We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 star hotel for kids, pushing 3 stars for adults” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amber Springs Hotel and Health Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Amber Springs Hotel and Health Spa
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gorey
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“4 star hotel for kids, pushing 3 stars for adults”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

First up, in the interest of fairness, I should point out that this is a very good hotel if you have small kids. Our 4 year old loves the place and our 18 month old was well catered for. However, we have stayed twice now and are in a position to review the negatives which have occurred both times.

The Pros are as follows: Great facilities for kids, the main restaurant is very good, the pool area and changing rooms are clean and family friendly, free WiFi, the breakfast buffet is great.

The Cons: The bar food is DREADFUL. Staff quality is a bit hit and miss. The cleanliness of the room left a lot to be desired considering the hotel advertises as family friendly i.e. babies crawling around the floor. A lot of fittings both in the room and hotel itself need a bang of a handyman. A €75 surcharge for our 4 year old is WAY too steep, considering he was not covered on the inclusive dinner and you have to pay for many of the attractions for kids as well. There also seemed to be a shortage of staff in the outdoor part, but in fairness that could have just been on the day.

To summarise, if you have young kids, its a great hotel for a few days break. For everyone else, its above average but nothing special. There's a big jump in price between a 3 night and 4 night stay, which is a bit strange. If there had not been such a big difference they would have had our custom for an extra day. While you won't be disappointed with your stay its frustrating that a handful of easily fixable issues could make the hotel as good for adults as it is for children.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDextersOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberSpringsGM, General Manager at Amber Springs Hotel and Health Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear TheDextersOnTour
Thank you for your constructive feedback which we at the Amber Springs hotel will take on board and address, I am delighted by the positive feedback & will address each of the areas where you were let down, in reference to bar service, housekeeping,reservation & general handyman issues, on the matter of charging for children we carry a daily charge of 25 euros per child over 4 years old & under 4 are free, we only charge this to help cover the added cost of an extra little guest in our rooms & the full usage of all our fantastic free amenities we have in our property
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    260
    136
    82
    75
See reviews for
569
196
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed here while attending a wedding so we did not have a chance to experience the regular menu. The wedding breakfast, however, was excellent as indeed was the service from the very friendly staff. We had an excellent leisurely breakfast on the morning following the wedding.
While the rooms are comfortable I felt that they were overpriced. I was also a bit shocked by the bar prices. We did not have a chance to try the spa so cannot comment on that.

Overall it is a good hotel but a bit pricey.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnGDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberSpringsGM, General Manager at Amber Springs Hotel and Health Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear JohnGDublin_Ireland

I am delighted you enjoyed your time at the wedding at The Amber Springs Hotel, and the breakfast lived up to your expectations from a food & service perspective , I am happy that you enjoyed the rooms, we strive to keep our pricing at a level that is considered value in relation to quality & service and this does come at a price, I will review again our pricing in terms of other venues in our quality bracket. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

This place was recommended by friends as a good hotel if you have small kids. They were dead right. Gorey would not be on my list of places to stay, though it is a grand town with plenty of restaurants and cafes. But the hotel could be anywhere and is fairly self-contained. It is close to Courtown which has a fine beach and a village which was far better than I was expecting. There is plenty to entertain the kids .

After a fairly long holiday that took us to a number of different locations, the kids voted this the best....and if kids are happy....

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gauffre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberSpringsGM, General Manager at Amber Springs Hotel and Health Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Gauffre,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about The Amber Springs Hotel, I am delighted that your kids voted us No. 1 in their holiday experience and this is testament to the hard work & commitment from our team to make our hotel the "go to " family destination in Ireland. I will pass your feedback to the team & look foreword to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Had booked a "family room" on internet but got a double and single, after bringing it to the attention of reception who kept telling me that I had booked it wrong and according to their system I had booked a double and single ( i have 2 children age 4 and 2 but 2 year old is in a bed). Had a copy of the booking which proved i was correct only then did they take my word for it and blamed the "system" for thinking my 2 year old would sleep in a cot. On our first night we had to stay in the double and single room and then on the 2nd night we got the family room. In recognition of the error we got a voucher for 2 adult meals and 20e off our total bill. The family facilities are fantastic. The girls in the kids club are great. Your children will not be bored. The pool and dressing rooms are a bit on the small side. Ate in the main restaurant on the 2nd floor, great choice for breakfast, and our evening meal was just lovely, the staff were great and service was exceptional which is important when you have 2 small children. We also ate in the bar which is over priced and we waited 50 minutes for our main course, children we tired and hungry and we were all just fed up by the time our meal came. e15 for a piece of chicken, a few lettuce leaves and a handful of chips and waiting that time is a bit much. But once again the staff were really nice and very apologetic. Night time was a little noisey with children running up and down the corridors but thats not the fault of the hotel. The rooms are big, spacious and well equipped for a family. Our children had a great time and were kept going with all the activities on site, but unfortunately I come away not 100% impressed. This hotel has great potential if they just got the simple things right. We do look forward to returning to an improved and more efficient hotel in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sogorman09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberSpringsGM, General Manager at Amber Springs Hotel and Health Spa, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Sogorman09,
thank you so much for your feedback, I apologise for the mix up on check in and am glad that the team showed their apology through giving you a small token towards dinner, I am dissapointed that our team in the bar let you down with poor service delivery and I will address this in person with them, I am delighted you enjoyed Kelbys for Dinner / our breakfast buffet & the extensive childrens facilities that we pride ourselves on, we know we can do better and strive to do so every time, I can guarantee that the next time you visit us at The Amber Springs you will see great improvments & efficiencies.- every guest that is not 100% impressed is a let down for our team & myself
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

I recently stayed here with my husband and two kids (14 & 9). The hotel was brilliant for both ages lots to do from morning until night. Staff are fantastic couldn't do enough for you. Food was lovely very tasty & a good selection wine very over priced so could work out a little bit pricey especially if your going with a few kids. Family rooms were furnished and very well spaced out didn't feel on top of each other. Swimming pool and spa are lovely. Have to say we had a brilliant weekend and I would definitely go back and recommend.

Room Tip: Local supermarkets are in walking distance so you can easily buy soft drinks & snacks for the ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amber-Dub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberSpringsGM, General Manager at Amber Springs Hotel and Health Spa, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear AmberDub (good name....)

Thank you for your feedback and i am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Amber Springs - our team will be delighted that you had a fantastic team & i will pass on your comments to the dedicated Kids Club team & to all the rest mentioned, We are working on our wine menu to improve the selection & value of our wines - we try to offer fantastic wines at great value - we are moving our selected house wine to an Organic Sauvingnon Blanc very soon and will follow with a carefully chosen list that will have something for every palate, quality does come at a price but I am sure you will notice the difference next time you visit......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Stopped at Amber Springs for something to eat just by chance after visiting Gorey.
Had food in the bar area.

Ample seating and plenty of room between tables. Ample number of very clean highchairs - many other places visited either don't have enough highchairs or they are filthy.

Good selection on menu including children's choices.

I chose salmon - very enjoyable.
Husband had homemade burger - very good
Twins had chicken, potatoes and veg - good only negative was veg was whole baby carrot and cauliflower which for small children could be cooked a little longer to make a little softer to chew.
4 yr old had sausages and chips which he enjoyed.

Dessert - blackforest very good, apple pie good and children portion ice cream good
Service very good

Certainly delighted we called here to eat. Hotel was lovely and staff we dealt with very friendly.

My husband and I both commented on leaving that we should check out rates to stay for a future trip.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MaeOk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberSpringsGM, General Manager at Amber Springs Hotel and Health Spa, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear MaeOk

Thank you for your comments about the BBG, we have recently changed menus & are recieving very positive feedback on them, our ethos in all our foo in The Amber Springs Hotel is Local & sustainable - all our beef including your husbands burger are from our own beef herd and the cuts are hand selected by our executive chef - i will pass on your feedback in reference to the kiddies meals & the kitchen team will rectify - Please check out our rates & visit to experience the vast amount of activities we have on site & you will get the same welcoming & friendly welcome & service you enjoyed on this visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayo ire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed here with my wife & kids. The hotel catered for my children's every needs and our own. There was a games room, outdoor activites and a soft gymnasium. The food was great value and tasty. the rooms were spacious and well furnished! Great weekend. Will stay again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberSpringsGM, General Manager at Amber Springs Hotel and Health Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Tom M,

thank you for taking the time to review The Amber Springs Hotel, i am delighted you enjoyed your stay here & all our facilities and our food offering. We strive to ensure that we provide an extraordinary experience for children and fantastic food quality & service at every touchpoint, I will pass on your comments to our team and this will inspire them to continue to strive to be the best they can be!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorey
2.8 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel Conference and Leisure Centre
5.7 mi away
Seafield Hotel & Spa Resort
15.3 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
3.2 mi away
Marlfield House Hotel
5.6 mi away
Courtown Hotel
Courtown Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gorey
3.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Springs Hotel and Health Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Springs Hotel and Health Spa

Property: Amber Springs Hotel and Health Spa
Address: Wexford Road, Gorey, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Gorey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gorey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amber Springs Hotel and Health Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Amber Springs Hotel and Health Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber Springs Hotel And Health Gorey
Amber Springs Hotel And Health Spa Gorey, County Wexford, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing