We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great retreat and amazing breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mount Edward Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mount Edward Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Grange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
1 review
“Great retreat and amazing breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Firstly, sorry to Maureen for taking so long to review! Things get hectic on the road.

We were driving around looking for a place to say when we knocked on the door at Mount Edward in September. Maureen greeted us and was immediately welcoming. The rates were more than reasonable and we put our feet up feeling like we were at home for the evening. The views from the room were great and we had everything we needed.

Maureen's breakfast was the best I'd had in months and from memory I'm pretty sure I didn't need lunch that day!

Definitely a great cosy spot you should visit on your trip to Ireland.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank playlesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mountedwardlodge, Owner at Mount Edward Lodge, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thanks for kind review. I'm glad that you felt at home during your stay. Hope you had a enjoyable time on the rest of your travels and look forward to seeing you in this part of the world again. Kind regards, Maureen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    23
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
55
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

We had a wonderful couple of nights at Mount Edward Lodge in September. Our room was great, evening spent in the lovely garden while my husband serenaded us with his bagpipes was special. Maureen's breakfasts were outstanding and her tips for sightseeing just the best. What a great base for discovering the beauty of the Sligo countryside. We'd recommend this spot to absolutely everyone thinking of travelleing to this part of the world.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We visited Grange in March and we are finally getting around to writing reviews. We had a wonderful stay and Maureen was a wonderful hostess. It was my husbands first trip to Ireland and his first time ever staying in a B and B. What a perfect place to pick for him. Maureen made us all feel so welcome and the breakfast and breakfast room was great. Two of us were vegetarian and the range free eggs were so delicious. My husband loved the traditional Irish breakfast which he had each morning. It's a bit chilly in March but the heated beds made the sleeping very comfortable. Thanks for everything Mary.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mef789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Maureen's bed and breakfast was a delightful experience for us Americans and our Belfast friend. Maureen immediately made us feel welcome and relaxed, like visiting a friend. Her beautiful garden gleamed in the sunny warm weather that we were fortunate to experience. The rooms are comfortable, well-equipped and have beautiful views of the sea. Breakfast was so Irish and delicious. We felt quite pampered and will never forget our visit.

Room Tip: The far corner room has lots of windows and beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

It seems churlish not to give this 5 stars. Almost everything deserves it. Maureen will know who I am from my comments as I've already commented on the water personally.

This is a modern bed and breakfast facility with a location to die for. Literally a two minute drive will get you to some of the greatest beaches in the world...they are not sandy but stony not meant for lying on but breathtaking, wild, historical and I shall return with my fishing gear...loads of history in the area and scenery you simply have to see it...

The accommodation was quite spotless and clean. The welcome was lovely. The rooms are an add on extension of the main house but well done. Yes they are slightly small. I travel solo so such things do not affect me. Wifi connectivity was good. However like most irish B and B's there is no satellite TV (don't waste your time with the terrestrial channels). In these days of satellites I don't really understand why they are all so slow to upgrade. cost I suppose...

I had a minor issue with hot water. They have two systems and occasionally they go out of sync leaving you without. Simply ask Maureen and they will switch it back on.

There are no evening meals but I could certainly recommend the Davis restaurant at the Yeats Tavern a short five minute drive south. They were mind-numblingly busy but managed to find me a little table in their bar and the food and service was brilliant.

This is not an area to be without a car. it is wild and I would recommend that the first time you drive here you do so in daylight.

The measure of a place is whether one would go back. I shall return, I hope many times.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alancaerdydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinheim
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We were 3 - all over 70 - and stood unfortunately only 1 night on our trip from Conamara to Donegal. Maureen gave us a warm welcome and the feeling of coming home. We had 2 beautiful rooms overlooking the landscape up to the horizont all was excellent especially the great breakfast. It was a warm summer afternoon and we had a Atlantik-swim in the nearby sandy beach and a dinner with our wine, bread, cheese in the nice and quiet garden. This was a feeling of pure happiness in the nature. Thank you Maureen for all.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HamletReinheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Mount Edward Lodge is set in breathtaking surroundings, off the main road from Bundoran to Sligo. It is well signposted from the main road and well worth a visit. The welcome received from the owner, Maureen, on arrival, makes you feel relaxed and that "totally at home" atmosphere remains throughout the stay.

Unfortunately we only had 2 nights stay there, but it would be high on our "must stay there again list"! The rooms were very comfortable, breakfasts were all home cooked with plenty of choice, and no requests were too much trouble.

The views from the front rooms were amazing and from the rear facing rooms the views of the mountains were very imposing. The entire setting of Mount Edward Lodge is perfect for a relaxing, get away from it all, break. The local area has several very good restaurants and pubs with music at night. I would certainly recommend this B&B to anyone wanting a peaceful, relaxing break.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grange
7.1 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
5.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
4.3 mi away
Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
The Holyrood Hotel
The Holyrood Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bundoran
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
8.1 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Heights B&B
Ocean Heights B&B
#1 of 2 in Ballinfull
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Edward Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Edward Lodge

Property: Mount Edward Lodge
Address: Ballinfull, Grange, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Grange
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Grange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Edward Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Edward Lodge is a luxury Fáilte Ireland Approved B&B located on the Northwest coast of Ireland.It lies nestled between Sligo's dramatic Benbulben mountain and the sea, and boasts panoramic views that overlook the Atlantic ocean, Innismurray Island and the Donegal Mountains. It is an ideal base for touring Yeats Country and the surroundings, suitable for both relaxing holidays or a business trip. Situated only 2km from Streedagh Beach, 14km from Sligo town and 5 minutes from the local village Grange, where you will find Traditional Irish pubs and Award winning restaurants.Your hostess Maureen McGowan has been welcoming guests to her award-winning, magnificently situated luxury bungalow near Grange, Sligo, for over twenty five years. You will receive a homely Traditional Irish welcome on your arrival and Maureen holds Fáilte Ireland Irish Welcome Award for her outstanding hospitality. Only the finest local ingredients are used for breakfast at Mount Edward Lodge with fresh meat from the local butcher and Maureen's own free-range eggs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mount Edward Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing