We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A weekend break in Ireland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Coach House
Ranked #2 of 5 Avoca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2012

The Old Coach House was a very welcoming, warm and cosy place to be. After many hours travelling, my Husband, brother and sister in law and I were tired and wanted to chill out for the evening.
We were greeted with smiles, free coffee and cake. Welcomed into a warm and cosy living area. Our room was basic, but comfortable, our in laws was a little prettier/pleasing to the eye.
This is not a 5* luxury retreat, but a very nice place to just be, with wine, coffee and good company.

Room Tip: Room 3 better than 2. Unsure about the others. Room 2 a little noisey as next to the staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edawes1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2012

We decided last minute to head down to Wicklow for some fresh air and long walks. We originally intended on only staying in the Old Coach House for 1 night but we were having such a peaceful time in this wonderful guesthouse that we stayed for an extra night.
Michael & Barbra could not have made us feel more welcome! Great service, helpful advice, a cosy warm fire in the living room, an honesty bar, delicious breakfast, and old world charm... Benzo the golden lab was an added bonus!
The old coach house is a special rural home where you won't find fancy or modern but you will find warmth, attention, and a wonderful welcome where you can curl up with a good book, a glass of wine and relax by the fire after a long walk in beautiful Avoca. If this is what you are looking for then you will love the Old Coach House.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neadom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My partner & I stayed here recently we picked from a varied short list & after reading reviews & to say we were disappointed is an understatement, the B&B is in the middle of nowhere, the newspaper shop is 10minutes drive & no papers are available at breakfast, one of the pictures indicates this B&B is set amongst trees when it really is dangerously close to a very busy main road & with only single glazing traffic noise was a major issue, noise within the B&B was also an issue , we could hear other guests talk & all the people come up the stairs. The bedroom was small & dusty & the bathroom was small with mildrew in some areas, breakfast was edible , choice was poor with very poor quality orange juice, fishing is supposed to be available on the river across the road, but it was inaccessible. The hosts were pleasant with the male owner being very excitable, they do their best to make you comfortable but the whole place needs a revamp & really the traffic noise that will only be solved by sound proofing.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank FishermanRob12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

i was down in the old coach house with my partner , it is a warm friendly and beautiful place to have peace and quiet, just what we needed a lovely stay, the breakfast is lovely and i found the owners very helpfull and full of information of lovely places to visit around avoca. will come down again during the year for another visit we were very impressed..

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mary l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Myself, Mam, 4 Sisters, 2 Aunts & 3 Cousins have just come back from a FABULOUS stay at the The Old Coach House. It was a very friendly, comfortable, cosy & welcoming, experience and the hosts, Barbara & Michael, couldn't do enough for us. We were there to celebrate our Mam's 75th Birthday and really couldn't have made a better choice. We're already planning return visits for various other occasions and would highly recommend others to give it a go. Barbara recommended a wonderful restaurant in Rathdrum and arranged a mini-bus to take us there and back. Gorgeous setting, open fire, lovely brekky, endless cups of tea, being offered & Customer Service above and beyond - FAB!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adrienne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed just after new year's eve in this small place in beautiful Wicklow County, known as "The Garden of Ireland".

The Old Coach House is an old wooden building, and it's located just outside Avoca, in a place called "Meeting of the Waters", where two creeks meet. From the front rooms you can actually see the small river too! It's easy to get there from Dublin Airport with a car, since you have to take the motorway south, then exit to R752.

The room was old-fashioned, large and very comfortable, just like the photos, with a large bathroom too. Michael, the owner with her wife, works hard to make the guests feel like home, and it works!

The breakfast is great, with a good choice of meals, but the Full Irish was really one of the best I've got in many mornings in Ireland.

As said the Old Coach House is a good starting point to see Wicklow county, since is near to Wicklow itself, to Arklow (that has a big new shopping/cinema/restaurant center) and attractions like the Wicklow Mountains National Park, and the magnificent Powerscourt Gardens.

The hotel doesn't have a restaurant, but it's near (5 minutes walk) a pub where food is served all day, and another hotel with an excellent restaurant.

Highly suggested if you want to discover this less-known but very beautiful Irish county.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glamismac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I was down with my partner in the area for a wedding and spent only one night in The Old Coach House. It is a very nice place with very nice owners. The breakfast in the morning was very good and a big plate!! The room was slightly small but clean, cozy and warm.
The only note I could suggest is to put more indications of the B&B on the road. It was not very easy to find it especially driving at 3am in complete darkness.
Overall it was a nice experience and I would advice to book here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessia1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avoca
3.4 mi away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
10.4 mi away
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
15.8 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,064 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cherrybrook Country Home
0.4 mi away
Ashton House
Ashton House
#1 of 5 in Avoca
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Coach House

Address: Meeting of the Waters, Avoca, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Avoca
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Avoca
Price Range: £51 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Coach House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Old Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Coach House Hotel Avoca
The Old Coach House Avoca, Ireland - County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing