We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashdown Park Hotel Conference and Leisure Centre
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gorey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here in August on a Groupon 2 night break. The room was standard hotel quality- neither luxurious nor basic but spotless which is the most important thing.
We dined in the restaurant the first night where we enjoyed a delicious meal. We overheard a couple next to us rave about the kids club that entertained their kids while they dined.
The afternoon tea was a great way to start our afternoon after a nice breakfast in bed. The staff were pleasant and overall we had a very enjoyable and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 690 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Service was excellent throughout. Staff were pleasant, helpful and very accommodating.
Food was superb including breakfast bar and the restaurant.
Hotel was clean and the leisure facilities were great.
Within walking distance of the town, would not hesitate to return.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank cchris2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I stayed here for the first time for one night. My room was very spacious, comfortable bed and a good shower which is important.

The staff were both friendly and attentive. The bar was busy so there was a good buzz about the place.

I use a lot of hotels when I travel for work and I always ask myself would I stay there again. The answer here is yes.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paule025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here when attending a wedding nearby. We booked a twin for €170. The room was fairly basic and looked like it was decorated in the 90's. The bathroom had no fan which was odd so there was plenty of steam and in place of any kind of toiletries/shower caps/soaps there was one bottle of Body and hair wash attached to the wall. It just seemed very basic for the price!

That said, the staff were really nice and breakfast was good except they forgot about our coffee until we had already finished eating (and the morning after a wedding you really need your coffee!!!)

I wouldn't be rushing back or recommending, very generic and out-dated but clean and pleasant nonetheless. Also worth mentioning that it was very quiet, no road or external disturbances at all so we did sleep very well.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank LouiseDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Just stayed in the Ashdown Hotel and felt I had to leave a review from the time we arrived to the time we left we did not have one thing to complain about when we arrived there was two ppl in front of us the receptionist did not get stressed or anything and treated us all the same and took the time to inform us where everything was the room was very clean and de restaurant and the food was beautiful I would highly recommend a stay in this hotel x x

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gemma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed here for one night in July. We got a deal for a superior room which was very spacious.(Room 219??). From the moment we met Anna in reception, we were off to a good start. She was very professional with the check in and later when we needed some assistance because my wife felt unwell. Breakfast was very nice, plenty on offer and service was good. I would stay here again if I was in Gorey.

Room Tip: I think it was room 219, both room and bathroom very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dougal59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

There is no other word we would use describe the Ashdown Park Hotel and all the staff only "amazing". We had our Wedding reception in the Ashdown Park in July, we had stayed in the hotel a couple of times prior to setting our date,
and found everything just perfect so there was no
question of where we were going to spend our special day!!
From our first meeting with
Aileen she completely set our
mind at ease and made every aspect of the planning such fun.
The day of our wedding ran so smoothly thanks to Aileen and
also Stephen who really helped settle my husband's nerves
before the speeches, they are both a fantastic asset to the
hotel. The food, from our wedding meal to breakfast right
through to lunch was perfect,and all the staff are so friendly and helpful. Our guests on the day were so complimentary of all aspects of the Ashdown Park Hotel.
I'm delighted we have found our 'special place' as we will be back every opportunity we get
Elaine & John

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElaineMaryN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorey
1 mi away
Amber Springs Hotel and Health Spa
2.9 mi away
Seafield Hotel & Spa Resort
0.8 mi away
Marlfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
24.8 mi away
Talbot Wexford
Talbot Wexford
#4 of 5 in Wexford
1,713 reviews
10.4 mi away
Arklow Bay Hotel
Arklow Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Arklow
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashdown Park Hotel Conference and Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashdown Park Hotel Conference and Leisure Centre

Address: Ashdown Park Hotel The Coach Road, Gorey, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Gorey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gorey
Price Range: £75 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashdown Park Hotel Conference and Leisure Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious superbly appointed 4* Hotel in Wexford, located on its own private grounds, just a short stroll from Gorey Town. Just minutes from sandy beaches and top class golf courses. The Ashdown Park Hotel boasts 80 beautifully appointed guest rooms, each tastefully designed and offering the highest level of comfort. Our award winning "Rowan Tree Restaurant" offers a unique dining experience. Our "Ivy Bar" has top class food and regular live entertainment. Our Ashdown Club has state-of-the-art facilities including 18m Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ashdown Park Hotel Conference and Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashdown Park Gorey
Ashdown Park Hotel Conference And Leisure Centre Gorey, County Wexford, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing