We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and staff could be friendlier”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marlfield House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gorey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Booked an overnight stay as we had stayed a few years ago and loved it. This time around, at €318 for dinner and one nights accommodation, we found the majority of the staff could do with some further training on general friendliness (eg acknowledging you in reception) and in some cases professional training. The French man however was fantastic. The dinner was delicious, but at €64 per head it should be. The 5% 'optional' service charge added to on a one night bill of €359 was an extra sting in the tail on departure. Will be checking out another hotel next time rather than making a return trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hanno99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

We'd noticed some concerns expressed in reviews but went for a visit anyway. We were not disappointed. The building is very impressive with recent additions blending in well. Our room (no 12) was very comfortable with a large bathroom. The reception was very welcoming and all the staff we met were friendly and efficient. The gardens are really beautiful. We found the atmosphere relaxing and not at all stuffy ( as some reviewers have suggested). The decor is traditional country house, but not excessively chintzy. The breakfast could not be faulted and included excellent preserves and fruits prepared in house. The dinner met expectations, though the cuisine is quite conservative (what you'd expect in a country house hotel). We had the supper menu not the full menu which included several additional courses. Our three courses were perfectly adequate. Finally was the visit good value? We were on an early season promotion. So for us it was good value, but it would be more expensive peak season.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I attended my nieces wedding Easter week-end. The venue was perfect, the staff bent over backwards to make our stay the best ever. They were polite, non intrusive and so pleasant they were wonderful.
The food was really A1 and could not fault it, and of high quality. The weather was wonderful and the peacocks just added to the whole package. Rooms were quaint and well kept.

Only one small blip the Wifi is only available in the foyer, but that was a minor.

We were totally spoilt by the staff and everything was tickity boo
Cathy from London UK

Room Tip: The French room was great, looked out on grounds with the peacocks and a river with a little bridge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilaclady_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This is a very lovely hotel, but there are things that were disappointing given how expensive it is. The overall atmosphere is rather stuffy and the decoration appears to have been done to a high standard - only, back in the 1980's.
We stayed for a night shortly after they had reopened following the winter break, yet our bathroom sink was cracked and the grouting in the shower left an awful lot to be desired. (see photos). There was also a thick layer of dust on top of the bathroom mirror.
The pre-dinner drinks served in the bar seem not to be optional, but are extortionate.
The food itself was a bit hit and miss. Whilst my scallops were cooked perfectly, the risotto they were resting on was definitely undercooked (really, not al dente) and my duck had chewy bits that I couldn't actually swallow. We appreciated the slow pace of the meal until it took half an hour for our pudding to be brought out. My tart was overcooked and the waiting staff by then were scurrying around us setting out breakfast. Making us feel decidedly in the way.
We enjoyed breakfast and the grounds are beautiful for a stroll, but I very much doubt we'll be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Marlfield keep their hotel so well. The rooms are old but very luxurious. The bed was amazing. The whole place was spotlessly clean and our night there felt like a real treat. We could have stayed in the bar/lounge all day and night reading the papers and relaxing. Really lovely. And great service. Food rich but lovely.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grainne13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Marlfield House is the best kept secret in Ireland. One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Food and hotel is five star. Great value. A very relaxing hotel, beautiful grounds for pleasant stroll after a super meal. I would recommend this hotel to anybody.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank J O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We recently held our wedding here and were thrilled with our day. In the run-up to the wedding we had minimal dealings with Marlfield, as we took them at their word that they would organise everything and they certainly did. It was particularly important to us that all our guests would have a great meal, and one of our worries was that it would be difficult to maintain a high standard for a large group, but the chef and staff pulled it off brilliantly. Incidentally breakfast was a particular highlight, gorgeous menu with some really interesting dishes and all cooked to order. And when ordering tea or coffee in our room, little touches like the delicious home-made biscuits always made it a great experience.

We were also pleased to hear afterwards how staff members dealt with small issues and assisted guests with specific needs without needing to call on us, so we really couldn't recommend them highly enough for taking all the stress and organisation out of the day. Everything we asked for was done quietly and without fuss.
We also loved our rooms and the suites were just stunning. This hotel has a very unique character so it's not the ideal spot for someone who prefers large, modern hotels. But if you want something with great flair and individuality, this is the place. It felt like home for us for a few days. One suggestion would be that the ensuites in some rooms could do with updating, particularly the showers, (no issue with water temperature or pressure, but we did have a minor flooding incident by using a shower mounted on a bath wall without any shower screen! - and again it was dealt with very quickly and efficiently by staff). However, from some of the other rooms we've seen there were no such issues so perhaps our suite was an isolated case.
In terms of the public areas, the restaurant, bar, drawing room and the gorgeous gardens, we loved everything about it and can't wait to return!

Room Tip: spoil yourself with a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Afafa10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorey
2.6 mi away
Seafield Hotel & Spa Resort
0.7 mi away
Amber Springs Hotel and Health Spa
0.8 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel Conference and Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
1,058 reviews
17 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
24.3 mi away
Talbot Wexford
Talbot Wexford
#4 of 5 in Wexford
1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlfield House Hotel

Address: Courtown Road, Gorey Co. Wexford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Gorey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gorey
Price Range: £175 - £376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marlfield House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlfield House is a luxury country house hotel set on 40 acres of lush gardens and located just outside Gorey town in County Wexford, one hour south of Dublin City on M11. Golden Wexford beaches are also close by with only 10-15 minute drive from the hotel. Bedrooms overlooking the gardens and are filled with beautiful antiques, paintings and art. The conservatory dining room with frescoed walls is highly acclaimed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Marlfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlfield Hotel Gorey
Marlfield House Gorey
Marlfield House Hotel Gorey, County Wexford, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing