We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of Bansha Castle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bansha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bansha Castle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Our family spent close to a week at this idyllic property in May 2014 and our hosts John and Teresa couldn't have been more accommodating. Ideal accommodation for family groups with 7 large bedrooms all with own facilities and plenty of privacy. Had planned to have dinner and breakfast on our first night due to arrival times, but the breakfast was so good it became a regular morning mainstay. The two dinners we enjoyed were wonderful too, so much so, that the self catering option was soon put to bed despite the large and fully equiped kitchen/dining rooms. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Six of the rooms are on the first floor with a seventh on a second floor. Two of the rooms are one s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
62
3
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

A group of 15 of us stayed here for a conference about blogging (BlogHouse by Navigate Media). The Bansha Castle offered everything we could have needed. The kitchen was charming, spacious and well equipped. The dinning room offered a great place to conduct meetings and the owners even prepared meals for us at lunch time. Each bedroom was charming and is just what one would think sleeping in a castle (with modern day accoutrements) should be.

The outdoor space, a large garden with plenty of seating protected by a roof and has heaters, is perfect for late night talks about touring the lovely Irish landscape.

As for the town, Bansha might not be a familiar town but it's a great place to stay if you want a typical Irish experience in a small town. The Bansha Castle is close to the town's amenities and even an old church with Celtic tombstones eroding away.

Make sure you stop in at Nelly's Pub and say hi to Nelly herself!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderfullTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwood, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Three generations of my family stayed there for a week in April, 2014. Our ages ranged from 3 1/2 to 68 (with 5 children 7and under). It was the perfect setup for a large group. The kitchen was ideal for breakfasts whenever anyone wandered downstairs and the young mothers appreciated the washer and dryer. We could walk to the local convenient store as well as the church for Easter Sunday but felt as though we were at a country estate with the long driveway. The seven bedrooms were all different and beautifully furnished. The double rainbow during a rainstorm was magical. I would highly recommend Bansha Castle to any family who wants the solitude of a country mansion but the convenience of a local town and a large city 8 miles away.
John and Teresa were perfect hosts- there if we needed them but otherwise out of sight.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Just returned from Bansha following my fathers 89th birthday weekend. And what a weekend it was...wonderful. Theresa and John are the perfect hosts, we felt welcome without being watched. The building is gorgeous, and the rooms spectacular all immaculately prepared for our stay. There were 19 of us and all from youngest to eldest loved it. The facilities are excellent and the kitchen is well kitted and easy to work in. We have booked our next stay already. During your stay a visit to Nellie's pub is essential, and within walking distance for the moderately fit. Thank you again to Theresa and John looking forward to next year already.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed here for a weekend family celebration for my fathers 80th. From the moment we contacted Bansha Castle about rental, John & Teresa have been nothing but attentive from the organisation of the weekend through to the hosting. We had a large party ranging from infants to grandparents and everyone was extremely well catered for. The house provides a wonderful option for that personal space which groups may prefer over the usual hotel options and at a very reasonable cost. We requested catering for our stay and the food (breakfast & dinner) was of a very high standard (and full compliments to Teresa on her skills here). The house and accommodation was again of high quality, clean and well maintained. The grounds and house, snooker table, Wi-Fi, TV & DVD provided all the entertainment we could have possibly required. The house is situated a short drive from the Glen of Aherlow and multiple walks and activities. As the organiser of the weekend, I would not hesitate to recommend Bansha Castle and all my family really enjoyed our stay. I fully intend to return with a group of friends, as soon as I can get them together!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nopieslikehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Bansha Castle is just amazing, such a beautiful place. The Castle is as warm and inviting as the owners, could not find a fault if i tried. Thank you so much Teresa and John for an awesome weekend. You truly are fantastic hosts. I would recommend a visit. You will regret nothing. :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superspinach .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We recently had a weekend family get together at Bansha Castle. It is a very comfortable house tastefully decorated. The fire was lighting when we arrived and we received a very warm welcome from the hosts. They couldn't have done more to make us feel at home. All the bedrooms feel luxurious and the kitchen is very well equipped making self catering easy. There is plenty to do in the locality, we spent Saturday afternoon at Cahir Castle which was a particular hit with the youngest members of our group. I hope to return and would have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MRC_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bansha
7.2 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
8.8 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
583 reviews
6.9 mi away
Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
406 reviews
17.3 mi away
Hotel Minella
Hotel Minella
#1 of 6 in Clonmel
397 reviews
19.6 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bansha Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bansha Castle

Property: Bansha Castle
Address: Bansha | Co Tipperary, Bansha, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Bansha
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Bansha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’ve ever wanted to rent a castle in Ireland, then the 300-year old Bansha Castle is all yours. This is a stunning private castle, with welcoming turf fires, period features and a gracious, elegant atmosphere you won’t find anywhere else. It is beautifully positioned amid mature private parkland by the beautiful Glen of Aherlow and the famous Galtee mountains.Built in 1760 and recently lovingly restored to its full former glory, Bansha is run by the third generation of the Russell family and they assure you of complete privacy for your family gathering, birthday celebration, small wedding or get-together of friends. Easily reached by air, road or rail, Bansha Castle presents the ultimate in castle rental in Ireland. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing