We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little Gem in the West Of Ireland!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre
Ranked #1 of 3 Mullaghmore B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Little Gem in the West Of Ireland!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Just back from a week-end stay at The Pier Head Hotel. The most friendly and helpful staff I have ever experienced. Top marks to the staff I can't go into every detail but one of the dining room staff asked, if every thing was ok. We replied yes, and she said if there is anything we needed she would do her best to get it for us. That says it all. Rooms comfy, clean and with a great view. A nice touch was this, there is a superb balcony / terrace off the restaurant which is right on the foreshore, but get this, it is non smoking. I enjoyed my breakfast coffee there without the worry of someone lighting up beside me.

Room Tip: Ask for sea or harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    160
    90
    44
    55
See reviews for
83
274
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

For 69 Euro a night (double room) we felt it was worthwhile a try! Mullaghmore is a lovely, quiet, relaxing village with a great beach, two pubs (who offer restaurant food), one little shop and one restaurant. First we had a very small double room, clean and well kept (the double bed was really small) with seaview (nice) but we happened to be above the kitchen so the noise of the fridge (or generator, or air conditioning or whatever it was) kept us awake. When mentioned the next day we were offered immediately (great service!) a different room which was quieter and also more spacious. (still the same size bed) Breakfast was average and to get eggs proved to be a bit of a challenge (typical Irish breakfast, plus muesli and fruit on offer too but no cheese or ham or little cakes). Staff were friendly and accommodating however at times they seemed to be a bit overwhelmed (very young people working there). Food in the hotel restaurant was very nice and worthwhile the wait. Book in advance if you want to try "Eithne by the sea" as this is a very popular place and just walking in on a Saturday meant no tables available at all. So cannot comment on the food there. The night life of Mullaghmore seems to happen on Saturdays (compared to Friday where everything was closed at midnight) with Karaoke in one pub and live cover band in the other. But for such a small place that was already impressive. Not sure if I'd return but certainly a very enjoyable weekend and would recommend it to everyone who fancies a quiet, relaxing stay with beautiful scenery!

Room Tip: I wouldnt recommend 106! 119 was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miriam0302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We've stayed in this hotel before but more recently have just called either for a drink or snack. We were back yesterday,which was a beautiful sunny day. Mullaghmore boasts a clean sandy beach to one side of the hotel and on the other side it is a walker's dream, as the view is wonderful, looking down on the sea.

The staff in the hotel were all warmly welcoming and vigilant. I'd no sooner entered the bar than I was

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fuchsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derry city
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

just back from a short break in mulaghmore, stayed at this hotel. what a wonderful place to stay, staff were excellent very helpful, the receptionist was just fabulous. leisure area was very clean & well maintained. the bar was a bit uncomfortable very hard seating but the staff made it very welcome. food........... bar food was excellent fresh and very cheap, breakfast was a bit of ok , if 60 people were in the hotel they would have 60 slices of bacon and the wait for eggs was very long (no breakfast chef i guess). over all a lovely stay going back in sept this would be our 4th stay this year. robert browne retired chef.

Room Tip: 128 & room 130 best rooms mind all rooms are fine but these 2 are fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbobDerryCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed for the weekend and had the most relaxing time. We ate in the restaurent which was beautiful and good value. Our room was overlooking the sea on the 2nd floor and the view was so magnificent..on Sat evening we were looking over the bay when two beautiful dolphins came in right beside the railing!! they played a few minutes and left but it was such an unexpected delight!! We will definately be back!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view!! Its so worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolinaIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I don't usually bother about posting on places I've stayed in but I have to place a post in defence of this very nice hotel.I stayed at this hotel while attending the Mullaghmore triathlon.I was anxious about my stay after reading the postings on trip advisor.
I had no issues at all with my stay.My rate was very reasonable,Room was spotlessly clean and comfortable.We had a meal for 4 adults and one child with drinks in the bar which came to a total of 65 euro.We were all extremely pleased with our food.
Next morning we haf a beautiful breakfast,the staff couldn't have done more to help us with our prerace requests.There was an excellent selection available for breakfast.
The hotel allowed us to hold on to our rooms until 1.30 so we could shower after our race.I didn't do this as I was happy to let them get on with preparing for their next guests and had my post race shower in the pool area.Again the staff there couldn't have been more helpful.
The post race meal was held in the hotel and they provided food for 400+ triathletes.Again the food was top notch and the friendly atmosphere caused us to linger late into the afternoon.
The location is spectacular.This is a small West of Ireland hotel.It has been affected by the downturn in our economy like so many other businesses.It could certainly do with a lick of paint in some areas but that is not of huge importance to me when visiting an area with so much natural beauty.
I am definitely staying in this hotel again next year and am very happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 532Anto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel for a weekend break 6th June. The scenery was spectacular and the lack of rain made it even better! Our room was at the side of the hotel so we didn't have a harbour view. As we were only staying for two nights we didn't enquire if there was a room with a sea-view available. We will next time! Our room was small and basic without tea/coffee facilities however the room was bright, clean and the bed was very comfortable. It was unusual not to have a hotel information book especially if it's your first visit to the hotel and the surrounding area. Contrary to some of the reviews we found the staff very pleasant and helpful. This is the place to come if you want to get away from it all and recharge your batteries! We would certainly visit again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have a balcony and a fabulous view of the harbour and the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullaghmore
12.1 mi away
Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre
15.1 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
21.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
11.7 mi away
Bay View Hotel & Leisure Centre
11.3 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre

Property: Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre
Address: Mullaghmore, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Mullaghmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mullaghmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 3 star hotel (all rooms en-suite with flat screen TVs) Leisure Centre, Beauty Salon, Hair Dressing, 2 bars, Restaurant and Function Room. We cater for: singles, couples, families, groups, corporate, wedding, tours and more. Live music every Saturday night in our Quay Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre Hotel Mullaghmore
Pier Head Hotel, Spa And Leisure Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing