We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrogant owner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Pilgrims Rest Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cappoquin
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Arrogant owner”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Would definitly not stay in this hotel. The owner a man with an english accent was extremely rude, unwelcoming and arrogant when we spoke to him. Had no people skills and was more interseted in themoney he would make from our party staying there.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank TfCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    21
    5
    4
    9
See reviews for
16
47
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, New York
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2012

For Peace and Quiet I really strongly recommend visiting this hotel. The food and reasonable price re-inforces a visit. The roast beef meal melts in your mouth.The family that run this hotel are extremely friendly. I will definately return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Loved this hotel for its location and the fact it is a family run hotel not like the chained hotels. Great to sit and talk to the owners in a relaxing environment. Food was clearly fresh and home cooked to our requirements. Great!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2012

My family and I have just visited Pilgrim's Rest for the 6th time over a period of many years! We have always had an amazingly warm welcome from the owners, David and Mary, now also assisted by their son Christopher. The hospitality is outstanding - nothing is ever too much trouble for them, whatever the time of day. The food is good, wholesome home cooking, the ensuite rooms comfortable and quiet. We were always offered copious amounts of tea and coffee, although there are a couple of lounge areas where you can make your own tea,coffee etc whenever you want! We have met some very interesting people during our stays there - people seem to visit from all over the world! The hotel is situated at the foot of the beautiful Knockmealdown mountains - with the famous monastery literally next door, in fact Pilgrim's Rest was the house for women pilgrims visiting the monastery in years gone by. The Vee is just a stone's throw away, as is Lismore Castle. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a relaxing break at outstanding value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2012

The Pilgrims Rest was just that, a lovely stop-over while visiting this part of the world. We hadn't been to Melleray in 18 years. The room was spotlessly clean, the bath had lashings of hot water and the environs of the house are very very cosy. The breakfast was great and we were well set up for the day. We'll definitely be back, it would be a great launch base for walking in the Knockmealdowns. We left a jacket behind at the house and the owner kindly posted it on to us at no charge so they could not have been more helpful. Keep it up!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Four of us have just spent seven nights with the wonderful hosts David, Mary and Chris. They couldn't have done anymore to make our stay very relaxing and comfortable. The bed linen was beautiful , the showers to die for. We were offered tea and coffee every time we showed our faces nothing was ever too much trouble.
Breakfasts were piping hot and cooked very nicely. We hope to return .

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jkp18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Wanted a nice quiet night away but first couldn't find the place. Then went we did the "hotel" its self is very confusing with code entry on one side and no signage on where reception is. The staff Who I think are the married owners couldn't be nicer or more helpful and the "hotel" is gorgeous. What it needs is a revamp. More of a B&B than a hotel. Food wasn't. great and we would have stayed down for drinks but the place was dead quiet.

Room Tip: This place is great for those looking for a location that is scenic and quiet. Room was clean and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tazpio81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cappoquin
2.6 mi away
Richmond House
Richmond House
#1 of 3 in Cappoquin
110 reviews
11.3 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
11.6 mi away
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
#3 of 3 in Dungarvan
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
13.3 mi away
Gold Coast Golf Resort
Gold Coast Golf Resort
#2 of 3 in Dungarvan
311 reviews
12.8 mi away
Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pilgrims Rest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pilgrims Rest Hotel

Property: The Pilgrims Rest Hotel
Address: Mount Melleray | County Waterford, Cappoquin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Cappoquin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cappoquin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Pilgrims Rest Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a beautiful part of the magnificent Irish countryside, The Pilgrim's Rest Hotel is your choice for peace, rest and retreat! Beauty, style and elegance. Our beautiful Georgian country house has been transformed into an unusual and magnificent hotel. If you are looking to relax and enjoy a more peaceful lifestyle then The Pilgrim's Rest Hotel is for you. The Pilgrim Rest Hotel near the heritage town of Lismore is surrounded by beautiful mountain views and is adjacent to the famous Mount Melleray Abbey. The Pilgrims Rest Hotel near Lismore, County Waterford is set in 2 acres of delightful gardens making it an excellent base for touring, golf, walking and fishing. All rooms en-suite. With prices of €35 Euros for a single room and €49 Euros for a double room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Pilgrims Rest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing