We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like flyfishing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kilmaneen Farmhouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Newcastle B&B and Inns
Madrid
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If you like flyfishing”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I have been staying at Kilmaneen during the last seven years and I have to say that flyfishing is good at the Suir and Tar rivers. The Suir isn´t an easy river, you have to do your best using longs terminals and managing properly the river currents to avoid the drag of the fly. But if you do so you can catch trout between 25 and 35 cms, there is a good stock of them. The Tar is a smaller river and you can see many times the rising of the trout and try to catch them whith the proper fly, I got success whit an 18 olive in quill and natural CDC and a small black body sedge, wings made of natural CDC and a sparsley grey hackle.
And very important, if you are staying at Kilmanneen the fishing in their waters are free.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
28
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

What an Irish welcome did we have - we loved it. With the boss away the stay was truly memorable with the deputy in charge. The picture of the favourite cow is one to savour - we felt we were looked after as well as the cow had been. The setting is perfect - beautiful trees to admire and animals just yards away - the only thing that wakes you is the bird song. One of the few places in the area that welcomed dogs and for no extra charge - fantastic. Being out in the country does limit the power of WIFI but who wants that when you are away from it all - available here but limited by the network - not your host's fault.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room especially good for people withdogs and wheelchairs users.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farmertom186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Best place ever
Absolutely amazing
Kevin and bern are the most amazing hosts
Everything is clean.
They always go above and beyond for everyone..
Breakfast is excellent ...
Lovely homely feeling and peace and quiet for a relaxing time away

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyandjayce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I have been staying with Ber and Kevin O'Donnell when attending dogs shows in the Clonmel area over the past four years. I couldn't recommend their B&B enough. You get a warm welcome, along with a cup of tea and one of Ber's homemade goodies - great after a long drive! The breakfast is lovely too!
The B&B is in a beautiful rural setting - away from it all! I always sleep well when I am there!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youghal
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Very welcoming, pet friendly accommodation in a most beautiful and tranquil setting. While we only had an overnight stay in this charming place we were made feel very much at home as was our dog Misty. Kevin & Ber we're perfect hosts. We were welcomed with tea and biscuits by Kevin while Ber was out shopping. Our evening meal, prepared by Ber, was delicious. We stayed in the "Riverside Cottage" as we had our pet Misty with us and she enjoyed the surroundings. The accommodation was excellent with most comfortable beds. Our only regret was that we had time for only one night and did not get the opportunity to avail of the self catering facilities on this visit. However, we look forward to a return visit when we can spend more time and avail of the excellent facilities. Thank you Ber & Kevin and we look forward to meeting you again soon. From Mary, Pat, John & Misty!!!! "Woof Woof"

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

A great guest house with friendly owners who made us feel at home. We were warmly welcomed with some apple pie even though it was already after 8 in the evening when we got there.
Two friendly little dogs also live on the premises, but the hosts made sure to ask whether or not we were OK with dogs before letting them come close.
The breakfast was great, with most of the fare coming from the farm itself.

Pay attention to the directions on the website, otherwise it might be a bit difficult to find, especially after dark. It wouldn't be such a tranquil place if it was on a main road, though!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OilR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

I had a very enjoyable midweek stay in this beautiful house. The bedroom was lovely and I had a comfortable night. The only pity was there was no TV in the bedroom and I was travelling alone. Plenty of hot water. Breakfast was fabulous, really delicious especially the brown bread. Thank you!

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank DitzyB13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmaneen Farmh... T, Owner at Kilmaneen Farmhouse, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you DitzyB13 for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We put a lot of effort into the preparation of our breakfasts providing fresh fruit, smoothies, homemade yogurt and of course, freshly made brown bread, scones, brioche and savoury cakes.
We understand your comment about the televisions. Unfortunately, due to the very thick walls of the old farmhouse we have difficulty in providing TV in some of the bedrooms. However, the large TV in the guest sitting room is always available for guest use with the added bonus of a cosy wood burning stove and comfy armchairs. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
7.1 mi away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
418 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Minella
Hotel Minella
#1 of 6 in Clonmel
406 reviews
7.9 mi away
Raheen House Hotel
Raheen House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Clonmel
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa
8.8 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
3.7 mi away
Glasha Farmhouse
Glasha Farmhouse
#1 of 10 in Waterford
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilmaneen Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmaneen Farmhouse

Property: Kilmaneen Farmhouse
Address: Kilmaneen Farmhouse Kilmaneen Farmhouse Ardfinnan | Clonmel, Newcastle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Newcastle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilmaneen Farmhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kevin and Bernadette O'Donnell offer award winning, family run 4* star Bed & Breakfast and 4*star Self-catering accommodation in Co. Tipperary near Clonmel and Cahir. Members of the O'Donnell family have lived and farmed here for six generations and the Farmhouse is over 200 years old. The accommodation has a quiet unspoilt rural setting and we endeavour to give our guests a very personal service in a genuine Irish home where they can enjoy....- Fishing on our farm in our private stretch of the rivers Suir & Tar- Walking in the Knockmealdown, Comeragh and Galty mountains- Courses including gardening, art & craft, beekeeping and others- A peaceful and relaxing stay which combines the solid comforts of the past with the modern conveniences of today- Freshly prepared, home-cooked breakfasts and evening meals (on request) made using home-grown fruit/vegetables. All dietary requirements facilitated- Nearby heritage sites - the Rock of Cashel, Cahir Castle and the Swiss Cottage ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kilmaneen Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilmaneen Farmhouse Newcastle, Ireland - County Tipperary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing