We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful host couldn't do enough”
Review of Whitethorn Lodge

Whitethorn Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Whitethorn Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Ballina B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Whitethorn Lodge and hope to stay again. We visited from Australia and went in search of the ancestors and history of this beautiful part of Ireland. Our wonderful hostess could not have been more helpful during our stay even kindly doing our washing for us as we were hard pressed on our 5 week driving tour of the UK and Ireland. The room was very comfortable and the house lovely. Breakfast was excellent. The property has easy parking and is situated within easy walk to shops and restaurants. Our hostess Anne gave excellent advice on places to go and people to contact during our visit. Sad to leave.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms have wheelchair access with bathrooms also wheelchair friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

This was the best place that we stayed in during our holiday around Europe! Will be going there again and highly recommended to anyone visiting the area. The generosity and kindness of the host blew us away!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Levi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This was our first visit to Lough Derg. Whitethorn Lodge lives up to its reputation: large fresh rooms, lovely garden, wonderfully kind hosts and delicious breakfasts. We much appreciated the attention to our anniversary. Many thanks Anne and Martin!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed equally spacious and had nice views of the surrounding gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wind4surfing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Myself and my partner stayed here for one night in August.
We found the owners extremely friendly and helpful.
The B&B is conveniently located near the village of Killaloe.
The rooms are spacious, bright, clean, and comfortable.
The breakfast was very nice with plently to eat.
i would highly recommend staying in this B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonC1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I currently stayed at the Whitethorn Lodge in Ballina along with all my family for my brother's wedding. I would just like to let everyone know what a wonderful place this is to stay. The proprietor Anne, was an absolute star and a wonderful host. I cannot praise her enough, the breakfasts were beautiful with plenty to choose from. Anne went above and beyond her duties as a hostess and really made our weekend complete.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We arrived quite late on the night of our reservation and Anne not only recommended a great local pub, she called in a dinner reservation for us. The rooms were spotless and comfortable. The next day Anne served a delicious breakfast and advice on the best ways to spend our day in the area. Anne was one of the nicest people in a country full of nice people! We all enjoyed our stay a great deal.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank REBECCA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

.My husband and I stayed here in June 2014, Melvyn is disabled and we found the rooms well appointed for both of us, Ann O'Conner, our hostess, couldn't do enough for us and Melvyn awarded her and Whitethorn Lodge 11 out of 10. Breakfast was good and set us up for the day son we didn't need anything else to eat until evening, Ann recommended and booked tables at a couple of great places nearby, and she rang in advance to book us on a boat trip on Loch Dergh. We had a fantastic time and felt as though we had arrived there as strangers but left as friends,

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballina
0.6 mi away
Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre
0.9 mi away
The Killaloe Hotel & Spa
10.8 mi away
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,987 reviews
12.0 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
862 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lakeland House
Lakeland House
#1 of 6 in Ballina
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitethorn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitethorn Lodge

Address: Whitethorn Lodge 1 Shannon View, Ballina, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Ballina
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ballina
Price Range: £70 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitethorn Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Whitethorn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing