We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place for our family get together.”
Review of Bansha Castle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bansha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bansha Castle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I have just returned from Bansha Castle where I stayed with my extended family for a week. My brother and I did hours of research before settling on Bansha and, boy, did we strike gold. The house itself is beautiful, of historical interest and sits in its own, extensive gardens which are perfect to allow the children to run riot in. It offers all that you would expect for a large rental- space, comfortable rooms, wifi and a well equipped kitchen. However, it was the little extras which marked Bansha out-fresh flowers dotted throughout the house, a pre set dining table ready for celebration, a fantastic selection of books and magazines (not the usual sad collection of tatty earred rubbish) and, my own favourite, the separate wine fridge! I also have to note the patio area, complete with barbeque and gas heater, which offers a very romantic space to while away the evenings. Teresa and John live in an adjoining part of the house and were attentive without being intrusive. This had been one of my few concerns but I needn't have worried.
Bansha village is very pretty and boasts a great, old fashioned pub to sink a Guinness or four! There are many local walks, including into the nearby Glen of Aherlow. The village itself has a few local shops offering daily provisions and there is a bus service which links with more major transport hubs to Cork, Limerick and further afield. In terms of a base from which to explore, Bansha is very well positioned offering numerous possibilities. I think we managed to tick off counties Cork, Tipperary, Waterford and Limerick......and we took it easy!
Would I recommend Bansha Castle? Wholeheartedly yes!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KensingtonScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

Our week long stay at Bansha Castle was near- perfect. The castle is just the right balance of elegance and comfort. Our family of 14 (10 months to 70 years) had a marvelous time while staying there. The bedrooms were beautiful, large and comfortable. The common areas were spacious and inviting. The kitchen was large and well-equipped. We loved the beautiful walled-in, large back garden, patio, and grilling area and spent a number of evenings sitting near the outdoor warmers while enjoying wine and Guinness. The large flat grassy area in front of the castle was great for our family games and we enjoyed the short walk into Bansha to visit Nellie’s Pub or to pick up pizza for our teens.

John and Theresa could not have been more gracious hosts. They were there when we needed information or help but were not intrusive. They had two cribs ready and waiting for us when we arrived, served a delicious dinner on our first night, and helped us contact a tour bus company, fishing guide, hurling venues, and places to listen to music.

Bansha was an easy drive to much of Ireland. With the help of our hosts we did hire a tour bus for two days which was a great way to travel to the Dingle Peninsula and the Cliffs of Moher. It is a short 15 minute drive to either Cahir or Cashel; and, Adare Manor, a top golf venue, is less than an hour away. We can’t imagine a more beautiful, inviting, or convenient place to stay in Ireland. We certainly hope to stay at Bansha Castle in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JCC003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Just returned from a magical week in Bansha Castle. Our gathering of family and friends was to celebrate my 50th birthday (plus a couple of other family celebrations for good measure) and I can honestly say that the entire stay surpassed my (hopefully high) expectations and made reaching this milestone a truly happy and fun event. John and Teresa are wonderful hosts - welcoming, warm and genuine - and they have created a perfect pocket of Heaven in Bansha Castle. The delicious celebration feast was provided by Teresa and every last detail was spot on - everything from the yummy canapés on the garden terrace (we were blessed with glorious weather all week!) to the elegant dining room setting to John providing the live "Happy Birthday" and "Congratulations" songs! All of my guests had a fantastic time and we will treasure these happy memories forever. Bansha is a fantastic location to explore some of the most beautiful countryside and towns in Ireland. You really couldn't pick a better spot than Bansha Castle to do as much or as little as you want! All the rooms are beautifully furnished and comfortably luxurious - it really feels like home but grander! And watching the dawn break through the front windows is worth getting up early for - just magical! Hoping we can return again someday soon!!

Room Tip: all the rooms are beautiful and unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Our family spent close to a week at this idyllic property in May 2014 and our hosts John and Teresa couldn't have been more accommodating. Ideal accommodation for family groups with 7 large bedrooms all with own facilities and plenty of privacy. Had planned to have dinner and breakfast on our first night due to arrival times, but the breakfast was so good it became a regular morning mainstay. The two dinners we enjoyed were wonderful too, so much so, that the self catering option was soon put to bed despite the large and fully equiped kitchen/dining rooms. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Six of the rooms are on the first floor with a seventh on a second floor. Two of the rooms are one s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

A group of 15 of us stayed here for a conference about blogging (BlogHouse by Navigate Media). The Bansha Castle offered everything we could have needed. The kitchen was charming, spacious and well equipped. The dinning room offered a great place to conduct meetings and the owners even prepared meals for us at lunch time. Each bedroom was charming and is just what one would think sleeping in a castle (with modern day accoutrements) should be.

The outdoor space, a large garden with plenty of seating protected by a roof and has heaters, is perfect for late night talks about touring the lovely Irish landscape.

As for the town, Bansha might not be a familiar town but it's a great place to stay if you want a typical Irish experience in a small town. The Bansha Castle is close to the town's amenities and even an old church with Celtic tombstones eroding away.

Make sure you stop in at Nelly's Pub and say hi to Nelly herself!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderfullTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Three generations of my family stayed there for a week in April, 2014. Our ages ranged from 3 1/2 to 68 (with 5 children 7and under). It was the perfect setup for a large group. The kitchen was ideal for breakfasts whenever anyone wandered downstairs and the young mothers appreciated the washer and dryer. We could walk to the local convenient store as well as the church for Easter Sunday but felt as though we were at a country estate with the long driveway. The seven bedrooms were all different and beautifully furnished. The double rainbow during a rainstorm was magical. I would highly recommend Bansha Castle to any family who wants the solitude of a country mansion but the convenience of a local town and a large city 8 miles away.
John and Teresa were perfect hosts- there if we needed them but otherwise out of sight.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Just returned from Bansha following my fathers 89th birthday weekend. And what a weekend it was...wonderful. Theresa and John are the perfect hosts, we felt welcome without being watched. The building is gorgeous, and the rooms spectacular all immaculately prepared for our stay. There were 19 of us and all from youngest to eldest loved it. The facilities are excellent and the kitchen is well kitted and easy to work in. We have booked our next stay already. During your stay a visit to Nellie's pub is essential, and within walking distance for the moderately fit. Thank you again to Theresa and John looking forward to next year already.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bansha
11.5 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
619 reviews
10.3 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
2.8 mi away
Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
432 reviews
20.8 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Thurles
393 reviews
3.6 mi away
Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges
Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges
#2 of 3 in Glen of Aherlow
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bansha Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bansha Castle

Address: Bansha | Co Tipperary, Bansha, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Bansha
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Bansha
Price Range: £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’ve ever wanted to rent a castle in Ireland, then the 300-year old Bansha Castle is all yours. This is a stunning private castle, with welcoming turf fires, period features and a gracious, elegant atmosphere you won’t find anywhere else. It is beautifully positioned amid mature private parkland by the beautiful Glen of Aherlow and the famous Galtee mountains.Built in 1760 and recently lovingly restored to its full former glory, Bansha is run by the third generation of the Russell family and they assure you of complete privacy for your family gathering, birthday celebration, small wedding or get-together of friends. Easily reached by air, road or rail, Bansha Castle presents the ultimate in castle rental in Ireland. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing