an enjoyable night out. This superior 4* hotel boasts 132 luxury bedrooms, a fully equipped gym and leisure centre with an 18-meter indoor heated pool, children's pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Solas Spa and Wellness Centre offers the ultimate relaxation experience, indulge in one of the wonderful Elemis treatments, or unwind in the Thermal suite and relaxation room. The hotel has 132 stylishly furbished deluxe guest rooms including three stunning Executive suites, seven Junior suites, and 11 spacious Business Class rooms. We also offer six rooms designed specifically for guests with disabilities. Business amenities at this 4-star property include a business center, 7 meeting rooms, and the Benbulben ballroom. Dining options at this spa hotel include Benwisken Bar & Classiwbawn restaurant. The staff can arrange wedding services, business services, and limo/town car service. Guest parking is complimentary. The property is a non smoking property. The 132 air-conditioned guestrooms at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo include minibars (stocked upon request) and laptop safes. Televisions are equipped with cable channels and omplimentary TV Internet access. Rooms have dial-up Internet access and WI-Fi. Bathrooms offer handheld showerheads, makeup/shaving mirrors, hair dryers, and complimentary toiletries. Additional amenities include coffee/tea makers and irons/ironing boards. In addition, amenities available on request include in-room massages and wake-up calls. Housekeeping is offered daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Rezidor, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel And Spa, Sligo
Radisson Rosses Point
Radisson Blu Hotel Sligo
Radisson Sligo
Sligo Radisson
Radisson Hotel Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing