We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely experience - and what a steak !”
Review of Richmond House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Richmond House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cappoquin
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A lovely experience - and what a steak !”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We (couple) stayed here recently, on a short-notice 1-night dinner+B&B break, and really wondered could this hotel be as good as people have made out. It's lovely.

We arrived about 6, and after making our way in were shown up to our room to relax and get ready for dinner. The room was huge, decorated as it might have been 100+ years ago, my favourite type of place. Bathroom was big. The tv had only the Irish stations, but we werent there to watch the tv and switched on the radio instead.

Dinner was fantastic. A starter of ham hock terrine was followed by a rhubarb sorbet, readying us for perhaps the tastiest steak dinner I've ever had. One of the side servings was a sensational red cabbage - I dont like red cabbage, but I LOVED whatever they did to it. Dessert was outrageously good, and the wine (from the cheaper end of the winelist) was beautiful. Coffee and petit fours followed, and then drinks in a comfy lounge. There are I think very few bedrooms, so it felt like we had the place to ourselves - perfect.

The sleep quality was fantastic. Shutters and heavy curtains kept the light out until we were ready to rise, and then down to a delicious breakfast.

We were talking about the food all the way home, and will be back.

But this is NOT a place for families, NOT a place for a stag night, NOT a place for leisure centre and hot-tub holidays. If you want old-style hospitality and romance with food that you'll rave about, then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: There arent many bedrooms, and no late-night noise to worry about. I doubt it matters which room you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathalr_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    22
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
26
45
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Just back from a one night stay with 3 children under 4 at Richmond House.Every effort was made to facilitate our children at meal times,despite staff being very busy on Valentines evening.Meals of our choice were cooked to order for the boys!We couldn't t have asked for any more from the staff.The dinner was one of the best we have had out in a long time.Accomadation is reflective of staying in a period house,warm,comfortable with antique filled rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ety323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Old fashioned, and charming is what came to mind when entering Richmond House recently for a meal. I was pleasantly surprised with the spacious lounge area where we waited until our table was ready. The restaurant is quite dimly lit with a nice ambience and the food was excellent. All in all a pleasant evening was had by all in Cappoquin.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dixiedoggy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We have stayed at Richmond House three times before over the years and our revisit still left us excited about the experience. From the moment you enter the hall you feel at home and welcomed. It all feels very informal and friendly. The rooms are very large and comfortable. The thing that strikes you is that no attempt has been made to "modernise" the rooms and any attempt to do so would only take from the character of the house. Having said that the rooms are well equipped and appealing. The bed is large and very comfortable. Dining is superb with a very nice menu and good wine list. Service is very friendly and efficient.
We stayed on a bed/breakfast and evening meal basis and considered it good value and hope to put Richmond House on our list for yet another visit sometime in the future again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C-121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2012

RH bent over backwards to help us, particularly in our bad timekeeping in the restaurant, particularly useful when our young daughter was too excited to sleep :-) The food is top notch & shows off the chef's skills & Ireland's good ingredients and the location is very quiet & a good base to explore county Waterford.

Room Tip: We liked rooms facing out over the grounds, so we could catch the end of the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

This is a smart and well run hotel, with friendly, efficient staff. The rooms are most comfortable with good views. The restaurant food is excellent.The restaurant is divided into several rooms, so it seemed quieter than it was, and the bar is small and intimate which means that conversation amongst guests is general; fine if you want to be friendly with other guests, perhaps a bit restricting for those needing an 'a deux'. A good base for exploring and plenty to see in the surrounding area. There was quite a large party of fishermen staying there when we visited and any large group, whilst friendly, will result in some noise and slowing of service for others.

Room Tip: The rooms at the top of the house involve a a long haul up the stairs, which will not suit everyone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I have been back to Richmond House twice in August 2012! First was with my two sisters for the long Bank Holiday w-end; I liked it so much that I brought my husband last week for 2-days visit. Richmond House has everything: beautiful old period house with lovely grounds; comfortable accommodation; charming, hospitable owners, Claire and Paul Deevy who greet you upon arrival; and Paul is a superb chef. We have eaten in many lovely and named restaurants in Ireland and elsewhere and Chef Paul's cooking and presentation is at the top!! Special kudos also to Marion and other staff for superb service. Also, a special word of thanks to Jean, Paul's mother, a charming lady, who told us where to visit with her wonderful local knowledge. Put Richmond House on your list to stay and dine in ireland--you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cappoquin
2.6 mi away
The Pilgrims Rest Hotel
The Pilgrims Rest Hotel
#2 of 3 in Cappoquin
110 reviews
10.5 mi away
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
#3 of 3 in Dungarvan
438 reviews
10.3 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Lismore House Hotel
Lismore House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lismore
186 reviews
13.1 mi away
Aherne's Townhouse Hotel Youghal
16.0 mi away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond House

Property: Richmond House
Address: Cappoquin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Cappoquin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cappoquin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Richmond House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Cappoquin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing