We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”

Wells House & Gardens
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Gorey
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A great Victorian house & gardens in the heart of Wexford Wells House has something for all generations to enjoy and share: Our two woodland walks; Lady Frances Woodland Walk & Mogue's, discover hidden treasures in a verdant landscape of mature plants and trees. Victorian Terrace Gardens - Relax in our beautifully restored formal gardens based on the original Daniel Robertson plans of the 1830's. Adventure Playground - Swings, slides and climbing frames, perfect for kids up to 40. The old stable block has been converted into the Craft Courtyard - an ideal shopping hub for crafts and unique gifts! The Living Victorian House Tour - Experience real life in a Victorian Great House through the eyes of Lady Frances and the residents of Wells House. Wells House Archery - Let the resident Archer show you how to shoot a bow at the only 3D course in Ireland. Mrs Stone's Tearooms - enjoy morning coffees, light lunches and afternoons teas. For that special treat try the signature cup cakes or irresistible fresh scones. Wells House is over 300 years old. It was built in the late 1600s by John Warren who owned more than 6,000 acres of land in the area. Note: Archery is by reservation Monday-Friday
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Few great houses and gardens are open the year round in ireland, so this is a welcome place to visit out of season. An impressive driveway leads to the unusual faux Elizabethen mansion of a design rare in Ireland, which is stuffed with large grim flat-fronted Georgian piles. The gardens are limited but were full of colour in late October. There are courtyards in process of becoming craft workshops and shops, which will be an additional attraction, as is a good cafe. The house interior comes as a bit of a shock after the slightly run-down exterior. (We thought the house abandoned when we approached it) Worth visiting if you are not put off by the playgrounds, archery and othe populist side shows.

Thank peterthegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WellsHouseWexford, Manager at Wells House & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Hi peterthegas

Thank you for visiting Wells House & Gardens and also taking the time to review it on this site. You will be pleased to hear we are about to start work on the relaunch of our cafe to Mrs Stone's Tearooms named after the cook in Wells House! And we are also working on our Craft Courtyard and hope to feature on the Craft trail in Wexford. Hopefully on your next visit you will be impressed with the progress we make as we continue to establish Wells House and Gardens! We will be passing on your lovely comments to our hardworking gardener who was responsible for the beautiful flower beds you admired in October.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

495 - 499 of 503 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2012

Our family had a great day out at Wells House & Gardens! The tour of the house was super, our guide was well imformed & throughly enjoyed her position; but the best was being able to sit in the chairs and really 'feel' what it was like to be surrounded by history and wealth. Afterwards, we slowly made our way through-out the gardens and forest. The forest walk is child friendly and we enjoyed taking photographs along the way. Our time was limited so we could not partake in the archery, but we do plan on going back to see the faconary display. Wells House & Gardens seem to be explanding all the time and adding new events, so they are really worth keeping an eye on. We have already booked for their Halloween Tour coming at the end of October. Value for money too.

Thank Paigebluepoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WellsHouseWexford, Manager at Wells House & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Hi Paigebluepoppy

Thank you for taking the time to review Wells House and Gardens. It is so rewarding to read of people's visits to Wells House who have enjoyed themselves. The house tour is something we spent a lot of time researching and really hope our visitors feel welcome and at ease during the tour but also find it interesting and worthwhile. We hope you enjoyed the Halloween tour and please keep an eye on our website for more events throughout 2013

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

This place is the perfect answer to any type of holiday that you would want. It has beautiful surroundings and relaxing gardens but it also provides plenty of entertainment for children. The history of this house is some what magical and it creates a beautiful atmosphere.
The inside of the house is well worth the visit as it seems untouched by todays world and the tour really lets you delve in to its history.
I would reccommend this location for everyone of every age and feel that Wells House is a timeless location. Excellent!

Thank Niamhcarolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WellsHouseWexford, Manager at Wells House & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Hi Niamhcarolan

Thank you for your kind review of Wells House and Gardens - we are also delighted to hear visitors to the house & gardens enjoyed their time with us. We are continuing to work hard to ensure Wells is a must see venue for visitors to the South East and hope you will visit us again in the future.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Didn't go into house as our children too young. My six year old has visited house previously and enjoyed. 6 euro entry into grounds ( 1 and 2 e coins req) well worth it. V pleasant walk, nice spacious playground, lovely grounds and gardens, nice coffee shop. Fountain, sun dial, life size chess and draughts. Lovely picnic area with seats and tables made from tree trunks. Kids enjoyed just exploring. Also archery. Think there's falconry at weekend. Spent 4 hours, could easily have stayed longer. Only recently opened with one or 2 works still in progress. Expect to be giving 5/5 on next visit

Thank Joy23227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WellsHouseWexford, Manager at Wells House & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Wells House & Gardens. Please join us for our first birthday party on Sunday the 14th of July for our Victorian Tea Party. We will have many activities including puppet shows, clowns and a delicious barbeque. We look forward to your visit. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Thank Dutchclown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wells House & Gardens also viewed

Gorey, County Wexford
County Wexford, Province of Leinster
 

Been to Wells House & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing