We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely!”
Review of Mount Edward Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mount Edward Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Grange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saluzzo, Piemonte, Italy
1 review
“lovely!”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Very nice the place, great location in the nature and wonderful view over the sea and the mount.
Beautiful and clean room. Nice owner, hearty welcome and good breakfast!
Point of departure for many interesting location: Sligo bay, Donegal, Yeats County and Knochnarea.

Guido.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gui04_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    24
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
57
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Unna, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

I stayed at the Mount Edward Lodge just 1 Night ago and I was really happy that we found such an awesome Lodge by chance. The rooms are tastefully put together and very clean, the beds are very comfortable, the owner Maureen is a doll and breakfast was lovely! The prices are very fair!!! I will be back for sure!

Room Tip: All rooms are extremely nice and well put together!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2012

A lovely B&B in a remote and scenic part of Ireland. Beautiful views of the local countryside, including Ben Bulben. Nice rooms and a wonderful hostess. And ... if you get there soon, you can see the cutest puppies ever (they have a litter of 3 month old English pointers)!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umea, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2012

This B&B is fantastic! Clean, modern rooms, great breakfast and an amazing view. As a plus, Maureen (who was kind enough to take us in even though we showed up at her door close to midnight) is an excellent hostess.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skelleftea, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stumbled on MEL late at night, but the hostess was very friendly despite the late hour. The breakfast was great, the room had an excellent view and the price was spot on. The wifi is complementary and works very well.

I would recommend to families, couples, single travellers and groups.

But if you don't finish your breakfast, the motherly Maureen will give you a look =)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montespertoli, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2012

I would suggest the Mount Edward Lodge to everybody!
Beautiful location with very amazing panoramic view!
Many animals such as sheeps live around the lodge.
Special thanks to Maureen for the great hospitality!
See you next time!
Leonardo & Valentina

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonardo9111972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bear Creek, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Criteria for a great B&B:
*Exceptionally Clean
*Great Decor
*Breathtaking View and Wonderful Surroundings
*Friendly Service
*Breakfast Choice with Excellent Food
*Home Away From Home Atmosphere
Mount Edward Lodge meets all of the above and so I highly recommend Maureen's B&B if you are spending a night or a week in one of the most beautiful parts of Ireland. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grange
9.0 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,050 reviews
5.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
4.3 mi away
Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ocean Heights B&B
Ocean Heights B&B
#1 of 2 in Ballinfull
82 reviews
3.0 mi away
Rowanville Lodge
Rowanville Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grange
201 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lissadell Lodge B&B
Lissadell Lodge B&B
#1 of 1 in Carney
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Edward Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Edward Lodge

Property: Mount Edward Lodge
Address: Ballinfull, Grange, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Grange
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Grange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Edward Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Edward Lodge is a luxury Fáilte Ireland Approved B&B located on the Northwest coast of Ireland.It lies nestled between Sligo's dramatic Benbulben mountain and the sea, and boasts panoramic views that overlook the Atlantic ocean, Innismurray Island and the Donegal Mountains. It is an ideal base for touring Yeats Country and the surroundings, suitable for both relaxing holidays or a business trip. Situated only 2km from Streedagh Beach, 14km from Sligo town and 5 minutes from the local village Grange, where you will find Traditional Irish pubs and Award winning restaurants.Your hostess Maureen McGowan has been welcoming guests to her award-winning, magnificently situated luxury bungalow near Grange, Sligo, for over twenty five years. You will receive a homely Traditional Irish welcome on your arrival and Maureen holds Fáilte Ireland Irish Welcome Award for her outstanding hospitality. Only the finest local ingredients are used for breakfast at Mount Edward Lodge with fresh meat from the local butcher and Maureen's own free-range eggs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mount Edward Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing