We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time camping”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gorey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Morriscastle Strand Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
Portlaoise, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“First time camping”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

First time camping so I don't have anything to compare Morriscastle to!

We had a site near reception and the kids, 10, 8 & 5, had a great time between the astro turf, the tennis, the table tennis, pool, table football and general buzz about the place. The beach was last on their agenda. Thankfully I didn't have the extras all the seasoned campers had - everything but the kitchen sink - as they would not have fitted our space.

There was running water close to our tent and the toilets/showers/kitchen were close too. I agree that they close too early and I would add that they open too late. However I did notice the kitchen was used as a hangout for the older kids so perhaps that's why. We were ready for breakfast at 7 each morning but our milk was in the fridge so had to wait around for it to open.

The playgrounds were not great. I can imagine they are waaaaay too small for the peak season and some items were missing.

The food in the cafe was not great - after 6pm anyway. We did not use it for breakfast or lunch. I will invest in a camping kitchen! There was a kitchen nearby with fridge, large freezer, kettle, table & 4 chairs. The other kitchen at the far side of the site had a microwave. Handy for popcorn but a bit of a walk.

The kids really enjoyed it and I will need to be very selective when choosing another site as I think it will be difficult to beat their first camping experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theresa072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    33
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
85
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Thank you Morriscastle for running such a fantastic campsite. Its safe, clean, peaceful and perfect for a family beach holiday. The showers were quite cold when i was there but i didnt mind as was only staying one night. Its right on a gorgeous beach and every time I visit its sunny, a rare thing in Ireland!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankfiesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We camped in Morriscastle Strand Holiday Park very recently and had a wonderful time! Friendly and helpful staff, clean campsite with excellent facilities, great location close up the beach and an amazing cafe on the campsite! All in all it's a really wonderful place to holiday!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyBennys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 1 night we could have stayed more. We got sunny weather which made having the lovely sandy beech near the campsite amazing. It has good facilities on site showers, kitchens and clean toilets. The shop has the basics a bit pricier as is the norm with camp shops,it sells wine, their was also a cafe and chipper that we didn't use. The nearest village is 2km away if you fancy a pint the village has some nice bars. Taxi was only 5euro each way for both of us.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Daithi1980_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballina, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the Beach House belonging to Morriscastle Caravan park. The house is fantastic. Right across from a wonderful beach. The house is modern and has pretty much all you could want. My only hope is its standards are maintained year to year. The village of kilmuckridge down the road has two shops and great takeaway. Our stay was perfect. So perfect we booked again for next year.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Just back from a stay in the beach house and can't recommend it enough. Went with my husband and our two kids (3 & 1). The house itself is spacious and has pretty much everything you could need (except wifi which is its only let down). Little things like a picnic basket, plastic plates etc for kids along with ice in the freezer were a nice touch.The day we arrived it was raining but the house was cosy and warm and really inviting which lifted our spirits. Staying in the house we got to use the campsite facilities such as the playgrounds. On our second day we went to check them out only to find they were locked (even though they should have been opened). We enquired about this and they opened one for us and this did not become an issue again. I think my son summed up the house well when he said "mum i really like this house". Beside the house there is Lawlors shop and this does everything from chips etc to ice creams, and much more. Their cheese and bacon chips and Baileys milkshake are a must to try. In the nearby village the Orchid Harbour Chinese is worth a visit. Not only was the food good but so was the service and our kids were made to feel very welcome. The only disappointments on our stay was to discover that pirate cove (except the crazy golf) only opens at the weekend come September and the Leisure Max in Wexford Town is over priced for what it is.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghostchild2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Just back from one night in this camping. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The beach beside the campsite is very clean and pretty. We will definitely come back with family . Shower and toilet are very clean

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecile I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorey
2.3 mi away
Upton Court Hotel and Holiday Cottages
8.8 mi away
Courtown Hotel
Courtown Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gorey
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
10.4 mi away
Amber Springs Hotel and Health Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Seafield Hotel & Spa Resort
11.3 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel Conference and Leisure Centre
15.2 mi away
Riverbank House Hotel
Riverbank House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wexford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morriscastle Strand Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morriscastle Strand Caravan Park

Property: Morriscastle Strand Caravan Park
Address: Kilmuckridge, Gorey, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Gorey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Gorey
Also Known As:
Morriscastle Strand Caravan Park Gorey, County Wexford, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing