We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Pilgrims Rest Hotel (ADULTS ONLY)
Nearby Hotels
Richmond House(Cappoquin)
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
US$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$49
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
US$491
US$476
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
79
22
5
4
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
22
5
4
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmount melleraycomplimentary tea and coffeevisiting relativeslarge ensuitesafe parkingwest waterfordgreat hostsother guestscouple of nightsexcellent staycomfy bedlismore castlefull irishlashings of hot waternearby villagemonasterymary
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with 3 young kids. Not suitable for this age group, maybe for older visitors. Too far from beach, which we had been told was nearer on booking. Having to pay for the accommodation as soon as we arrived was v. unusual and off putting (in case you ran away!). Breakfast very ordinary and not included in overall price. Found the lady of the house just that "a lady", was very nice and approachable. The gentleman was different but too "full on". Bed most uncomfortable but rooms very clean. Too basic.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank siobhan o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We had a great stay in the Pilgrim's Rest. The couple running the hotel were very friendly and helpful, and they will make dinners on request. The place itself is quirky and has a lot of old era charm and big grounds. A really nice stay. There are lots of walking routes nearby forests and mountains and the lovely town of Lismore is a very close drive. Mount Mellery Monastery, a huge monastery with gardens and a hill walk, is on the door step.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cywex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

At one hours notice The owners of this lovely hotel provided 35 people with beautiful home made soup and brown bread, pots of coffee and tea with home made scones and preserves.
Fabulous experience for all the group. No problems with service. This hotel is a well kept secret.
Why? This Hotel needs to be recognised for its magnificent cooking, and wonderful service.
I am looking forward to going there very soon again.
Margaret McCarthy.
Dunlaoghaire Active Retirement.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Margaret6465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Our stay here was brilliant, the hotel has a lovely character all it's own with a great olde worlde feel, interesting paintings adorn the walls, the bar area/resturant is rather like a large drawing room with a roaring log fire and comfy sofas, the owners dave and Mary with son chris couldn't have been nicer being willing to chat and assist without being intrusive or overbearing, there is no set menu as such but if you request a specific meal they will do their utmost to cook it, we had lovely roasts and stir fries also an omelette. The room was charming with comfy beds, clean and cosy. Shower and bathroom clean and attractive. Great breakfast at 10 euros you get the works, very nicely cooked and presented. We will hopefully return as we normally use premier inns and good as they are it's so nice to have a hotel with personality and charm.......fawlty towers this is not! Nick and teresa glover. Ps tea/coffee in room would be a good idea but you can get it in the entrance free!

Room Tip: Only ten so I imagine they are all fine.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NicholasG237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed for a weekend trip. The hotel is quite olde worlde, but pleasant. Rooms are quite small, but adequate and the bathrooms are very updated and modern.

It was quite cold in the morning when the blazing log fire was not lit. It was very cozy in the evenings. Breakfast was quite good (less so on second morning).

We had dinner on the first evening, which again was quite nice, no frills. When we asked for wine, however, it alsmost caused consternation and we were given no choice, other that the type of wine (Sauvignon Blanc) - which at a guess I'd say was purchased for about € 4.99.
It is very rural - moreso than the photos would indicate - .

Owners were very pleasant and friendly, but very little to do in the area on a cold winters day.

Room Tip: Make sure you bring a good book
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotshotsolicitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews