We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pilgrims Rest Hotel (ADULTS ONLY)
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cappoquin
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with 3 young kids. Not suitable for this age group, maybe for older visitors. Too far from beach, which we had been told was nearer on booking. Having to pay for the accommodation as soon as we arrived was v. unusual and off putting (in case you ran away!). Breakfast very ordinary and not included in overall price. Found the lady of the house just that "a lady", was very nice and approachable. The gentleman was different but too "full on". Bed most uncomfortable but rooms very clean. Too basic.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank siobhan o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2013

We had a great stay in the Pilgrim's Rest. The couple running the hotel were very friendly and helpful, and they will make dinners on request. The place itself is quirky and has a lot of old era charm and big grounds. A really nice stay. There are lots of walking routes nearby forests and mountains and the lovely town of Lismore is a very close drive. Mount Mellery Monastery, a huge monastery with gardens and a hill walk, is on the door step.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cywex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

At one hours notice The owners of this lovely hotel provided 35 people with beautiful home made soup and brown bread, pots of coffee and tea with home made scones and preserves.
Fabulous experience for all the group. No problems with service. This hotel is a well kept secret.
Why? This Hotel needs to be recognised for its magnificent cooking, and wonderful service.
I am looking forward to going there very soon again.
Margaret McCarthy.
Dunlaoghaire Active Retirement.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Margaret6465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Our stay here was brilliant, the hotel has a lovely character all it's own with a great olde worlde feel, interesting paintings adorn the walls, the bar area/resturant is rather like a large drawing room with a roaring log fire and comfy sofas, the owners dave and Mary with son chris couldn't have been nicer being willing to chat and assist without being intrusive or overbearing, there is no set menu as such but if you request a specific meal they will do their utmost to cook it, we had lovely roasts and stir fries also an omelette. The room was charming with comfy beds, clean and cosy. Shower and bathroom clean and attractive. Great breakfast at 10 euros you get the works, very nicely cooked and presented. We will hopefully return as we normally use premier inns and good as they are it's so nice to have a hotel with personality and charm.......fawlty towers this is not! Nick and teresa glover. Ps tea/coffee in room would be a good idea but you can get it in the entrance free!

Room Tip: Only ten so I imagine they are all fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NicholasG237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed for a weekend trip. The hotel is quite olde worlde, but pleasant. Rooms are quite small, but adequate and the bathrooms are very updated and modern.

It was quite cold in the morning when the blazing log fire was not lit. It was very cozy in the evenings. Breakfast was quite good (less so on second morning).

We had dinner on the first evening, which again was quite nice, no frills. When we asked for wine, however, it alsmost caused consternation and we were given no choice, other that the type of wine (Sauvignon Blanc) - which at a guess I'd say was purchased for about € 4.99.
It is very rural - moreso than the photos would indicate - .

Owners were very pleasant and friendly, but very little to do in the area on a cold winters day.

Room Tip: Make sure you bring a good book
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotshotsolicitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in Feb 2013..

My partner & I had visited Ireland, to watch the hare coursing in Clonmel..

Hotels in middle of no where.. However that was perfect for us.. We drove every day to Clonmel the roads and secenary was breath taking..

The Hotel is clean,warm & value for money..

We never had a evening meal in the hotel but if it's as nice as the breakfast,you cant go wrong !!

Very positive experiance..

Chris and his Brother are great hosts !!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moomin3oouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Not the usual identikit hotel.
The friendly and helpful hosts have created a warm and welcoming, old-fashioned ambience. We loved the bedroom's traditional furnishings as well as the spacious bathroom (great shower btw). And it's a great base for exploring the surrounding mountains, set as it is on the slopes of the Knockmealdowns.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 39parolles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cappoquin
2.6 mi away
Richmond House
Richmond House
#1 of 3 in Cappoquin
116 reviews
11.3 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
11.6 mi away
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
#3 of 3 in Dungarvan
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,721 reviews
12.8 mi away
Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa
13.6 mi away
Gold Coast Golf Resort
Gold Coast Golf Resort
#2 of 3 in Dungarvan
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pilgrims Rest Hotel (ADULTS ONLY)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pilgrims Rest Hotel (ADULTS ONLY)

Address: Mount Melleray | County Waterford, P51A5X5, Cappoquin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Cappoquin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cappoquin
Price Range: £35 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Pilgrims Rest Hotel (ADULTS ONLY) 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a beautiful part of the magnificent Irish countryside, The Pilgrim's Rest Hotel is your choice for peace, rest and retreat! Beauty, style and elegance. Our beautiful Georgian country house has been transformed into an unusual and magnificent hotel. If you are looking to relax and enjoy a more peaceful lifestyle then The Pilgrim's Rest Hotel is for you. The Pilgrim Rest Hotel near the heritage town of Lismore is surrounded by beautiful mountain views and is adjacent to the famous Mount Melleray Abbey. The Pilgrims Rest Hotel near Lismore, County Waterford is set in 2 acres of delightful gardens making it an excellent base for touring, golf, walking and fishing. All rooms en-suite. With prices of €35 Euros for a single room and €49 Euros for a double room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Pilgrims Rest Hotel (ADULTS ONLY) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing