We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gold Coast Golf Resort(Dungarvan)(Great Value!)
US$148
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$157
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$419
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$406
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
89
25
3
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
25
3
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslamb shankour table was readyopen fireperiod stylethe early birdmelt in the mouthlocal apple juiceold housebeautiful roombeautiful houseold stylerelaxing weekendsalmonlovely atmospherethree nightstop floorenjoyable stay
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2012

This is a smart and well run hotel, with friendly, efficient staff. The rooms are most comfortable with good views. The restaurant food is excellent.The restaurant is divided into several rooms, so it seemed quieter than it was, and the bar is small and intimate which means that conversation amongst guests is general; fine if you want to be friendly with other guests, perhaps a bit restricting for those needing an 'a deux'. A good base for exploring and plenty to see in the surrounding area. There was quite a large party of fishermen staying there when we visited and any large group, whilst friendly, will result in some noise and slowing of service for others.

Room Tip: The rooms at the top of the house involve a a long haul up the stairs, which will not suit everyone. But the views and rooms are delightful when you get there.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I have been back to Richmond House twice in August 2012! First was with my two sisters for the long Bank Holiday w-end; I liked it so much that I brought my husband last week for 2-days visit. Richmond House has everything: beautiful old period house with lovely grounds; comfortable accommodation; charming, hospitable owners, Claire and Paul Deevy who greet you upon arrival; and Paul is a superb chef. We have eaten in many lovely and named restaurants in Ireland and elsewhere and Chef Paul's cooking and presentation is at the top!! Special kudos also to Marion and other staff for superb service. Also, a special word of thanks to Jean, Paul's mother, a charming lady, who told us where to visit with her wonderful local knowledge. Put Richmond House on your list to stay and dine in ireland--you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

A most beautiful and atmospheric house with high quality food produced locally and one of the friendliest and most welcoming places we have ever stayed! It's location near the beautiful village of Lismore with it's medieval castle and cathedral makes it ideal. A visit to the nearby Mount Melleray monastery is also a must.

Room Tip: Room ten at the top of the house was big, comfortable and spacious with lovely views of the garden
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We were in Cappoquin by chance lately and it surprised us hugely. We stayed in a lovely house called Richmond House which was a great base. The House was really comfortable and relaxed.The service was excellent and the food was really good. I was so impressed with the menu available for vegetarians. There was lots to do in the area. We visited Cappoquin House, Lismore Castle,Mount Congreve. We came back to Dublin by way of the Vee drive,magnificent. Our only regret was that going over the vee it was not rhododedron time.That can be easily be solved by going back in the Spring when hopefully we will stay again at Richmond house .

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stamps6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

It's liking stepping back in time.....set in a "Grand" old house, which does need a little make over!! But all the same you are always looked after by genuine staff and the food always delivers. Simple Irish food, cook well with a hint of french flair...Great wine list & they serve locally sourced produce, fish & meat. Fantastic value, four course meal with petit fours €45, great deal & you leave full.....

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank eat_chew_swallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews