We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour of Ireland 2013”
Review of Philmar House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Philmar House
Ranked #1 of 1 Ballincar B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tour of Ireland 2013”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

To celebrate my 60th birthday, my wife and I decided to tour the west and southern coasts of Ireland. We could not have had a better start than Philmar House in Co Sligo.
Set back in beautiful gardens you just knew this was going to be good......and it did not disappoint. Mary, our host, was there to greet us and, even arriving a little early, our room was ready. Spacious, airy and spotless this seemed ideal for the one-night stay. Our large bathroon was just across the hall, some might have an issue with this but not us.
Mary was an absloute fountain of knowledge about the local area and gave us many ideas for the day, however, we just decided to take the 5-minute drive down to Rosses Point. Beautiful place, the sun was out, the beach full and everyone enjoying themselves.
We stayed for an hour or so and then drove back and into Sligo town. Lovely old Irish town with the river running through and plenty of shops, cafes and bars for all tastes.
Full Irish breakfast the next morning was both tasty and plentiful. Day 2 of our tour was to be spent in the Galway area and Mary even 'phoned a few B&B's on our behalf to book our next night's accommodation.
We will go back to Rosses Point in the not too distant future and will certainly be calling on Mary again, this hotel is very highly recommended.
Sean and Christina F

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanyWales13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    15
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
40
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Just returned from a fantastic true Irish welcome at Philmar House. Mary was the perfect hostess, with local knowledge, booked our restaurant in Rosses Point, taxis - nothing a trouble. En-suite room was spotlessly clean, with everything we needed. Full breakfast selection, with a very plentiful full Irish. Lovely gardens to sit in - well recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Just back from Philmar house & a lovely break in County Sligo. Well recommended. The B&B is well worth a visit. Mary made our long weekend with loads of fantastic local knowledge.
Many thanks. Barbara M.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a lovely one night stay at this B&B while attending a wedding at the Radisson across the road. A welcoming hostess, lovely clean room with ensuite and a plentiful and delicious breakfast the next morning - a great B&B!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldieLocks01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverdale, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

My wife, grand daughter and myself recently enjoyed a stay at Philmar House. Mary gave us a very warm Irish welcome upon our arrival. Our room was extremely nice and spacey. Mary made sure we had everything we needed and gave us some very useful advice regarding the area's sites and activities. We were provided with an extensive breakfast menu and Mary certainly prepares awesome breakfasts! I look forward to the next time I am in the area and being able to stay at Philmar House again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott AZ
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Mary is a lovely host. We had a great stay here with wonderful breakfast, spotless room and enjoyed looking out on Mary's beautiful garden. Mary gave us great advice on things to see and do and sent us in to Sligo for dinner at a terrific historical pub, Donaghy's @ Coach Lane. We loved the drive out to Rosses Point. Philmar sits right across the street from the Raddisson but given a choice, I would choose the Philmar every time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyJack123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

This was a wonderful B and B. Mary, the hostess went above and beyond. They beds were comfy and breakfast delicious. Very close to town and some great pubs and restaurants. Would definatly return here next time in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wickedcute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballincar
2.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
4.2 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,615 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,067 reviews
4.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
421 reviews
4.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philmar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philmar House

Property: Philmar House
Address: Philmar Philmar Rosses Point Road, Ballincar, Sligo, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo > Ballincar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ballincar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Philmar House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Philmar B&B enjoys old world charm with modern comforts in a quiet scenic location just 4km form the town of Sligo. This delightful B&B is an Ideal base for touring Yeats country and Donegal and features a large garden for guests to relax. All bedrooms are located on the ground floor and consists of TV, hairdryer, tea making facilities. Relax in the comfortable guest sitting room. Delicious breakfast menu available in the dining area. Come and enjoy the 21st anniversary of Sligo International Choral Festival with music and singing and includes 40 choirs from 5 countries which is held over 5 days in October. The accommodation is just minutes away from championship golf course, beaches, yachting and tennis. Conveniently the B&B is beside the Raddison Hotel and only minutes from the Clarion Hotel, Sligo. Throughout your stay, you are ideally located to enjoy hill walking, cycling, fishing and surfing or you could just make your way to Rosses Point where the beaches are perfect for walking and swimming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Philmar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing