We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and gardens”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marlfield House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gorey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We'd noticed some concerns expressed in reviews but went for a visit anyway. We were not disappointed. The building is very impressive with recent additions blending in well. Our room (no 12) was very comfortable with a large bathroom. The reception was very welcoming and all the staff we met were friendly and efficient. The gardens are really beautiful. We found the atmosphere relaxing and not at all stuffy ( as some reviewers have suggested). The decor is traditional country house, but not excessively chintzy. The breakfast could not be faulted and included excellent preserves and fruits prepared in house. The dinner met expectations, though the cuisine is quite conservative (what you'd expect in a country house hotel). We had the supper menu not the full menu which included several additional courses. Our three courses were perfectly adequate. Finally was the visit good value? We were on an early season promotion. So for us it was good value, but it would be more expensive peak season.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
There are newer reviews for Marlfield House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

I attended my nieces wedding Easter week-end. The venue was perfect, the staff bent over backwards to make our stay the best ever. They were polite, non intrusive and so pleasant they were wonderful.
The food was really A1 and could not fault it, and of high quality. The weather was wonderful and the peacocks just added to the whole package. Rooms were quaint and well kept.

Only one small blip the Wifi is only available in the foyer, but that was a minor.

We were totally spoilt by the staff and everything was tickity boo
Cathy from London UK

Room Tip: The French room was great, looked out on grounds with the peacocks and a river with a little bridge...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilaclady_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This is a very lovely hotel, but there are things that were disappointing given how expensive it is. The overall atmosphere is rather stuffy and the decoration appears to have been done to a high standard - only, back in the 1980's.
We stayed for a night shortly after they had reopened following the winter break, yet our bathroom sink was cracked and the grouting in the shower left an awful lot to be desired. (see photos). There was also a thick layer of dust on top of the bathroom mirror.
The pre-dinner drinks served in the bar seem not to be optional, but are extortionate.
The food itself was a bit hit and miss. Whilst my scallops were cooked perfectly, the risotto they were resting on was definitely undercooked (really, not al dente) and my duck had chewy bits that I couldn't actually swallow. We appreciated the slow pace of the meal until it took half an hour for our pudding to be brought out. My tart was overcooked and the waiting staff by then were scurrying around us setting out breakfast. Making us feel decidedly in the way.
We enjoyed breakfast and the grounds are beautiful for a stroll, but I very much doubt we'll be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Marlfield keep their hotel so well. The rooms are old but very luxurious. The bed was amazing. The whole place was spotlessly clean and our night there felt like a real treat. We could have stayed in the bar/lounge all day and night reading the papers and relaxing. Really lovely. And great service. Food rich but lovely.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grainne13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Marlfield House is the best kept secret in Ireland. One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Food and hotel is five star. Great value. A very relaxing hotel, beautiful grounds for pleasant stroll after a super meal. I would recommend this hotel to anybody.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank J O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We recently held our wedding here and were thrilled with our day. In the run-up to the wedding we had minimal dealings with Marlfield, as we took them at their word that they would organise everything and they certainly did. It was particularly important to us that all our guests would have a great meal, and one of our worries was that it would be difficult to maintain a high standard for a large group, but the chef and staff pulled it off brilliantly. Incidentally breakfast was a particular highlight, gorgeous menu with some really interesting dishes and all cooked to order. And when ordering tea or coffee in our room, little touches like the delicious home-made biscuits always made it a great experience.

We were also pleased to hear afterwards how staff members dealt with small issues and assisted guests with specific needs without needing to call on us, so we really couldn't recommend them highly enough for taking all the stress and organisation out of the day. Everything we asked for was done quietly and without fuss.
We also loved our rooms and the suites were just stunning. This hotel has a very unique character so it's not the ideal spot for someone who prefers large, modern hotels. But if you want something with great flair and individuality, this is the place. It felt like home for us for a few days. One suggestion would be that the ensuites in some rooms could do with updating, particularly the showers, (no issue with water temperature or pressure, but we did have a minor flooding incident by using a shower mounted on a bath wall without any shower screen! - and again it was dealt with very quickly and efficiently by staff). However, from some of the other rooms we've seen there were no such issues so perhaps our suite was an isolated case.
In terms of the public areas, the restaurant, bar, drawing room and the gorgeous gardens, we loved everything about it and can't wait to return!

Room Tip: spoil yourself with a suite!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Afafa10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here in Sept/October as part of a weekend out of Dublin to celebrate her birthday. We haven't had time to write a review since, so here it finally is.

1) Friendliness/warmth: this establishment, quite simply, doesn't do it. The senior and reception staff were polite but decidedly unfriendly. Rarely in Ireland have I been so acutely aware of the difference between both qualities. The sole exception was the local girls who served us dinner. They were warm and friendly. The management was going around like peacocks. The entire experience was akin to stepping back into a timewarp of the Anglo-Irish Ascendancy - the friendly native waitresses; the conceited Anglo-Irish owners (all across the house that "big house" Ascendancy heritage is advertised). On the night we were there, we appeared to be the only people in the bar after dinner with Irish accents; everybody else had English accents. In summary, culturally this was a very alien experience to both of us. Curiously, we stayed in Dunbrody recently and despite the similar Anglo-Irish historical background of that hotel, we were made to feel very welcome. It had warmth.

2) Overpriced: It was ridiculously overpriced for what you're given. It's "old world" alright but neither classy, sophisticated old world (i.e. newly restored or new furniture in old style) nor old world escapism from commercialism. For example, they still have cheap, old televisions sitting on a cheap table in the rooms when more sophisticated luxury hotels regularly have no tv in the room or have one built into the wall and not taking space up by sitting on a clunky table like in a cottage. For the money we paid, we expected much more investment in property and style. We stayed in the Ritz Powerscourt the following night for the same price (actually, the 5* Ritz was a small bit cheaper), and the standard of accommodation was incomparably greater. Ineffably so.

3) Service: Upon check-in we were asked would we like help with our bags. As there was only the lady who was checking us in visible I said I'd manage. In a 3* somebody would call for other staff to help. Not here. Are they too mean to have somebody available to do that? In the Ritz Powerscourt the following night there was no shortage of people to help. The difference struck us both.

4) Meanness and myopia: First, the dinner menu which we were shown while waiting in the bar was €64 per head. We were not given the choice of any other menu by the waiter/bar man, as one would be in most restaurants. I was not going to spend €128 (at least) on dinner when I can get a Michelin * dinner for less in Dublin. We decided to drive into Gorey and eat in one of the restaurants which received a better rating on Tripadvisor. We said to the waiter that we had decided not to eat in Marlfield. A lady working beside her overheard and asked why. With people walking past, I reluctantly said that I found the menu too expensive. Then, and only then, were we told that there was indeed a three course and even a two course menu. This is awful form to make a guest get to that stage because this hotel wanted to grab as much money as possible out of their visit rather than give guests the option of less expensive menus.
As mentioned we were staying in Marlfield as a treat for my wife's birthday and the hotel was notified of this in advance. In any hotel which markets itself as a luxury hotel the management throw in something which costs them little/nothing as a kind gesture. Not here, never mind a free room upgrade. They just don't actually seem to be au fait with the concept of nurturing repeat business and generating goodwill. Given that this is a very small country where such things matter more, this meanness and shortsightedness was pretty astounding actually. In sharp contrast, in the Ritz the following night they managed to leave her a lovely card (written in Irish and English, mind you) and chocolate in the room. In the Ritz, when I went down before dinner the waiter saw me writing her card and took the initiative to ask me was it a special occasion. I told him and he came out with a small cake for her at dessert time. Guess which place we speak highest of? Basic cop-on.

There is an abundance of superb, top quality luxury accommodation across Ireland available at reasonable prices, staffed by warm, friendly people and run by management which is more concerned with getting your repeated business rather than ripping you off on your one visit. This place is, alas, not among them.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank PeadarODoirnin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorey
2.6 mi away
Seafield Hotel & Spa Resort
0.8 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel Conference and Leisure Centre
0.7 mi away
Amber Springs Hotel and Health Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
23.8 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
1,865 reviews
2.5 mi away
Courtown Hotel
Courtown Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gorey
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlfield House Hotel

Address: Courtown Road, Gorey Co. Wexford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Gorey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gorey
Price Range: £178 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marlfield House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlfield House is a luxury country house hotel set on 40 acres of lush gardens and located just outside Gorey town in County Wexford, one hour south of Dublin City on M11. Golden Wexford beaches are also close by with only 10-15 minute drive from the hotel. Bedrooms overlooking the gardens and are filled with beautiful antiques, paintings and art. The conservatory dining room with frescoed walls is highly acclaimed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marlfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlfield Hotel Gorey
Marlfield House Gorey
Marlfield House Hotel Gorey, County Wexford, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing