We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy the countryside and walk to the Suir and Tar rivers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kilmaneen Farmhouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Newcastle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Away from town, but close enough for an easy dinner, this is a lovely farm. The web directions were perfect and we loved driving there-beautiful pastoral setting. The gardens are gorgeous, the food delightful, the hosts helpful and friendly, the livestock picture-perfect clean. My husband fished both the Rivers Suir and Tar which border the farm...I watched the swans on the river, enjoyed the easy walking and birding. Kevin and Bernadette could not have been nicer. We loved being out of town and it was the perfect finale to our tour of Ireland...and easy drive up to Shannon to leave.

Room Tip: We stayed in the self catering cottage which was quite large but had the B&B breakfast.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TroutonFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmaneen Farmh... T, Owner at Kilmaneen Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Such a lovely review, TroutonFly, thank you very much. The real benefit of reviews and being able to respond to reviews is the opportunity to project what we are all about and your review certainly helps us to do that. We are particularly happy with the photos that you posted of the river. They are wonderful. It was great that you mentioned the web directions as we always encourage guests to get them from our website at www.kilmaneen.com/location to help them to find us. As all fisherman know, there are good days and bad days but time spent on the riverbank watching the wildlife and the relaxing flow of the river makes every day a good day, even for those not fishing! Maybe you will return soon to catch the 'one that got away'.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
There are newer reviews for Kilmaneen Farmhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

Kilmaneen was a wonderful glimpse of life in the Irish country side in an out of the way, peaceful and serene piece of rural Ireland. Kevin and Bernadette made us feel very welcome in their warm and homely environment. The fresh berries picked straight from the garden are a delight and it is very hard not to be greedy with them! It's a great base for exploring areas around as we did especially Cahir and Cashmel but the little villages around are also delightful. All in all, a really important part of any visit to Ireland.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmaneen Farmh... T, Owner at Kilmaneen Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

We have had many visitors from Australia this season & it is always a pleasure to accommodate them at Kilmaneen Farmhouse so thank you Ross M for including a stay with us on your trip. Yes, as you mentioned, this is a great base for touring the southern counties of Ireland. So, whether guests like to explore the immediate area or go further afield there are lots of sights to see & places to visit which can occupy several days. We are always happy to help to plan each day's adventure with guests and provide maps, brochures and friendly advice. Our local villages generally don't get enough recognition for their beautiful flower displays, tidiness and natural beauty so we were delighted that you gave them a mention too. Thank you very much for your review and we hope it will entice others from 'Down Under' to visit us at Kilmaneen. All information can be seen on our website at www.kilmaneen.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

In a hidden nook, Kilmaneen Farmhouse is unpretentious and completely wholesome. We now have so many memories to recall of our two night stay as part of our honeymoon in Ireland - including our walk to the river, the curious cows, and the incredible breakfasts of farm-fresh strawberries, raspberries and rhubard. Kevin and Bernadette were incredible hosts and such warm people. We really enjoyed swapping stories and the tasty Irish coffees. It was a perfect base to explore Tipperary, including Chair and a fantastic scenic drive to Lismore in Waterford - highly recommended. We left completely relaxed after a truly unforgettable stay! It's a long way from South Africa but we sincerely hope to be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmaneen Farmh... T, Owner at Kilmaneen Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thank you Rebecca L for taking time out in your new married life to write this review. We love having 'young romance' in Kilmaneen Farmhouse. The strawberries are all gone now from the breakfast buffet but the raspberries, grapes and plums have replaced them and the figs will be ready soon too. Cucumber juice, which has loads of health benefits, is on offer also. All together, they make a very colourful display. The scenery in this part of South Tipperary and in West Waterford is, as you said, fantastic and well worth including on a travel itinerary. We don't get to travel much but we feel very fortunate that the world comes to our door and your account of life in South Africa was so interesting & informative. Good luck and a happy life together & maybe we will see you in Ireland again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Take their word for it.... When they tell you to print out the directions, do! Fortunately, we did, and found this charming place easily, once we found our way to the starting point (of the directions!).

This is a beautiful, cozy place to stay in a spectacular part of the country. Kevin had just returned home when we arrived and was kind enough to make us afternoon tea as a pick-me-up. (Served with strawberries fresh from the garden!) We enjoyed the chance to wander and see the cows in the pastures on the way down to the river where my son was able to wet a line for a bit. Breakfast was delicious... I couldn't stop eating the wonderful rhubarb!

We had chosen to stay here, hoping to see a bit of "reql" Ireland-away from the tourist beaten track, and we certainly did. What a joy that in doing so, we were pampered in such a lovely, comfortable home as this! Thank you!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank LizardSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmaneen Farmh... T, Owner at Kilmaneen Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Thank you LizardSC for pointing out the importance of using the directions that we encourage our guests to print off from our website and carry with them. They really help. Your lovely family was a pleasure to share our home with. It was great that your son got a chance to try his hand at fishing in the river and it is for that very reason that we keep a few rods for the casual fisherman/woman to use. Our rhubarb gives us such a rich crop between early May & August and it is a great favorite of our guests for breakfast but also in crumbles, tarts etc. Glad that you enjoyed it so much. Maybe you'll be back to try it again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The biggest drawback about this place is the withdrawal symptoms that you will feel when you leave! I am thinking of a support group maybe? Who will feed me fresh ruby red strawberries for breakfast? is just one such dilemma....
The place is perfect for a relaxing break with as much or as little activity as you want. 2 local websites visitcahir.ie and www.knockmealdownactive.com give you all the details of what to do in the locality
Kilmaneen is situated on a quiet road near the knockmealdown mountains. There are loads of opportunities for hiking and biking near by
I took my dog and he was treated like a prince. The highlight for me was being able to take him swimming in the river suir which bounds the property. The short walk down to the river was awesome. Through meadows with curious cows:-) The day was clear and i had a 360 degree view of all the mountain ranges that surrounded it
The food is top quality - all fresh and homegrown as much as possible in their extensive gardens.
Ber and Kevin are very warm and kind people who will help you in everyway to enjoy your stay. As a solo traveller I was totally relaxed and at ease

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helens044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmaneen Farmh... T, Owner at Kilmaneen Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

It was great to have you back to stay with us Helens044 along with your well-behaved labrador Finn who was quite content to sleep in your car after cooling down in the river. Swimming is proving to be a very popular activity this year with the heat wave that we are enjoying so the fishermen don't have the river all to themselves as they usually do. The strawberries are one of the gems of our summer fruits but our raspberries and other summer fruits are ready now too. As before, you got the most out of your stay with us by exploring routes on your bike and on foot that you missed last time, with Kevin as your guide for some of them. There are still more adventures to discover too (maybe a canoe trip on the river which we can arrange for you) so hopefully you will come back again to us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Kilmaneen Farmhouse was recommended by colleagues who stayed there in 2010 and we were not disappointed. The Farmhouse is set in a lovely part in the Irish country and an attraction for me was the opportunity to fish the River Suir.

Upon arrival Kevin provided a very warm and genuine welcome with tea and biscuits and information about the Farmhouse, the working property and the location. We met Ber (Bernadette) next morning at breakfast. The breakfasts were very good with fresh fruit as well as cooked choices. Our bedroom and ensuite (# 3?), with a large wardrobe, was reasonably large and quite comfortable. We had initially booked for 2 nights but stayed for 3, moving for the third night into part of River Cottage. Our only small, criticism was that our room could have done with a bit more of a clean…a few cobwebs in the higher parts of the ceiling and some bird dropping outside of the door into River Cottage. The rest of the Farmhouse and the ground around the house were very clean and tidy.

Ber and Kevin were very pleasant and busy hosts and I was happy they were able to provide me with waders to use while fishing the Suir. The fishing was not great, but I hooked a couple of small brown trout…at least I can say I have fly fished for trout in Ireland. Accessing the river was a little difficult as the banks are quite high. On the day we left the Farmhouse we left a jacket behind and Ber kindly texted us hoping we had not gone to far and return to pick up the jacket.

Overall a very pleasant and relaxing stay and we have no hesitation in recommending Kilmaneen Farmhouse.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmaneen Farmh... T, Owner at Kilmaneen Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

It was great to read your review of Kilmaneen Farmhouse today Greg S, thank you very much. We really enjoyed having you both to stay and we are glad that you enjoyed your fishing which was your big draw to us. Yes, we have a lot of birds around the garden and we failed to notice the birds nesting in the little porch outside the cottage door where you stayed for your extended stay on the last night of your visit. We have not dismantled the nest but we have now put a sheet of wood underneath the nest to stop the droppings from falling down. Similarly, we have removed all cobwebs and will pay more attention to them in future although they can develop in a matter of a day or two after the rooms have been thoroughly cleaned. We hope that you enjoyed your overall visit to Ireland and that you return home safely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I cannot rate this guesthouse more highly-we were given such a lovely,warm genuine welcome and made to feel very much at home throughout our stay. Kevin gave us great advice and stories from the local area and Ber's food was really delicious. We came back very relaxed from the fabulous long weekend we spent down there even if the predicted sunshine didn't materialise!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank traveller1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmaneen Farmh... T, Owner at Kilmaneen Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thank you Traveller1208 for your kind review. Our quiet, rural location lends itself to relaxation and we are delighted that you were able to enjoy it. You got quite a lot of sightseeing into your stay too and it gave us great pleasure to share our lovely area with you. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
6.9 mi away
The Pilgrims Rest Hotel (ADULTS ONLY)
7.1 mi away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
426 reviews
8.8 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa
7.9 mi away
Raheen House Hotel
Raheen House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Clonmel
111 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Minella
Hotel Minella
#1 of 6 in Clonmel
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilmaneen Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmaneen Farmhouse

Address: Ardfinnan | Clonmel, Newcastle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Newcastle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Price Range: £49 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilmaneen Farmhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kevin and Bernadette O'Donnell offer award winning, family run 4* star Bed & Breakfast and 4*star Self-catering accommodation in Co. Tipperary near Clonmel and Cahir. Members of the O'Donnell family have lived and farmed here for six generations and the Farmhouse is over 200 years old. The accommodation has a quiet unspoilt rural setting and we endeavour to give our guests a very personal service in a genuine Irish home where they can enjoy....- Fishing on our farm in our private stretch of the rivers Suir & Tar- Walking in the Knockmealdown, Comeragh and Galty mountains- Courses including gardening, art & craft, beekeeping and others- A peaceful and relaxing stay which combines the solid comforts of the past with the modern conveniences of today- Freshly prepared, home-cooked breakfasts and evening meals (on request) made using home-grown fruit/vegetables. All dietary requirements facilitated- Nearby heritage sites - the Rock of Cashel, Cahir Castle and the Swiss Cottage ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Kilmaneen Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilmaneen Farmhouse Newcastle, Ireland - County Tipperary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing