We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids loved pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballincar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Spent two nights here in July with two kids. Room was large and well equipped. Sleep quality very good and simple to work AC made sure we didn't overheat. Breakfast was very busy on both mornings but was good. However fruit and yogurt choices for kids was limited. Hotel was extremely busy overall due to weddings but staff coped admirably. Special mention for staff in Leisure Centre - they were excellent and made our kids very welcome which is not always the case for kids at hotel pools.
Our only little gripe was in hotel bar where we intended to eat on Saturday evening. Table was filthy and sticky where something had obviously spilled. Waiter greeted us and provided menus which he left on table. Both menus stuck to table and made loud audible noise when we lifted them up. No attempt was made to wipe or clean our table. We left and ate elsewhere. The dim lighting could only be offered as a partial excuse. Otherwise a great stay and we will be back.

Room Tip: Just a short 5 minute drive to beach at Rosses Point or back into Sligo town for shopping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank SJPDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,801)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,010 - 1,016 of 1,801 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

Have stayed in this hotel on and off for the last two years and have enjoyed each and every stay. From the time you book in until the morning you leave the staff from every department do their utmost to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Facilities are great and the leisure centre is always spotless. I would recommend this hotel for either business or family breaks or in my case for a combined trip

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Liam Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Just returned from a two night stay at the above hotel and I have to say we were impressed. Comfortable, clean and very efficiently run. Beds are so comfy! This Radisson Blu is in a perfect spot for sampling the delights of the town and county Sligo:- Benbulben mountain and forest, Glencar waterfall, Rosses Point beach, Drumcliff church and graveyard. Could not fault this hotel as it catered to all our needs. Especially enjoyed a leisurely swim in the hotel pool - very clean and relaxing. TV/Radio provision was a bit antiquated and limited, but that's just a minor quibble - Free Wifi throughout. Staff both at reception and room-service extremely accommodating. We could not recommend this hotel strongly enough!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank macpootie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Myself and my wife always look forward to our annual visit to Sligo - up until now staying in the Radisson has been a key part of that trip.

However, not again, unfortunately we have just left after a very disappointing two night stay in an executive room with dinner on one night.

A core gripe for me is the inherent lack of consistency in the service and facilities provided. Take for example some customers given vouchers for a cheaper return visit - despite having stayed here on business and personal visits over a dozen times I have never been afforded such a facility - reward loyalty but do so even handedly.

Likewise our so called executive room had the bare necessities in terms of towels, no water originally, so called superior toilet supplies which weren't, no newspaper delivered despite it being part of the package.

The rooms were not especially clean. The Delph in the loos need scouring and bleach treatment. Higher places in the bath/shower are not clean. Towels and robes are not crisp and white. We raised these issues on our first day nothing happened.

I also wonder why the restaurant and bar are not on this site - I would have something especially to say about the Classiebawn.

I could let the foregoing pass if I thought I was valued as a customer by ALL the staff, I wasn't - it was a disappointing experience. Lack of eye contact, empathy and a little more customer connection, listening and being a little more friendly especially in the main restaurant would have made a difference, a huge difference.

Lack of management on the ground didn't help, leadership and a little direction would have made a big difference.

Thanks for the memories Radisson, won't be back, won't advocate you again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DanIelDMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus_Preston, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear DanlelDMan,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to return to the hotel recently and thank you also for your feedback. I am terribly saddened and indeed most embarrassed to learn of your experience here.

I would like to apologise to you and your wife most sincerely and I would like to assure you that this is most definitely not the normal standard of service we strive to offer any guest of the hotel. I am sure that you can see that from the general trend in relation to the other comments left on tripadvisor and from your own previous visits, that your recent experience is certainly not the norm here in the hotel.

For this reason I am most anxious to chat with your good self in person – firstly to thank you for the feedback; however my main objective is to attempt to regain your confidence with the hotel.

I would be most appreciative if you had time to discuss this further with me, my number here at the hotel is 0719140008 or my email is seamus.preston@radissonblu.com

Kind regards,

Seamus Preston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

this was the second time we stayed at the hotel on arrival we had to wait over half an hour for our room which was a little disappointing as they were busy.Room clean small but adequate for one night.We didn't have time this visit to enjoy the spa or pool but we very much enjoyed our dinner and breakfast overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deirdreclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Nice hotel, front of house very welcoming and helpful. Bar staff also very friendly. However I was very disappointed in the spa and in particular the therapist I had as she was very abrupt, not at all welcoming and generally not very nice. My sister also had same girl and experienced same abrupt attitude and as a result we had a very disappointing experience as the main purpose of our trip was to have relaxing spa treatments. Therapist name was Hazel. However the rest of my gang had a very nice experience with lovely therapists. My sister was celebrating her 60th birthday and it was a shame that she was treated like this and as a result will not be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 400kate500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus_Preston, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear 400kate500,

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review on tripadvisor and firstly I would like to wish your sister a very Happy 60th Birthday.

I would like to apologise most sincerely about the way in which you and your sister were greeted when you entered Solas Spa for your treatments. Having spoken to our Spa Manager, I know she has since contacted you to apologise and she looks forward to welcoming you both back to Solas Spa very soon when I hope we will exceed your expectations in all aspects of your visit.


I am glad to read that you liked the hotel and found the front of house and bar staff to be very friendly. I am very lucky to have such a great team working with me here in the hotel!

I am genuinely sorry for your spa experience and I would appreciate if you could pass on my apologies to your sister. Once again thank you for your feedback and if I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,
Seamus Preston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed 2 nights on a golf trip, did Enniscrone and Rosses Point while staying there-

Had a great breakfast both mornings, rooms were quiet, peaceful, easy access. Parking was plentiful, stopped in the pub to watch the Cup final, was quite crowded but pulled a decent pint.

Staff was helpful, and city center has some good restaurants-

No worries at all.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keith g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballincar
2.1 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,760 reviews
2 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
579 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#3 of 8 in Sligo
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
518 reviews
4.5 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
2 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#7 of 8 in Sligo
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo

Address: Ballincar, Rosses Point Road | Sligo, Ballincar, Sligo, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo > Ballincar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballincar
Price Range: £78 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the wild and beautiful countryside of Rosses Point, the Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa in Sligo is an easy 5 minutes drive to Sligo's city centre, business travelers will find Finisklin Business Park just minutes away and the leisure guest will enjoy a round of golf at the renowned County Sligo Golf Club or a trip to the beach at Rosses Point village only 2km's from the hotel. Sligo is a thriving city boasting wonderful shopping, enviable outdoor activities - surfing, golfing, angling to mention a few, and impressive historic and cultural attractions, not to forget a lively cafe and pub culture for an enjoyable night out. This superior 4* hotel boasts 132 luxury bedrooms, a fully equipped gym and leisure centre with an 18-meter indoor heated pool, children's pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Solas Spa and Wellness Centre offers the ultimate relaxation experience, indulge in one of the wonderful Elemis treatments, or unwind in the Thermal suite and relaxation room. The hotel has 132 stylishly furbished deluxe guest rooms including three stunning Executive suites, seven Junior suites, and 11 spacious Business Class rooms. We also offer six rooms designed specifically for guests with disabilities. Business amenities at this 4-star property include a business center, 7 meeting rooms, and the Benbulben ballroom. Dining options at this spa hotel include Benwisken Bar & Classiwbawn restaurant. The staff can arrange wedding services, business services, and limo/town car service. Guest parking is complimentary. The property is a non smoking property. The 132 air-conditioned guestrooms at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo include minibars (stocked upon request) and laptop safes. Televisions are equipped with cable channels and omplimentary TV Internet access. Rooms have dial-up Internet access and WI-Fi. Bathrooms offer handheld showerheads, makeup/shaving mirrors, hair dryers, and complimentary toiletries. Additional amenities include coffee/tea makers and irons/ironing boards. In addition, amenities available on request include in-room massages and wake-up calls. Housekeeping is offered daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rezidor, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel And Spa, Sligo
Radisson Rosses Point
Radisson Blu Hotel Sligo
Radisson Sligo
Sligo Radisson
Radisson Hotel Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing