We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coolbawn Quay Club, Marina & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveller rating
191
25
6
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
191
25
6
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding venuethe cottageslough derghen partydrinks receptionamazing weekendmagical weddingwedding receptionamazing venuelittle piece of heavenfrom start to finishromantic breakmagical placelast weekendwedding nightspecial thanksbeautiful accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 231 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We celebrated our wedding reception here in August 2013 having first viewed Coolbawn in March 2012 and it was one of the best decisions we made. Throughout over a year of contact with Terry and the rest of the staff, I could find absolutely nothing to fault them on - they are so friendly and hard-working they made the entire process so easy for us, for which we are extremely grateful.
The venue itself is gorgeous and just what we were after - something a bit different but with enough accommodation for all our guests, many of whom commented on how unique it is. It meant a lot to us that our guests could stay on site and we took advantage by having a barbecue the night before the wedding, which went down an absolute treat. I would highly recommend, the food was delicious.
Like some previous reviewers have said, we wanted to put up some of our own decor and Terry basically let us have run of the place the day before to set up, which was such a help, and Ann was fab sourcing ladders etc for us! The recent refurbishment of the marquee has been a huge success, while the rooms themselves are extremely cosy, beautifully presented and clean, I loved them.
Our wedding day ran so smoothly and this is in large part due to how hard the staff worked to ensure everyone was well looked after. All the staff were so lovely once we returned from the church, they were genuinely happy for us and this small detail did not go unnoticed, they were so easy to get on with we felt like they were part of our friends and family! Terry was a reassuring presence throughout and honestly could not have done enough for us.
Our wedding was absolutely wonderful and we would like to thank everyone at Coolbawn, we appreciate everything you did for us so much and we can't wait to visit again!

Mel and Rob

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melissa_jk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry M, Manager at Coolbawn Quay Club, Marina & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Hi Mel & Rob,

Thank you both for taking the time to post a review. We were delighted to read your comments and overjoyed that you hold such wonderful memories of your special day. It was a pleasure to look after you all.
We look forward to welcoming you back next year for your anniversary!

Terry & all the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We celebrated our wedding in Coolbawn Quay in July and it was a fantastic experience. It’s hard to know where to start, but probably with the venue itself and the setting, which is so unique. We wanted something different - which Coolbawn Quay certainly is - but it meant our guests had to travel quite far, but we knew it would be worth it as the setting on Lough Derg is beautiful. From the gorgeous cottages where everyone stays, to the lovely marquee, the little bar and the lovely decking area (the latter was a real highlight of the day and the venue due to the exceptional weather we had with guests enjoying the drinks reception beside the lake).

The staff are fantastic! It’s probably not fair to highlight certain individuals but the way it worked out we dealt with some more than others. Terry (the venue manager) was really good to deal with throughout. Laura on reception was brilliant to deal with too and so nice. Laura - her colleague on reception, Michelle - and Terry, were all very patient and accommodating, as were in contact with them a lot and sent quite a few emails and had a few requests! Ann is absolutely brilliant too and one of the nicest ladies you will ever meet. She was so helpful throughout and a pleasure to deal with. Margaret - who manages the marquee for weddings with her daughters - were great the day before setting up and on the day too. Michael in the bar and Siobhan also, were so nice and helpful. They really are an amazing group of staff and this was noted by our guests too.

The food (thanks to Rob the Chef!) is excellent. Again, lots of comments from our guests on how nice the meal was, but also the lovely breakfast each morning.
We were blessed with the weather and just it made the entire weekend (too hot for some in the marquee but we were praying for it to be hot so can’t complain!) as the venue is suited to good weather and you really could have been anywhere in the world on our wedding day with the setting and scorching sun.

You won’t get many venues like this in Ireland for a wedding, and I can’t imagine you will get a nicer group of staff. Thanks to everyone there for making our day so special and all your help. We can’t wait to visit Coolbawn Quay again.

Phillipa & Greg

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GK100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry M, Manager at Coolbawn Quay Club, Marina & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Phillipa & Greg,

Thank you both for your wonderful comments and for taking the time to post your review .We pride ourselves in making your wedding day so special. It was always a pleasure dealing with you both, planning the most important day of your life and it gives us great satisfaction to know that we delivered in every aspect of the day.
We look forward to welcoming you both back soon.

Terry & all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My wife and I got married here in August of 2013. We first met with Terry and the team in January of 2013 and even in January weather we saw the potential for a fantastic wedding venue. We wanted to get married outdoors, and fortunately for us(or thanks to the staff's faith in the child of Prague), the weather came good on the day and we were married on the deck on the water. The staff were brilliant from the first day we met them, but particularly as we got closer to the wedding, they really love the place and will do anything to make sure you and your guests enjoy the weekend. The staff all came out to enjoy the ceremony(in an unobtrusive way) and were delighted for us that it came together. We added some of our own decorations to the village and Terry was open to everything on that front. I have to mention Mags, Ann and Mary in particular who were so helpful sorting out the marquee and accommodations. We can't wait to go back for our anniversary weekend just to catch up with the ladies, they were a part of the whole weekend for us and it was great.

Like I say, we added some of our own decorations, got married in the venue and even used the deck again for our first dance, so we got the most out of the place. The recently rebuilt marquee is great, the perfect size for a wedding of about 130-180 people. The venue were very flexible, we put up a swing, a hammock, lots of bunting and temporary lighting and even gave out sparklers on the deck for our first dance, all of which was encouraged by the staff who, we felt, were keen to see how new ideas would work out in the place.

The food was amazing, just as amazing on the wedding night as on the BBQ the following day. Rob, the head chef, also doubles as the all round handyman and electrician for the village. He helped us sort out speakers for the speeches and our outdoor first dance during the wedding, and some of the TV's etc in the houses during the day(That sounds like there were lots of problems, there weren't, I just thought the spirit of the staff was great that nobody had a 'not in my job description' attitude).

Because of the size of the venue, if you take enough rooms and have enough guests stay over, which we did, you get the venue exclusively. The second night was amazing. We had music and games and even had a some kayaks on the water. The second day, though more relaxed for us, was almost as enjoyable as the wedding day.

I'm running out of superlatives, but again, couldn't recommend Coolbawn enough. Obviously, it will always be incredibly special to us but things just couldn't have gone better and I hope the place continues to thrive so we can revisit for years to come.

I absolutely can not understand a review like the one from a supposed wedding in June/July of this year. It's about 4-5 reviews ahead of this one giving only 1 star and claiming the staff were rude etc. Not the place I've visited. Some of our guests have more recently left reviews here, all giving 5 stars. We're confident that all of our guests, especially the ones that stayed in the village, were blown away.

Thanks again to Terry and the team. We'll see you again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dublin_IrelandBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry M, All the Staff at Coolbawn Quay at Coolbawn Quay Club, Marina & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear Brian, Linda & Ben,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor. We were overjoyed to read how much you enjoyed your special wedding weekend. It was an absolute pleasure taking care of you all. One memory we will all hold from your special day was of Ben singing at the ceremony - he has us all reduced to tears!

We look forward to welcoming you back to celebrate your anniversary.

Best wishes,
All the Staff at Coolbawn Quay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We were at a wedding here recently, we stayed for the weekend and we just had such a fantastic time. The setting on Lough Derg is very beautiful. The place was solely for the wedding guests which was great. The rooms are very comfortable and well decorated, The little pub on the grounds which serves food in the afternoon was great. There is watersports available. The marquee where the wedding reception was held was really comfortable with attached loos, a big bar and a large seating area and a outdoor smoking area. The food served at the wedding and the bbq the day afterwards was really really tasty. The staff were extremely helpful and couldn't do enough to make everyone feel welcome and very comfortable. I would highly recommend Coolbawn Quay for a wedding weekend.

Room Tip: Bring gear for watersports and you will need insect repellent.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Enjoyed our stay here. Didn't get chance to use spa facilities so can't comment on those. The rooms are awful small so thought it was a bit pricey. Didn't have room to put down our suitcases - had to put them in the wardrobe in order to move around the room (And still had great difficulty!!). Apart from that the food was really lovely....and the location overlooking the lake really makes the place quite special.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetsetteriam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry M, Manager at Coolbawn Quay Club, Marina & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Hi Jetsetteriam

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay and thank you for your compliments regarding the food and beauty of the location. CBQ is one of those very special places, tucked away by the side of the lake and surrounded by the finest of nature. The village is certainly not mainstream and there is no such thing as a “standard room”. It is more on the quirky side with all of the properties uniquely different in style, colour scheme and size. It is designed on the style of a traditional 19th century Irish village and, while it has all the comforts of contemporary life with good spacious bathrooms attached to each bedroom, the rooms are cottage style and some of them tend to be on the small size. We try, however, to compensate for this with the added use of a comfortable drawing room. Our emphasis is on creating a cosy home from home feel reminiscent of times past where one feels safe, welcomed and cocooned in rustic comfort. Such a pity that, on the occasion of your visit, you were disappointed with the size of your room . Do make this know to us when you plan a return visit and we will be delighted to upgrade you to one of our very beautiful suites.

We look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future for more of the CBQ experience.

Terry and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews