We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just a super vacation!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of marsh cottage

Cottage from the front in our field
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage from the front in our field
View as you drive down the lane way
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Cottage from the front in our field
View as you drive down the lane way
view from other side from field before we painted it pale blue
stove fire area
view to stove fire area
view of kitchen and sitting area with dining table
Corner of the kitchen area
view from the front door, rosemary, thyme and sage growing there...
main bedroom
Main bedroom
The back bedroom
The bathroom
view to the far right of cottage.
back view.
wall in front of the cottage
Streedagh beach
View from the back bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Grange, County Sligo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
OWreth
Lubeck, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just a super vacation!”
Reviewed 3 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Two years ago I and my friend booked the marsh cottage and it was just fantastic and romantic!

In fact it was so romantic that she became (short after that) my girlfriend and (short after that)
my wife :-)!

Therefore we decided to book the marsh cottage again and we made the same fantastic experience! Ireland’s landscape is awesome and sometimes even breathtaking and the people are super nice and always willing to help! The marsh cottage is exactly the place where you want to spend a calm, romantic, recovering and “no-mobile phone is bothering me” vacation and Catherine`s support is just lovely! She did send all needed information pro-active (no need to ask), she again gave us tips of where to go and what to see and was again always making sure that we have everything we need. Just super!

So given that we have had the pleasure to experience the marsh cottage and Catherine’s hospitality twice (and certainly not the last time) we can definite recommend that you spend your vacation there!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2017
I am so glad that you found Sligo and its landscape beautiful and that you came back to Marsh Cottage for a second holiday.
Thank you for taking such good care of our cottage, we really appreciate guests like you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew F
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Christmas week in a lovely cottage near Grange, County Sligo, Ireland.”
Reviewed 5 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

After a last minute change of plans, a frantic Internet search left us with few options in our chosen area. Taking a leap in the dark we contacted Catherine to enquire about availability. We are so glad we did. In short, the photos of the outside of this wonderful "away from it all" cottage don't do it the justice it deserves. Even though it's only a few hundred yards from the main Sligo road it may as well have been in the middle of no-where. The communications, directions, advice and guidance provided beforehand were more than we could have hoped for and helped us choose what we needed to bring along. On arrival we found the cottage had been fully aired, the living area stove had been set ready for use (with a starter fuel supply), the storage heaters had been turned on, there was clean linen on the beds (new in the master bedroom) and the whole place had been cleaned from top to bottom. Essentially the cottage was as described. We made it our home and base for a week and it served us very nicely. Leaving the stove ticking over whilst out kept the place warm and cosy given we were subjected to two back to back storms (Barbara and Connor). This is a lovely retreat, its not an ultra modern house, indeed the lack of phone signal indoors meant our older tennage children were forced to talk to each other, play board games and even "read" when we weren't out walking, horse riding, at the local surfers beach or visiting family in Sligo and the surrounding area... this was a welcome change and helped us enjoy a traditional family Christmas.
We can't Catherine enough, it ticked all the boxes for us and we look forward to staying there again, assuming it's available :-)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2017
Dear Andrew and Maureen,
I smiled when I read about older teenagers being forced to talk to each other. Marsh Cottage does that and we have found the same with our family.
Thank you for your kind words, yo were lovely people to have to stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona C
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very special holiday house”
Reviewed 20 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had the most perfect weeks holidays at Marsh Cottage. The house is just beautiful - it was a privilege to stay there, surrounded by the owner's beautiful artwork and furnishings. With no television or wifi, it was great to get away from screens for a week. Apart from horse riding lessons in Bundoran, the kids spent their time exploring the field (great excitement at finding an Irish hare hiding in the grass), climbing trees, finding fossils at Streedagh Beach and doing a bit of reading and crafts in the evenings.

The house was really warm and cosy and very comfortable, and the kids loved the bunk beds in their bedroom. We spent many a blissful moment sitting on the bench at the front of the house listening to the birds singing - pure relaxation. The house was perfect for exploring the region, with stunning views of Benbulben on the drive to the main road. Highly recommended if you need a break from busy, modern life. From initial booking to leaving, the owner was very helpful and welcoming.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2015
Thank you for taking the time and for leaving us this lovely review, I am so glad that you were happy staying in Marsh Cottage.
Kind regards Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deirdre m
Craigavon, United Kingdom
1 review
“quaint little cottage in a remote rural setting”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The service I received from both tripadvisor and the owner were' second to none', in fact I was greeted on arrival by the lovely owners who showed me about the cottage and advised me on the things to do and see in the surrounding area. Although the cottage may not be to everyone's taste it certainly catered to mine. We spent days lying at the beach, nights around the barbecue and rounded this off with a few hot whiskies in front of the open fire. The cottage is quite central to beaches etc and a short drive to Grange will take you to shops, pubs, restaurants etc I loved the relaxed atmosphere about this little place and although some may not be able to live without their phone, I could. Loved it!!

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2017
Deirdre,
I cant believe that I failed to respond to your lovely review.So glad that you were happy in the cottage. Come back sometime! You were lovely guests
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lotte39
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“*beautiful original cottage*”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I stayed with two of my friends in this lovely old cottage and we had a great time.
The Character of this old cottage is amazing, it brings you back into a different time with the low doors (ceiling is very high) the stone fire place and other character features. The views to the back are stunning, rolling hills and lovely countryside. The perfect place for a quiet and relaxed break, no noise, no direct neighbours, we just loved it.
Also it is just a stroll away from the water, where you have amazing views to Mullaghmore castle.
Strandhill is just a 25 min drive away and Bundoran even closer, about 15min drive, which is perfect for surfing.
Big Thanks to Catherine for everything.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing